top of page

'Hidden Lake' by Ruhi Choudhary


Title: Hidden Lake

Author:  Ruhi Choudhary

PUBLICATION DAY: 19/08/2020

Description:

When she was just twelve years old, Mackenzie Price came home to find her father bleeding to death on the kitchen floor. She will never forget that night, nor what her mother asked her to do… Twenty years later, Detective ‘Mack’ Price is back in Lakemore, despite vowing never to return. Determined to atone for the sins of the past, she is unstoppable in her quest for justice. When eighteen-year-old Abigail Correia goes missing, Mack is convinced that the case is linked to Erica Perez, who disappeared exactly one year before. Unlike Abby, Erica is the daughter of one of the town’s most powerful men, but still no trace of her has been found. As Mack endeavours to find Abby and bring her back alive, she and her team unearth a shocking secret at the heart of this small town. But that is not the only secret that lurks beneath the surface, as Mack knows only too well… The first book in the Detective Mack Price series, Hidden Lake is a haunting and utterly unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Angela Marsons and Karin Slaughter.





Review for 'Hidden Lake' by Ruhi Choudhary Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Release date August 19th 2020 This is the first book that Ruhi Choudhary has written and it is the first novel in the 'Detective Mackenzie Price' series. This will not be my last and I can only hope the very talented Ruhi is already typing away!!! I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful cover, interesting title & intriguing blurb. I was also excited as it stated that it is 'perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Angela Marsons'. These are 2 of my favourite authors so it will be interesting to see if it lives up to them. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of a prologue, 78 chapters and an epilogue which are a nice length so that you can read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is written from third person point of view and the protagonist is Mackenzie. It is set in the United States. Wow, Wow just WOW!!! What an explosive start to what promises to be an epic series!!!! If I didn't know this was her first book there is no way I would have guessed it was. What an amazing first novel!!! I knew I was going to love the characters from the first page and that didn't change throughout. I thought Mackenzie was a fantastic, strong female lead, always a bonus having a female lead being one myself!! Nick was brilliant, absolutely loved her team and they all worked well with their different personalities. I really cannot wait to read more about them. They were exactly what a good crime book needs, a mix of funny, serious and I just couldn't get enough of them. The storyline itself had me hook, like and sinker from the start and kept me on the edge of my seat as well as up at night flipping through the pages that I just couldn't put down. Packed with suspense, secrets, crime, lies, secrets, friendship and the BIG BANG at the end. I thought I had my suspicions of who was up to what but I was proven wrong and damn lady I DID NOT EXPECT that nucleur ending!!! Where did that come from!!! Just mega wow!!! Completely left me speechless and sitting there with my mouth hanging open like a dog. Cliffhanger much!!! I could not compliment this book enough, it just had everything!!! The whole thing was brilliantly written and although it was mainly set in 2018 there were nicely woven flashbacks from 1997 to 2014 included which were all in the right places. The descriptions put me right next to Mackenzie and I was just completely lost in the story. The description was completely accurate saying it is perfect for fans of Karin Slaughters and Angela Marsons. I would like to add that fans of C. L Taylor and Carol Wyer or any other amazing (and my top) authors will absolutely sink their teeth into this. You Ruhi Choudhary have just made my top 10 authors and that is NOT an easy list to get onto!! I cannot wait for more of your books and to read more of the characters I have grown to love. Overall if you are looking for a heart racing, page turning psychological crime that will leave you shocked and demanding more this is the book for you. Genres covered include Mystery, Thriller, Crime fiction, psychological thriller, and Police procedural. I would recommend this book to EVERYONE!!! 414 pages. This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! What are you waiting for? Rated 5/5 (I LOVED IT) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews #HiddenLake #Ruhi Choudhary #Bookouture #NetGalley #BookReview #BlogTour #BooksOnTour @Ruhi Choudhary @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86 https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R



Author Bio:

Ruhi Choudhary discovered her passion for writing when she was seven years old and wrote her first Star Trek episode. Being a fan of the dark and twisted, she found her calling in crime thriller.

She likes to write stories that make you a little uncomfortable and characters that you struggle to make up your mind about but stay with you.

She lives in Toronto and spends her days training to be a scientist and wishing it rained more often!



BUY LINKS:

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page