top of page

'I'm Following You' by Emily Shiner

Book Description


Amanda has the perfect life. But someone wants to end it.


Amanda loves her life. She’s a highly respected doctor, and she lives in a beautiful home in the best neighborhood in town.


But her perfect life begins to crumble when she notices a woman in a red car following her. Then this mysterious person begins an increasingly disturbing campaign – stalking Amanda, even invading her home and office.


Amanda is terrified and feels as if she is under siege. As far as she knows she has no enemies. So who is this strange woman? And what does she want?


As the interloper’s behavior becomes more and more threatening, the conflict between the two women moves inexorably towards a fateful confrontation.


When dangerous secrets and shocking lies are revealed, there’s no turning back. One of them will pay the ultimate price.


I’m Following You – the gripping psychological thriller from the best-selling author of The Secret Wife and Her Perfect Life.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'I'm Following You' by Emily Shiner.


Read and reviewed for Booksprout, NetGalley, Emily Shiner and Inkubator Books.


Publication date 11th December 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Caretaker' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching gorgeous cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Emily and of this is half as good as her 'The Caretaker' it is guaranteed to be a page turner!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Inkubator Books. I have yet to read a book published by Inkubator Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 42 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in California, USA.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Collette and Amanda. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


'I'm Following You' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Emily discusses the loss of a child.



Yet another absolute page turner from the extraordinary queen of psychological thrillers Emily Shiner!!Love, love, loved this book!!!! Absolutely gripping edge of your seat page turner!!!


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.


The storyline was captivating and addictive from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of lies, deceit, tension, twists, suspense and everything you could ask for in a page turning psychological thriller. I just could not put this book down and finished it in one sitting. The atmosphere was perfect for the storyline that makes the hair on your arms stand on edge. It was extremely fast paced with something constantly happening to keep you addicted. Every time I kept telling myself one more chapter the one I was in ended at a point where there was no way I could stop reading so I absolutely devoured it in one sitting!! It was absolutely ram packed with mystery, secrets, tension, suspense and absolutely everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I absolutely love Emily's books and am guaranteed to be shocked every time I pick one up which is not an easy feat considering how many books I read a year so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS Emily!!! One of the things I love about her books is that they can also be quite thought provoking and always end with MASSIVE BOMBSHELLS that I absolutely love and never do see coming. Emily's evocative writing drags you deep into the storyline from the first sentence to the very last and will keep you up until the very last word! I also love the fact that she includes a chapter or two from another of her books so my to be read list has always got a guaranteed page turner included!!! The ending of this specific book absolutely blew me away and I was just sitting there with my mouth wide open for ages before shouting out "What the actual ****!!!" and THAT ladies and gentleman is a true sign of an absolute must read. I've said it before about Emily's books and I shall say it again!! I would absolutely LOVE to see this turned into a movie and would wait up all night to get tickets to watch it!!


An intriguing and clever page turner about what happens when suspicion turns into obsession that will absolutely blow your mind with its explosive twist of an ending!!!


I hope your busy writing your next book Emily as I just cannot wait to see what bombshell twist and explosive storyline you have up your sleeve for us next!!!!


Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!


The characters were all realistic and strong and I was completely invested in them throughout. I love the fact that we got to see what was happening from both Collette and Amanda's points of view and to know why they were doing what they were and how each of them were feeling throughout. Emily weaves their chapters together with perfect timing until it all comes together with an explosive BANG!! This also really helps the reader understand them more making them more realistic to the reader. I had mixed feelings towards all of the characters and was suspicious of what the truth really was and what each of them had to gain by lying but I never did see that ending coming!!. There were times where I had a lot of sympathy for several of them and actually hoped things would work out and then others where I thought one of them in particular needed some serious psychological help. Unfortunately, I really can not say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. You will just have to pick up your copy to find out who is right, who was wrong and what happens to them all and trust me you will not regret it!!! Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly to make this page turning psychological thriller!!!


Congratulations Emily on yet ANOTHER huge success. This is why you are in my favourite 5 authors list!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!


Overall an absolutely unputdownable, action packed, intriguing psychological thriller that will keep you up at night on the edge of your seat with a pounding heart!!



Genres covered in this book include Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Domestic Suspense, Women's Psychological Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Domestic Thriller, Mystery, Domestic Thriller, Thriller, Domestic Drama and Psychological Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Mark Edwards, Cathryn Grant, Teresa Driscoll, Freida McFadden Daniel Hurst, K. L. Slater, Mark Edwards and anyone looking for an explosive psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout!!


245 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@ImFollowingYou @EmilyShiner @inkubatorbooks @Inkubator @Booksprout @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @Netgalley












Author Bio


Emily Shiner grew up in Western North Carolina, and after going to college in Charlotte, returned to her beloved mountains to write novels that keep you up at night. She lives with her husband, daughter, two dogs, menagerie of chickens, and tens of thousands of bees. When not writing, she’s reading, hiking, or drinking copious amounts of tea while daydreaming about fall




Purchase Link







18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page