top of page

Hopeful Hearts At The Cornish Cove by Kim Nash

Book Description


Hopeful Hearts at the Cornish Cove


A perfect new start in Cornwall…


Meredith's life is at a standstill. She's stuck in a dead-end job, approaching fifty, and her dating life is a string of disasters. But one evening, while browsing the internet, she sees an ad for a lighthouse, and in a moment of impulsiveness, she makes a ridiculous bid for it.


With the help of local handyman Clem, she sets about renovating. And as they work together, a bond begins to form. But when Meredith finds out that Clem is keeping a secret from her, it changes everything. Will they find a way to build something more meaningful together?


A delightful story about community, friendship and having the courage to start over, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Lucy Dillon





BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'Hopeful Hearts At The Cornish Cove' by Kim Nash. 


Read and reviewed for Kim Nash, Boldwood Books and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY KIM!


This is the first book I have read by this author. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover, its setting and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is " 'A delightful story about community, friendship and having the courage to start over, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Lucy Dillon" I am a huge fan of all three of these authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Boldwood Books. I have yet to read a book published by Boldwood that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). The other reason I am looking forward to reading this book is because I have done book tours for Kim Nash and am definitely looking forward to reading a book written by her!


This novel consists of 45 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Cornwall, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture .I have actually just returned from a holiday in Cornwall as well as being there previously and going in September so am intrigued to see if I recognise places based on anywhere I visited while there as well as any recommendations on places to visit when I return. Cornwall is a stunning area and I love losing myself there in real life as well as in books. 


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists is Meredith Robinson.The benefits of third person perspective with are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


What an absolute stunner from the extremely talented Kim!! Well done Kim on an absolutely beautiful and perfect read!! This is the ideal beach read where you could sit there and turn around and just imagine the town coming to life around you. This book is extremely well written with beautiful descriptions that completely drew me in. The synopsis and the cover match the storyline perfectly!! The storyline itself completely swept me away. I absolutely adored the storyline and getting to know the lives of so many different people, seeing their relationships and friendships change and see how they react to secrets, grudges, changes, romance and everything else that goes on in this absolutely fantastic read!! I've not long got home from Cornwall and missed it before I read this book but OMG Kim has made me want to jump in the car and go straight back now!!! Kim's evocative writing skills ensures the readers are absolutely sucked into the stunning storyline with the atmosphere and characters coming to life all around them.. I absolutely fell in love venturing back into Cornwall and Kim portrays life in a small town absolutely perfectly I became so invested in this book that it actually felt like going on a holiday and I absolutely dreaded coming to the end where I had to unpack my suitcase and get back to reality. It was an absolutely compelling and addictive heart lifting read that kept me turning the pages until late at night. I loved discovering the pasts and histories of the characters and the town and I was absolutely swept away in the story line. The town came to life around me and I cannot wait to return in the next book in what promises to be an absolutely stunning series. I had to laugh at the fact that Meredith bought the lighthouse when she was drunk!! What a girl 😂!! It makes anything I've done when drunk look like child's play! I can't believe it's taken me this long to read one of Kim's books and if this one is anything to go by I just cannot wait to get into more of her previous and future books and escaping back into whichever town or village she masterfully creates!! This book is escapism at its best and is a perfect way to disappear into an amazing world for a while. It is one of those books that I just could not put down and drive everyone mad by walking around reading it every chance I got and ended up devouring it in one sitting!! This book would make an absolutely gorgeous movie which I would absolutely love to see!!


An absolutely gorgeous, page turning and addictive start to what promises to be a stunning series!! Don't even peek into this book until you've cleared your schedules as you won't be able to put it down!! 


I became completely invested in the characters, along with the storyline, who were all, well almost all, absolutely fantastic with their own individual personalities and quirks. They all started feeling like friends so quickly having got to meet and know so many of them so well. I felt like I was leaving amazing people and friends and feel quite sad about that but am happy in the knowledge that this book is part of a series which I can't wait to get stuck into more of these gorgeous books. I loved watching how so many characters and personalities from Driftwood develop and go from strength to strength from the first page to the last. I loved watching relationships change and develop and seeing how close knit many of them are. I absolutely loved Meredith who is a strong and brave woman to leave everything behind and start afresh in a new place where she doesn't know anyone. I love how she is determined to win the community over and turned the other cheek even when certain characters were so rude to her. She is definitely a better person than me as I wouldn't have been as polite especially to certain people!! She is such a great female role model which I always love seeing in books being female myself. It was fascinating watching her relationship/friendships with all the different characters change and develop throughout the storyline. I absolutely fell for Clem, after a few meetings as he definitely didn't make the best first impression, who is not only hot but is very handy to have around as well. The apple didn't fall far from the tree as his father was lovely too. I loved how dependable he was and I really enjoyed seeing his character develop. Gemma and Lucy were amazing and I'd love to have chefs, I mean friends like that. They welcomed Meridith with open arms and were a great support network for her. Violet had me laughing out loud on several occasions coming put with many things that were definitely unexpected!! The fact that she was so concerned about her Lanrador Gladys too helped as being an animal lover myself any books including pets or any animal loving characters is definitely a win for me!! There were certain characters that I could quite happily have slapped for being so rude and despicable but you can't love everyone just as in real life. I could go on and on but it's already turned into a bit of a book in itself so I hope I havent bored you and will leave it there!! Regardless of whether you love them or hate them all of these characters work perfectly together to make this a stunning page turner and I cannot wait to return to Driftwood to meet them again!! 


Congratulations Kim on an absolutely gorgeous success!!! Im definitely looking forward to my next holiday to Cornwall!!! Welcome to my favourite author club and here is to your next success 🥂 !!!


Overall this is a perfect, stunning, page turning beach or fireplace read with a great gang of characters that will sweep you away to the gorgeous town of Driftwood from the very first page to the end! 


Genres covered in this novel include Fiction Mashups, Romance Fiction, Coming of Age Fiction, Family Life Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Fiction, Women Writers & Fiction, Literary Fiction, Clean & Wholesome Romance, Contemporary Women's Fiction and Women's Romance Fiction amongst others. 


I would recommend this book to fans of the above and fans of Carole Matthews, Susanne O'Leary, Milly Johnson, Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Berry, Sue Roberts, Victoria Hoslop, Lucy Dillon and anyone who loves a gorgeous read perfect for any weather. 


270 pages.


This book is just £1.89 to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@KimNash @BoldwoodBooks @Boldwood @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @BoldwoodBloggers @KimTheBookworm












Author Bio


Kim Nash is the author of uplifting, funny, heartwarming, romantic, feel-good fiction. She lives in Staffordshire with son Ollie and English Setter rescue dog Roni, is Digital Publicity Director for publisher Bookouture (division of Hachette UK), and is a book blogger at www.kimthebookworm.co.uk .

When she's not working or writing, Kim can be found walking her dog at Cannock Chase, reading, writing and binge-watching box sets on the TV.


Social Media Links











Purchase Link









24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page