top of page

'Home At Summer's End' by Alys Murray

Book Description:


Rose Anderson is done with being known as “the nice one” in the small town where she lives. She’s done with playing third, fifth, seventh wheel at loud gatherings on her family’s flower farm. And most of all, she is done with the pitying looks she gets about her single status from the way-too-interested townsfolk.


Busy with her flower-arranging business, Rose has no time for a man, thank you very much. And it has nothing to do with the scars she still nurses from her last breakup. So when she meets Cole McKittrick, Rose gets an idea. But first she needs to get beneath his aloof exterior and convince him to agree…


Cole McKittrick is trying to keep calm. So what if he quit a steady job for a shot at his dream, was dumped and his move to Yokel County, California is bringing back childhood memories he’d rather forget? It’s all about perspective. He doesn’t want to get any more involved in this town than he has to be, so his first instinct is to push Rose Anderson and her intriguing idea away. But the woman won’t get gone, and then she makes him an offer he can’t refuse.


The two are soon neck deep in deception, playing up a starry-eyed romance in public while they clash wits and wills in private. But Cole has been hiding a big secret from Rose about his past. And when Rose finds out could it spell the end for their picture-perfect romance, or will she realize that he has taken over not just her home, but also her heart…?


A fun, charming romance about family and finding the one, perfect for fans of Robyn Carr, Debbie Macomber and Carolyn Brown.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Home At Summer's End' by Alys Murray.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 15th October 2020


This is the second book that I have read by this author. The first was 'The Perfect Hideaway' which I loved and gave a 5/5 rating. If you haven't read it I highly recommend it!!


This book is part of the 'Full Bloom Farm Series' and is the fourth book, but each book can also be read as a standalone. I didn't actually realise it was part of a series along with 'The Perfect Hideaway' so I'm excited to know that I will meet some of the characters again that I have already read about in 'The Perfect Hideaway' !!


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful cover and interesting sounding blurb. I have also previously read a book by Alys Murray so that definitely helped me decide to read it also!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 23 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written from third person perspectives and the main protagonists are Rose and Cole and it is set in California, USA 🇺🇸 . I always enjoy reading books written from several protagonists perspectives as it feels like I get to know the characters better and get a bigger picture of what is going on. The way it was written made me feel like I was right next to Rose and Cole and going through all the emotional turmoil with them. This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Rose and Cole. The fact that we get to see through the eyes of 2 of the characters is a bonus as it feels like we are not missing anything and let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


This novel is very smoothly written and flowed beautifully. It had me hooked from the first page to the very last. It's a very light hearted and beautiful story that will stay with you for long after you've finished. The descriptions were excellent and the locations beautiful. They made me feel that I was really in the storyline. The ending was perfect and I would love to read more of their story and lives. I am also looking forward to reading more books by Alys Murray who has made a new fan of me.


The storyline was filled was drama, tears, laughter, love and secrets, everything that makes the perfect romance. The whole booked flowed perfectly and I loved meeting all the characters from 'The Perfect Hideaway' again. I really enjoyed a nice and relaxing as well as uplifting readas a change from the typical crime thrillers.


The characters were all strong and well defined. I loved all their personalities, flaws and quirks and I feel that they all worked together perfectly in this book. I really enjoyed meeting Cole who was new in this book and getting to learn more about him. Cole has a great personality and I found him really likeable even with his flaws.


Overall a stunning, light hearted, romantic page turner that will keep you hooked from start to finish.


Genres covered include Fiction, Romance Novel and Contemporary Romance.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone looking for a light hearted and romantic page turner.


249 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AlysMurray @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Alys Murray is an author who writes for the romantic in all of us. Though she graduated with a degree in Drama from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and a Master’s in Film Studies from King’s College London, her irrepressible love of romance led her to a career as an author, and she couldn’t be happier to write these stories! Currently splitting time between her home state of Louisiana and London, she enjoys kissing books, Star Wars, and creating original pie recipes for all of her books. Tobey Maguire is her Spider-Man.



facebook.com/alysmurrayauthor



twitter.com/writeralys





Buy Links:






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Commentaires

Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page