top of page

In The Greek Midwinter by Mandy Baggot. Review.


Book Description


It was supposed to be a holiday of a lifetime…


But when Jen’s boyfriend David suddenly cancels their romantic Paris trip, needing to urgently travel

to Athens for work, it’s best friend Bonnie who suggests they surprise him.


Having already booked the time off from her events company – Christmas Every Day – Jen decides an

impromptu and romantic gesture might be just what their relationship needs?


Arriving in Greece and finding David is not there, Jen has a lot of questions. And when she gets her

answers she has a choice – should she go home or should she stay a while?


With the help of Astro, the handsome yet Christmas-hating waiter from the local bar, she sets about

a little Greek Christmas research. But what starts as a ‘business trip’ soon turns into something

more…






BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'In The Greek Midwinter' by Mandy Baggot.



Read and reviewed for Mandy Baggot, Boldwood Books, Book & Tonic, NetGalley and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.




Publication date 6th October 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author but it definitely won't be my last!



This novel consists of 70 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is beautifully written and completely absorbs you in the stunning atmosphere of Athens and really sucks you in with the vivid descriptions leaving you feel and see all the emotions, characters and scenes. The synopsis and stunning cover suits the storyline perfectly.


Love, love, LOVED this absolutely gorgeous, emotive page turner that I devoured in one sitting!!!


I have absolutely loved this stunning book by the amazing Mandy!! Honestly if you are ever in need of a break and fancy the gorgeous Greece then grab this stunner and prepare to be whisked away on a beautiful holiday!!! The storyline is authentic and realistic as well as easy to read and heartwarming. There was plenty of events going on throughout and it kept me hooked from start to end, I read it in one sitting and was completely absorbed throughout. This is the first book I have read that is set in Greece over Christmas time as they are usually based over Summer and I absolutely LOVED the uniqueness of "seeing" Athens in Winter time. Jen is overdoing the drinks at a bar in Athens when she meets Astro. Jen loves the festive season but Astro despises Christmas!!! They couldn't feel any different about it if they tried but even with these differences they stille manage to start a beautiful friendship and the reasons for this hatred of Christmas are heartbreaking. This book is a rollercoaster ride of emotions and was heartwarming and had love, romance, humour, relationships, family, friendship and much more all going on in this beautiful atmosphere. There was also heartbreak, tragedy and tears. Amongst all these emotions there are also stunning settings, an abundance of amazing and memorable characters, magic, delicious food and drink, festivities and so, so much more!!! I could literally go on and on about how beautiful this book is but I am trying to shorten my reviews not turn them into even longer essays but I highly recommend you grab this stunning book today!!! Thanks to Mandy's stunning evocative descriptions it felt like I was on a gorgeous festive break away from Wales!! I loved how the story ended and I would love to read more about the life on the gorgeous Athens. I was absolutely devastated when I came to the end of this book as I was truly whisked away to Greece feeling the emotions, seeing the sites and looking at the stunning views. I absolutely loved the gorgeous atmosphere and am hoping to return in another of Mandy's books. This storyline was so heartwarming and emotional and it was such an easy and relaxing read that I just could not put it down and know you won't be able to either!! It ended absolutely perfectly and I would love to see more of the amazing characters soon!! Hint, hint Mandy 😉!!! The characters were all unique with their own realistic traits, strengths and weaknesses. It was intriguing to watch their friendships and relationships grow, develop and change throughout the the storyline. Every one of the characters had a part to play and they each played it perfectly and beautifully!!! Mandy's amazing evocative writing skills brought them to life as much as possible and they all leapt out of the pages as well as the stunning atmosphere and the rest of the characters!!! Anyway, I best not say anymore as don't want to give anything else away for future readers!! It's just so easy talking about this fantastic book and so much I want to tell you all about but i really need to control myself!!! Needless to say I absolutely adored the majority of characters each for a different reason. All characters worked perfectly with the storyline and I would love to meet them again!!! This book would make a stunning movie and I would definitely be first in line to see it!!!




Well done Mandy on an absolutely gorgeous book!!! I will definitely be looking for your books any time I need to be swept off to another country!!! Welcome to my favourite author club and here's to your next success 🥂!!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue of Mandy's 'Those Summer Nights' which promises to be just as stunning as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!!



Overall an absolutely perfect light hearted, stunning unputdownable romance that will sweep you off your feet and land you in Athens.




347 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £11.99 in paperback via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.









@InTheGreekMidwinter @MandyBaggot @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @BoldwoodBooks @theboldbookclub @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnimited @Netgalley


















Author Bio


Mandy Baggot is a bestselling romance writer who loves giving readers that happy-ever-after. From

sunshine romantic comedies set in Greece, to cosy curl-up winter reads, she's bringing gorgeous

heroes and strong heroines readers can relate to. Mandy splits her time between Salisbury, Wiltshire

and Corfu, Greece and has a passion for books, food, racehorses and all things Greek!






Social Media Links





Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/MandyBaggotNews







Purchase Link









2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page