top of page

'I Let Him In' by Jill Childs


Book: I Let Him In

Author: Jill Childs

Pub Day: August 17th 2021

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


About the Book:

Last night I dreamt about the past for the first time in years. I thought I was over it. I thought I’d finally learned to block it out. But I’m right back there, all over again, inside the house. The room is dark, the corners black with shadow. Then, the scream… When Louise Taylor is hit by a car as she cycles home in the rain following a fight with her boyfriend, she’s left hurt, frightened and confused. And worse, something tells her it wasn’t an accident. Housebound in her cramped apartment while she recovers, flashbacks to her traumatic childhood begin to resurface, threatening her hard-won self-control. Desperate to keep busy and distract herself, she hires Edward – a friend of a friend – to repaint her shabby living room and, hopefully, keep the past at bay. But when Edward arrives – quiet, considerate and handsome – Lou instantly feels like they’ve met before, that she can trust him. Tired of carrying the guilt alone after all these years, Lou tells Edward her secret. And to her surprise, he doesn’t pull away. He doesn’t gasp, or grimace or preach about what she did. And Lou is so relieved to finally be free of this burden at last. Until she learns that Edward has a secret of his own. One he’s been waiting a very, very long time to tell… A gripping domestic drama from a USA Today bestselling author full of twists and turns, and with a very unexpected ending. Fans of Amanda Prowse, Kerry Fisher and Jodi Picoult won’t be able to stop turning the pages.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'I Let Him In' by Jill Childs.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jill Childs, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 17th August 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Mistress' which which I also recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Amanda Prowse, Kerry Fisher and Jodi Picoult won’t be able to stop turning the pages.' I am a huge fan of Jodi Picoult and Kerry Fisher so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Leslie Wolfe and if this is half as good as 'The Mistress' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 70 chapters. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London, 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧.

The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonists being Louise Taylor and Edward Spencer. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


'I Let Him In' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Jill discusses/includes war and death of a child.



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


OMG!!!! WHAT DID I JUST READ!?!?! MIND BLOWN!!!!


Another fantastic book from Jill with vivid descriptions which put you right in the picture. It really felt like Louise and Ed were talking directly to me from across the table over a cup of tea. The synopsis and cover suit the book perfectly.


The storyline is absolutely addictive and had me sucked in from the first page until the explosive ending. It is a heartbreaking story about regret, what ifs and second chances. I couldn't stop turning the pages until early hours of the morning so if you pick this up I seriously advice you to clear your schedules and also have the tissues at the ready. It is filled with heartbreak, hope, love, friendship and a few humongous twits that I did not see coming. A huge well done to Jill on that bombshell!!! I would have never guessed either of the twists in a million years. Very rarely I am shocked by books having read so many but this absolutely had me a cracker and completely blew my mind. If you are fed up of guessing the ending by 50% then this one is for you!!! There were moments of laughter and others of sadness that really caught in my throat. Whilst I loved the ending it was also heartbreaking for Louise at the same time but also a massive relief for her and life changing. It is so hard to talk about it without giving anything away so I will just say if you want a book with a twist you will NEVER see coming this one is for you!!!


I absolutely adored both Louise and Ed. They were both strong realistic characters and I was completely invested in them both. It was heart wrenching reading their stories but beautiful to watch them come together in their grief. I wasn't a huge fan of Louise's sister Jo and she niggles at me several times with her attitude but then I suppose she was just being the protective big sister. I wasn't sure what to make of Tanya but at the same time you have got to consider what you would do in that position. Again, I can't say more than that without giving away too much. Needless to say the characters were perfect for this absolutely fantastic storyline.


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Jill on one of the most shocking twists I have ever read and an absolutely addictive book!!


Overall an addictive, page turning, heartbreaking story with bombshells you will never see coming!!!


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense and Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jodi Picoult, Kerry Fisher, Nicholas Sparks, Kerry Wilkinson and anyone looking for a book that will shock you.




298 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JillChilds @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio


Jill always loved writing – real and imaginary – and spent thirty years travelling the world as a journalist, living overseas and reporting wherever the news took her. She's now made her home in south-west London with her husband and twin girls who love stories as much as she does. Although she's covered everything from earthquakes and floods, wars and riots, she's decided some of the most extraordinary stories are right here at home - in the secrets and lies she imagines behind closed doors on ordinary streets just like yours.


Social Media








Buy Link:



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page