top of page

'In Too Deep' by Rose McClelland


Book Description


Lucy, stunning lead singer of a local band, is found dead on a beach.


Everyone assumes it’s suicide or accidental death. However, band member Tony thinks his sister Olivia might be involved. Not only was she insanely jealous of Lucy, but her husband Barry died in suspicious circumstances too.


Detective Sergeant Kerry Lawlor isn’t convinced its suicide either. The more she looks into the case, the more ‘accidental’ deaths she discovers. As she digs deeper, she finds motive and intrigue at every turn.


Following in Lucy’s footsteps is drop-dead gorgeous Roxie. Will Olivia’s jealousy strike again? Tony fears Roxie could be next.


Detectives Simon and Kerry are on the case. Will they intercept in the nick of time? Or is Olivia in too deep?



BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'In Too Deep' by Rose McClelland . 


Read and reviewed for Zooloo's Book Tours, Rose McClelland and Arden Publishing. 


Publication date 22nd January 2023.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in the 'Detectives Simon and Kerry' series but can be read as a standalone. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching gorgeous cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title.I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Arden Publishing. I have yet to read a book published by Arden Publishing that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). 


This novel consists of 50 chapters. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Ireland 🇮🇪 , UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact been to Ireland several times and love it there so am looking forward to "visiting" again.  



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Sergeant Kerry Lawlor, Olivia Harris, Jack Harris, Tony Chapman and Roxie Richardson. The benefits of books written in first person perspective with multiple protagonists are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


Love, love, LOVED this incredibly fast paced, addictive psychological thriller that is absolutely packed with secrets, twists and lies!! 


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly. 


The storyline was captivating and addictive from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of lies, secrets, affairs, tension, romance, twists, suspense and everything you could ask for in a page turning psychological thriller. I just could not put this book down and finished it in one sitting. The storyline of the characters being in a band made it extra interesting for me as it is the first time I have read a crime involving a band. I was absolutely landed when I realised this is part of a series as I absolutely loved Sergeant Kerry Lawlor and DCI Simon Peters, the characters the series is based on and I cannot wait to see what cases the previous books bring them!! This book was extremely fast paced with something constantly happening to keep you addicted. Every time I kept telling myself one more chapter the one I was in ended at a point where there was no way I could stop reading so I absolutely devoured it in one sitting!! It was absolutely ram packed with mystery, secrets, tension, suspense and absolutely everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I was constantly guessing and questioning myself about who was behind what and when everything was revealed I was absolutely shocked and had been completely wrong about everything!! This is not an easy feat considering how many books I read a year so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS Rose!!! Rose's evocative writing drags you deep into the storyline from the first sentence to the very last and will keep you up until the very last word! THAT ladies and gentleman is a true sign of an absolute must read. I absolutely loved the ending which was definitely an unexpected twist, not only finding out who did what but the mind blowing and unexpected ending!! I would absolutely LOVE to see this turned into a movie and would wait up all night to get tickets to watch it!! An absolute must read!! 


Although this is the third book in the series I  had absolutely no problems reading it without the others and didn't even realise it was part of a series until I was writing this review! 


I hope your busy writing your next book Rose as I just cannot wait to see what bombshell twist and explosive storyline you have up your sleeve for us next!!!!


Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!! 


The characters have a mix of personalities and are all strong and realistic. I was shocked by the fact that although I could not stand the majority of the characters I still loved the book! It is very rare that if I dislike the characters in a book that I am able to get stuck in to it yet alone finish AND LOVE it so an absolutely HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Rose for managing to do both!!! I absolutely love the fact that we get to see how so many of the characters are feeling and what they are thinking, it gives the reader a huge picture of what is going on but Rose still manages to keep so many secrets hidden too. Olivia's obsession and paranoia with her husband Jack and being unable to let him go out without her being there in case another woman looks at him had me grinding my teeth in anger. If that was a man doing the same to a woman it would definitely flag up as domestic abuse and I still believe it is the same controlling behaviour regardless of the genders. If you are that paranoid in a relationship and have that little faith then there is no point in being together. However, does she have a reason to be the way she is?? I started off liking Jack and feeling sorry for him but my feelings for him changed several times during the book but I won't say more about him as I don't want to give too much away. I couldn't stand Olivia's brother Tony who loved himself, is an absolute man hore and doesn't care about anyone but himself and money. I didn't mind Charlotte (Tony's wife) too much, but she did annoy me at times but I also felt sorry for her. She was the opposite of Olivia and didn't mind seeing other women draped over Tony. I could not stand Roxie who was basically a female version of Tony and I think they would have suited each other. The only characters I actually really liked were Sergeant Kerry Lawlor and DCI Simon Peters. They made a great team and both had fantastic likeable personalities. I love the fact that they were open minded with the case and didn't believe everything they were being told. I cannot wait to go back to the first two books in this series and meet them again.  I won't say anything else as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. However, regardless of whether you love or hate these characters each of them played their parts perfectly to make this the addictive storyline that it is!! 


Congratulations Rose on an absolutely huge success!! Welcome to my favourite authour list and I cannot wait to get stuck into more of your addictive books, especially the first two books in this series!! Here's to your next success 🥂!! 


Overall an absolutely unputdownable, action packed, intriguing psychological thriller that will keep you up at night on the edge of your seat with a pounding heart!! 


Genres covered in this book include Northern Irish Crime, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Crime Thriller, Women's Psychological Fiction, Crime Fiction, Suspense Thriller,  Mystery, Thriller and Psychological Fiction amongst others. 



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Mark Edwards, Cathryn Grant, Teresa Driscoll, Freida McFadden, Daniel Hurst, K. L. Slater, Mark Edwards and anyone looking for an explosive psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout!! 


350 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle,free on kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@InTooDeep @RoseMcClelland @DetectivesSimonAndKerry @ArdenPublishing @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @Netgalley @KindleUnlimited 



  










Author Bio


Rose is the author of six novels. Her latest three books are psychological thrillers and part of the Simon & Kerry detective series.


"Under Your Skin" became an Amazon No. 1 Bestseller in the UK and USA / Canada. It also won Best Books of 2020 in Belfast Telegraph and with several online book bloggers.


Rose has also written two short plays which were performed in the Black Box theatre in Belfast.


Social Media Links









Purchase Link






29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post

©2020 by Bookworm86. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page