top of page

'If She Lives' by Erik Therme



Book Blurb


Tess Parker knows tragedy better than most.


After surviving the death of her daughter and kidnapping of her nephew, Tess is ready to return to normal life. But her troubled past has other plans, and when an old threat reemerges, Tess must seek the help of an unlikely ally to set things right.


No matter what the cost.









BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'If She Lives' by Erik Therme.


Read and reviewed for Zooloo's Book Tours, Erik Therme and Thecker Books.


Publication date 8th March 2023.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in the 'Harlow' series but can be read as a standalone.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Thecker Books. I have yet to read a book published by Thecker Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 24 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in West Virginia, USA 🇺🇸



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists is Tess Parker. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


Wow!!! Absolutely LOVED this non stop, action packed and suspense filled page turner!! This may be the first book I have read by you Erik but it most definitely will not be the last!!! Absolutely loved this book and cant wait to get stuck in to the rest of the books in this series!!!


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly. The storyline was captivating and addictive from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of lies, secrets, tension, twists, suspense and everything you could ask for in a page turning psychological thriller. I just could not put this book down and finished it in one sitting. Although this is the third book in the 'Harlow' series Erik begins the book with a recap of what has happened in the previous two books and gives just enough of an idea of what went on between the characters previously. I cannot wait to go back and read the other two books starting with 'If She Dies' and then moving on to 'If She Wakes'. This book was such a fast paced and short read where Erik absolutely rams the storyline with action and suspense while making the reader question who they can trust and what is really going on that I absolutely flew through it in one sitting!! It is absolutely perfect if you are looking for a short action packed page turner! It was extremely fast paced with something constantly happening to keep you addicted. Every time I kept telling myself one more chapter the one I was in ended at a point where there was no way I could stop reading so I absolutely devoured it in one sitting!! It was absolutely ram packed with mystery, secrets, lies, revenge, tension, suspense and absolutely everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. This was the first book that I have read by Erik and it most definitely wont be the last!!! In fact I enjoyed this book so much that he has now become one of my top five make authors and I really cannot wait to jump into not only the other books in this series but also his standalone books too which all look just as intriguing and as Action packed as this one so watch this pace for further reviews of his books! Erik's evocative writing drags you deep into the storyline from the first sentence to the very last and will keep you up until the very last word! THAT ladies and gentleman is a true sign of an absolute must read!!I would absolutely LOVE to see this turned into a movie and would wait up all night to get tickets to watch it!! An intriguing and action packed page turner that will keep you up all night!! An absolute must read series!!! I hope your busy writing your next book Erik as I just cannot wait to see what bombshell twist and explosive storyline you have up your sleeve for us next!!!! Although this is the third book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader. Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!! The characters were all realistic and strong and I was completely invested in them throughout. Erik has done an absolutely fantastic job on creating complex characters that you have no idea whether you can trust or not!! There are several main characters in this book and I liked the fact that each of them played a strong part in the storyline and played their parts perfectly. The main characters are Tess, Torrie, (her sister in law), Gordon, Willow, Meg (Eve's Mum) and Eve (Meg's Daughter). My heart went out to Tess as she was going through so much mentally. Although this is the first time I have met her the start of the book gives a recap of what happened in the first two book and was enough to throw anyone over the edge and then she suffers what happens in this book. My heart really did go out for her and as a mum myself I really couldn't imagine going through what she did and yet she is a strong woman who chooses the right paths and even when we get to the end and she could quite easily get some comeuppance she stills decides to chose differently. Meg and Willow are complex characters and I did know which of them to trust and whether to trust either of them at all. Another character I feel sorry for was Eve who also seemed to be innocent and stuck in the middle of things that she has not got a clue about at times. Again with Gordon it was my first time meeting him and I was not sure what to think of him or whether to believe what he was saying. I wont say any more about what I think of them as I don't want to give too much away and potential spoil it for future readers. They are a great group of characters that I am looking forward to meeting again when I read the first two books in this series which are 'If She Dies' which is book one and 'If She Wakes' which is book two. If you want to know more about these amazing characters you will just have to pick up your copy to find out who is right, who was wrong and what happens to them all and trust me you will not regret it!!! Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly to make this page turning psychological thriller!!! Congratulations Erik on an absolutely huge success!! I cannot wait to get stuck in to the first two books in this fantastic series and more of your fantastic books! Welcome to my favourite 5 male authors list!! Here's to your next success 🥂!! Overall an absolutely unputdownable, action packed, intriguing psychological thriller that will keep you up at night on the edge of your seat with a pounding heart!!

Genres covered in this book include Suspense, Domestic Fiction, Vigilante Justice, Kidnapping Crime Fiction, Murder, Domestic Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Women's Psychological Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Domestic Thriller, Mystery, Domestic Thriller, Thriller, Kidnapping Crime Thriller and Psychological Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Mark Edwards, Cathryn Grant, Teresa Driscoll, Freida McFadden, Daniel Hurst, K. L. Slater, Mark Edwards and anyone looking for an explosive psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout!!


201 pages.


This book is just £3.31 to purchase on kindle, free on Kindle Unlimited and £11.30 in Hardcover (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Twitter, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@IfSheLives @ErikTherme @TheckerBooks@ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @Netgalley @KindleUnlimited


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R)


https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/


https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86


https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86







Author Bio



Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering on his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his oldest. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty-eight places in the world that UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature. Join Erik’s mailing list to be notified of new releases and author giveaways:

http://eepurl.com/cD1F8L




Social Media Links:





Website: https://www.eriktherme.com







Purchase Link












22 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page