top of page

Husband And Wide by K.L Slater. Review


Book Description:


We promised to keep each other’s secrets. Until they found the body…


The Wife:


My husband and I are fighting for our lives in hospital after a terrible car accident. But despite my pain, all I can think about is what our families will find behind our front door. The scarf that has been all over the news, belonging to a dead young woman with honey-coloured hair. I have to speak to the police before my husband can…


The Husband:


I’m drifting in and out of consciousness, but when I hear my wife talking to the police, accusing me of the murder of an innocent woman, a cold fear grips me. I know I’ve got a temper. That I’ve not always been faithful. Will they think I killed her?


I think of my wife’s jealous streak, of the lies she’s told our loved ones. But if I tell the whole truth, they’ll look into her past. And that will destroy me, too…


Two people fighting for their lives. Two people with secrets to hide. Who will you believe?


A completely compelling and twisty page-turner from number 1 bestselling author K.L. Slater. Fans of Lisa Jewell and Freida McFadden will be hooked by Husband and Wife.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Husband And Wife' by K.L Slater.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for K.L Slater, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 3rd November 2023.


This is the seventh book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Girl She Wanted', 'The Widow', 'Missing', 'The Marriage', 'The Bedroom Window' and 'The Narrator'. I would highly recommend each and every one of them!!!


This novel consists of a prologue, 68 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


OMG!!!! WHAT DID I JUST READ!!!! I DID NOT EXPECT THAT!!! MIND BLOWN MUCH!!! I MEAN SERIOUSLY, HOW DO YOU MAKE EACH BOOK BETTER THAN THE LAST WHEN EVERY BOOK IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING KIM?!?!


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.


I was absolutely absorbed throughout this page turner. It is filled with tension, suspense, murder, lies, secrets and omg the twists!!! I DID NOT see any of them coming!!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS K.L Slater!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over and over!!! What an ending!!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! You lady have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books. I cannot remember the last time I was so hooked by a book but you managed that big time!!! The storyline is filled with crime, shocks, murder, secrets, twists, suspense, tension, deceit and revenge. There was not one, two but at least 3 explosive bombshells I did not see coming!!! There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. Im not going to go too much into the storyline as I don't want to give anything away and everything you need to know is in the incredible synopsis. However I do want to say that I absolutely LOVE the fact that in this book we get to see the story from so many different perspectives!!! The protagonists are Nicola Vance and her son Parker Callum Vance. Parker's wife Luna and Luna's mum Marie. We also get to see what is going on from the police investigating the murder of Sarah Grayson (another protagonist) DI Helena Price and DS Kane Brewster. What is absolutely fantastic is that even though I got to see what was going on from so many points of views and what each was thinking and doing, I still had absolutely no idea who had killed Sarah or what the characters were hiding!!! To find out more yourself then you will just have to grab your copy today to find out won't you?! Yet again KL Slater has created an unpredictable and unputdownable, gritty, suspense and tension filled explosive page turner that will have you addicted from the first page to the last!! Her fantastic evocative writing skills brings the storyline and characters to life in front of your eyes and will keep you glued to the pages!


Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! Practically every chapter ended on a cliff hanger so no way could I put it down!! Absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


I was completely invested in both the storyline and the characters. Each of the characters had their own unique personalities and I felt differently about each of them. As always K.L Slater has managed to create several realistic, flawed, unlikeable and questionable characters that she brings to life with her creative and evocative writing skills and puts them into what should be an everyday storyline but makes the reader question everything and everyone they are seeing, reading and meeting throughout!! As with the storyline I won't go into any details about the characters as I don't want to run the risk of giving anything away and spoiling this incredible storyline for future readers. I will say that I did not have a clue who to trust and I never did work out who was hiding what. What I am safe to say though is that I loved DI Helena Price and DS Kane Brewster who were the investigating officers in Sarah's murder case. I am sure I have "met" them before in one of Kim's books but for the life of me I can't remember which one/s. However, I just loved their characters, their team dynamics and their personalities and they are definitely characters that I would love to see again. I don't think I've ever seen another authors book where there are so many protagonists that include such an insight from the police as well as so many different characters. It is risky to have so many as it can cause confusion but Kim has done an amazing job and weaves all the different timelines and characters stories together perfectly not causing any confusion into whose point of view I read from or what timeline the chapters were talking about. If you want to know more you will just have to click the link below to get a copy!! All in all a great mix of characters that worked well with this storyline and regardless of whether you love them or hate them they all played their parts perfectly along with KL Slaters fantastic writing skills making each of them jump out of the pages coming to life in front of your eyes.



This is exactly why you are in my top author Club K.L Slater and your book is one of the best psychological thrillers I have EVER READ!! Bring on the next one!!! I cannot wait!!! Here's to the next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and the first three chapters of KL Slater's absolutely addictive 'The Marriage' which is another explosive page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, never wracking, unputdownable addictive psychological thriller!!!


350 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.98 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@HusbandAndWife @KLSlater @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited

















Author Bio:


Kim is the number one bestselling author of twenty psychological crime thrillers. She has sold over two million copies of her books worldwide. Kim has an MA in Creative Writing and lives with her husband in a small Nottinghamshire village.





Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from K.L. Slater here: https://www.bookouture.com/kl-slater






Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo






0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page