top of page

'Holiday Romance' by Catherine Walsh

Updated: Oct 10, 2022

Book Description:


She’s meant to be catching flights, not catching feelings…


Molly and Andrew are just trying to get home to Ireland for the holidays, when a freak snowstorm grounds their flight.


Nothing romantic has ever happened between them: they’re friends and that’s all. But once a year, for the last ten years, Molly has spent seven hours and fifteen minutes sitting next to Andrew on the last flight before Christmas from Chicago to Dublin, drinking terrible airplane wine and catching up on each other’s lives. In spite of all the ways the two friends are different, it’s the holiday tradition neither of them has ever wanted to give up.


Molly isn’t that bothered by Christmas, but—in yet another way they’re total opposites—Andrew is a full-on fanatic for the festive season and she knows how much getting back to Ireland means to him. So, instead of doing the sane thing and just celebrating the holidays together in America, she does the stupid thing. The irrational thing. She vows to get him home. And in time for his mam’s famous Christmas dinner.


The clock is ticking. But Molly always has a plan. And—as long as the highly-specific combination of taxis, planes, boats, and trains all run on time—it can’t possibly go wrong.


What she doesn’t know is that, as the snow falls over the city and over the heads of two friends who are sure they’re not meant to be together, the universe might just have a plan of its own…


A totally gorgeous and escapist friends-to-lovers festive romance with a swoon-worthy hero. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi McFarlane, and Christina Lauren.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Holiday Romance' by Catherine Walsh.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Catherine Walsh, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 4th October 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read her debut novel 'One Night Only and' The Rebound'' and would highly recommend them both!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its colourful cover and intriguing, hilarious sounding synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Catherine Walsh after falling in love with her book 'One Night Only' and 'The Rebound' so if this book is half as good as that one was it is bound to be an amazing read!!! The synopsis stated that this book is 'A totally gorgeous and escapist friends-to-lovers festive romance with a swoon-worthy hero. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi McFarlane, and Christina Lauren'.I am a huge fan of Sophie so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 28 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Chicago, USA 🇺🇸 and Dublin, Ireland 🇮🇪 ,UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited and holidayed in Ireland on many occasions so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in first person perspective and the protagonist is Molly. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.



LOVE, LOVE, LOOOOOOVVVEEE , LOVED IT!!!A HUGE WELL DONE CATHERINE ON YET ANOTHER ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC BOOK ♥!!!


This is a fantastically written book that has vivid descriptions which will make you feel that you are breathing the Irish air, feeling the snow and will get you in the festive spirit!! It takes you on a journey from Chicago to Paris to Ireland and more and I was devastated when I had to pack my case to come back home and leave Christmas behind 😭 The title, synopsis and cover suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline itself is romantically charged and filled with love, friendship, Christmas, family, comedy, romance, fun and absolutely everything you could want in an absolutely stunning rom com!!! It definitely reminded me of Bridget Jones during some parts!! I absolutely loved watching Molly and Andrew go from their first flight to their last. Watching their friendship develop and then turn into romance was so sweet and I absolutely fell in love with this book!! I was so absorbed in the storyline that when I looked up I was wondering where on earth the Mistletoe and Christmas decorations were!! This is the first festive book I have read this year and it has already got me in the festive mood!! The atmosphere was gorgeous and I was completely swept away!! This book had me in stitches on several occasions and at other times left me sitting there going awww and getting some very strange looks!! There was plenty going on and I absolutely loved every moment of it. The storyline is unique and I think it is such a fantastic plot I really would love to see this turned into a movie!! I would be the first barging their way in front to get tickets!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


There were so many large and unique personalities in this book!! I love how Molly and Andrew had such different feelings about Christmas, they genuinely couldn't have been more different. Andrew was desperate to get home in time, loved all things Christmasy and is obsessed with Christmas jumpers. His family just had to be together for Christmas or it would be ruined. Molly did not see what all the fuss was about, refused to wear anything that resembled Christmas and is quite happy to stay in Chicago to spend Christmas away from her family. Watching these two people who I became completely invested in grow closer and closer was beautiful. I was completely swept away and it felt like I was next to them as they travelled on planes, taxis, cars and ferry's. I would stress along with Molly and smile along with Andrew. Andrew's family were also a massive hit for me and I absolutely adored them, I also think his Mum was very sweet and I really did enjoy watching all the seperate relationships develop and change. This book was filled with a lovely range of characters and I would absolutely love to meet them all again!! Hint hint Catherine 😉


DO NOT START THIS UNTIL YOU CLEAR YOUR SCHEDULES AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!!!!


Yet another stunning read by Catherine!! If you are looking for that perfect read to lift your spirits, get you in the Christmas spirit make you laugh then what are you waiting for?? I


Well done Catherine on yet another stunning page turner and for making me laugh, swoon and smile!!! I'm looking forward to your next success!!! This is exactly why you are on my top 3 rom com authors list ♥


Overall an absolutely gorgeous, festive, feel good, page turning novel filled with friendships, Christmas, love, friendship and family that will keep you up late at night.



Genres covered in this book include Humour, Romance Novel, Women's Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Holiday Romance, Humorous Fiction, Romantic Comedy, General Humorous Fiction, General Fiction and Contemporary Romance amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Bridget Jones diaries, Kristen Bailey, Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes, Mhari McFarlane, Christina Lauren and anyone who is looking for a lift me up page turner that is perfect to get you in the festive spirit!!



354 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@CatherineWalsh @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio


Catherine Walsh was born and raised in Ireland. She has a degree in Popular Literature and the only prize she ever won for writing was at the age of 14 in school (but she still cherishes it.)




She lived in London for a few years where she worked in Publishing and the non-profit sector before returning to Dublin where she now lives between the mountains and the sea. When not writing she is trying and failing to not kill her houseplants.








Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Catherine Walsh here: https://www.bookouture.com/catherine-walsh





Buy Links:







Audio Links:




Listen to a sample here:


You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo









10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page