top of page

Hexed by Lisa Wakely. Review.


Book Description


After sixteen-year-old Harriet Flynn trips over an ancient gravestone etched with strange markings in a seventeenth-century holiday village and reads the inscription, she and her friends are alarmed to wake up with supernatural powers.



Having magical abilities is fun at first, but when a series of accidents cause the group to become frightened, Harriet becomes determined to find out what’s going on.



While investigating the history of the gravestone they came across that night, Harriet realises she has unwittingly awakened a centuries-old, deadly curse and she is the only one who can put an end to it – and she has less than a day.



With time running out, Harriet must find the true magic key, to save herself and the ones she loves.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Hexed' by Lisa Wakely.



Read and reviewed for Lisa Wakely, Matador, Troubador, The Book Guild and Zooloo's Book Tours.



Publication date 20th November 2023.



This novel consists of 21 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is Lisa's debut novel/la. She has previously written a very short children's book called 'The Day The Animals Came Out To Play' which is just 9 pages long so this would be her debut novel.


OMG!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK, AN ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, GOTHIC, CHILLING AND PAGE TURNING EXPLOSIVE MUST READ!!!



This book is extremely well written with vivid and evocative descriptions that really put you in the storyline, feeling the hair on your arms raise and putting you on the edge of your seat!!! The storyline is just as stunning as the cover!!!


The first thing I have got to say is an absolutely HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to the amazing author Hexed!! I was absolutely mind blown when I had finished this epic page turner and I went to add the rest of her books to my Amazon wish list only to discover that THIS is her DEBUT novel as her previous book is just 9 pages long!! I mean just WOW fairplay!!! If THIS is what you can create for your very first book then I just cannot wait to see what on Earth (or would it be hell?) you will come out with next!!I absolutely loved this addictive, explosive, creepy, horrific, ghostly page turner!!! I honestly loved absolutely everything about it from the characters to the settings to the history of the plague, witches and curses. It was just one heck of an amazing read!!! If you love horrors, gothic stories, ghost books, thrillers, suspense, well do you know what if you love reading then grab a copy of this book today and you will not regret it!!! It has got to be one of, if not the best horror/ghost/occult book that I have ever read!!! Filled with suspense, romance, rats, magic, curses, hauntings, death, ghosts, spine tingling moments, gothic settings, mystery and so much more this book is an absolutely explosive and epic book!! I absolutely love, love, LOVED the unique storyline!! I have read so many books that it is getting harder and harder for me to find a truly unique plot but Lisa absolutely smashes it out of the park with this one!! I believe this is just the first book in a series but don't quote me on that. However, I really, really hope it is as I would love to see what Harriett, Lily, Tyrone and Wayne get up to next with their new found powers. This may be classed as a young adult book but, unfortunately, at 36 I am no longer classed as a young adult and I absolutely loved it so it doesn't matter how old you are, if your 9 or older grab your copy of this fantastic book today!!! The cover is absolutely stunning and the storyline is absolutely action packed. With only 200 pages I completely devoured it in a few hours and loved absolutely every second of it!! Lisa manages to weave the past and history with a modern storyline together absolutely perfectly to create an absolute addictive, chilling page turner that there was no way I could put down until I had finished it. I picked it up and even though I kept telling myself just one more chapter I just could not put it down as every time I went to something happened which meant I had to read just one more again until I ended up reading it in one sitting having been glued to my kindle for a few hours!! Lisa's evocative writing skills and descriptions really brought the storyline to life and I just cannot wait to get hooked into his next book!!! I LOVED the gothic atmospheres of the London past with the plagues and witchcraft along with the historical acting ! I've just genuinely never come across a book anything like this one and I doubt I will again!!!! I just genuinely love, love, LOVED IT!!! This book will suck you in and keep you gripped in the pages until your thrown out at the end with a racing heart!! A truly unforgettable one in a million page turner!!!!




Clear your schedules before turning a single page as this book is truly unputdownable!!! A perfect Halloween book!!!




I absolutely loved meeting and getting to know Harriett, Lily, Tyrone and Wayne as individuals as well as together as friends. I enjoyed watching them meet and bond while getting closer while trying to complete their "mission" before it's too late for them all. I was completely invested in them all throughout and Lisa's fantastic evocative writing skills and descriptions ensured they all came to life in front of my eyes. The fact that this is Lisa's debut novel yet she has managed to create these amazing, unique and strong characters is just absolutely amazing!!! It wasn't just the friends that was a fantastic character but I also found the "ghosts" to be absolutely fascinating, intriguing, terrifying and unforgettable!!!I really enjoyed getting to meet them all and learning all about their histories and discovering their stories. I would absolutely LOVE to see this book turned into a series with the friends getting together again!!! Hint hint Lisa 😉 !!! I genuinely loved getting to know all the characters and was completely invested throughout!! It just goes to show how fantastic Lisa's writing skills are as she completely brought them all to life for me. An absolutely fantastic selection of unique characters that all worked together perfectly to create an absolutely chilling and addictive page turner!!!



This book is one the BEST ghost thriller/occult horror/dystopia book I have ever read !!! This book really is a truly unique page turner that I picked up and had devoured within a couple of hours!!! It had absolutely everything you could ask for and more!!! Amazon rates this book age 9 to 14 but I'm 36 and loved it so would rate it perfect for anyone looking for a spooky, dystopia supernatural book from the age of 9 to 999!!!



Well done Lisa on an absolutely addictive and explosive page turner and I would definitely like to welcome you on to my top 5 favourite horror author list!!! Congratulations on an absolutely fantastic success and here is to what is guaranteed to be many more 🥂



Overall an absolutely addictive, action packed paranormal suspense filled and chilling dystopian thriller that will keep you turning the pages until you've devoured the book in hours!!



200 pages.




This book is just £3.99 to purchase on kindle and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.



@Hexed @HexedtheNovel @LisaWakely @lis_wakely @liswakely @Matador @MatadorPublishing @matadorbooks @Troubador @TroubadorPublishing @troubador_publishing @troubadorbooks @TheBookGuild @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @BooksOnTour @BlogTour @BookReview @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger






















Author Bio


Lisa Wakely is a writer, performer and radio presenter from Essex born to an Anglo-Indian mother and Anglo-Burmese father. She has been writing since she was twelve years old, after spending most of her evenings reading stories from the school library. Lisa lives in Colchester with her husband, dog and a cat.

She enjoys engaging in heart-pumping activities such as skydiving and abseiling, all in the pursuit of charity. Her passion for writing and teaching performing arts is matched only by her boundless energy and unwavering determination. Her time working as a Guest Host at Madame Tussauds London really gave her a taste of what life at an entertainment attraction was like.

Very much how it comes across in Hexed - minus the magic and 17th century madness!



Social Media Links









Purchase Link







10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page