top of page

Highland Fling On The Whisky Trail by Margaret Amatt. Review.


Book Description


What happens in Glenbriar stays in Glenbriar


When sunny and efficient Felicity Swan lands her dream job as PA to the new CEO of the Glenbriar

Whisky Co., the dream soon turns into a nightmare. Gavin Sinclair isn’t what she expects.


Gavin’s only qualification for the job is that he’s the owner’s son. He knows he’s out of his depth but

he doesn’t need his PA criticising the changes he wants to make.


Questioning his business decisions isn’t the only way Felicity makes Gavin hot under the collar. He

can’t get her out of his mind. But dating an employee is strictly off-limits, especially one ten years

younger than him.


While touring the Glenbriar distilleries together, Gavin and Felicity discover each other’s company is

more intoxicating than the whisky. But when the trip’s over, they have a tough decision to make if

they’re to ensure their highland fling isn’t simply a brief tryst at the illicit still.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW




Review for 'Highland Fling On The Whisky Trail' by Margaret Amatt.




Read and reviewed for Margaret Amatt, Leannan Press and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.



Publication date 7th October 2023.




This is the fifth book I have read by this author. It is also the fourth book in 'The Glenbriar' series but each book in this series can be read as a standalone. I have also read 'Stolen Kisses At The Loch View Hotel' (book 1 in this series), 'Just Friends At Thistle Lodge (book 2 in this series), 'Pitching Up At Heather Glenn (book 3 in this series) and 'Two's Company At The Forest Light Show' (book 4 in this series). I would highly recommend them all!



This novel consists of 30 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Yet another absolute stunner from the extremely talented Margaret!!! Well done Margaret on another absolutely beautiful and perfect read!! This is the ideal beach read where you could sit there and turn around and just imagine the beautiful Glenbriar.


I absolutely LOVE this stunning series and this addition to it contains another storyline that completely swept me away. Margaret's evocative writing skills ensures the readers are absolutely sucked into the stunning storyline with the atmosphere, emotions and characters coming to life all around them.. I absolutely fell in love venturing into beautiful Glenbriar and Scottish Highlands again and felt like I was coming back to a well known and loved holiday destination after falling in love with Glenbriar in book one. Margaret portrays life in a small village absolutely perfectly I became so invested in this book that it actually felt like going on a holiday and I absolutely dreaded coming to the end again where I had to unpack my suitcase and get back to reality. It was an absolutely compelling and addictive heart lifting read that kept me turning the pages until late at night. I loved discovering the pasts and histories of the characters and I was absolutely swept away in the story line. The characters and locations came to life around me and I cannot wait to return in the next book in this stunning series that I have very quickly fallen in love with. It is ram packed with romance, friendship, laughter, lust, friendship and plenty of whisky!!!! It has everything you could ask for to lose yourself for several hours. Each and every book I have read in this series I have read in one sitting and this one is no exception. I just could not put it down so make sure you clear your schedules!!!! This book and this series would make a beautiful movie!! I haven't been to Scotland for a long time but my son keeps asking to go and this book has tempted me even more. This book is an absolutely gorgeous, cute and addictive addition in an absolutely stunning series!!



Do not turn a single page of this book until you have cleared your schedules and when you do get ready to go on a stunning holiday you will not want to leave!!



Although this is the fifth book in this stunning series I would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.



I became completely invested in the characters, along with the storyline, who were all absolutely fantastic with their own individual personalities and quirks. They all started feeling like friends so quickly having got to meet and know so many of them so well from the previous books along with getting to know and love many new characters quickly. I felt like I was leaving amazing people and friends and feel quite sad about that! Each of the characters have rich personalities and they will all stay with me for a long time. Margaret's fantastic evocative writing skills ensure each and every one of them come to life in front of your eyes while you go through all their emotions with them. The main protagonists in this "episode" at Glenbriar are Felicity and Gavin. Felicity gets her dream job as Gavin's PA but with Gavin being completely out of his depth and on the verge of giving up she certainly has her work cut out for her!!! I absolutely adored both of the characters individually and together, they made me laugh, swoon, and fall in love with them!!! I'm hoping we will meet them again in the next amazing book so I'm keeping my fingers crossed and hoping Margaret takes this not so very subtle hint lol!! This is definitely one of those series which could go on and on and I wouldn't get bored. Here's to (hopefully) meeting them all again along with the next new faces of Glenbriar!!



Congratulations Margaret on yet another absolutely gorgeous success!!! I'm definitely looking forward to my next holiday to Glenbriar!!! This is exactly why you are in my favourite author club and here is to your next success 🥂 !!!


Overall this is another perfect, stunning, page turning beach or fireplace addition to a stunning series, with a great gang of characters that will sweep you away to the Scottish Highlands from the very first page to the end by the extremely talented Margaret Amatt!



305 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle,free with kindle unlimited and £1.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@HighlandFlingOnTheWhiskyTrail @TheGlenbriarSeries @MargaretAmatt @LeannanPress @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited










Author Bio


Margaret is a Scottish author and chocolate lover who has been writing stories for over twenty years

(possibly more if you count her primary school efforts). Her early works will never see the light of

day and are locked in dusty vaults on some old floppy disks. But after all those years of practise,


Margaret released her first novel A Winter Haven in 2021. This is the first of a ten-book series set on

the gorgeous Scottish Isle of Mull. Margaret has also written five books in The Glenbriar Series with

more planned for 2023.


The stories are unashamedly romantic but with lots of drama and an eclectic mix of characters. Each

book can be read as a standalone but followers of the series will enjoy catching up with the

characters.



Social Media Links







Purchase Link






9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page