top of page

'Her Sister's Secret' by S.E Lynes


Book: Her Sister's Secret (Previous title: The One To Blame)

Author: S.E. Lynes

Pub Day: July 13th 2021

My Rating ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

About the Book:

Why would you pretend your life is a dream when you’re living a nightmare? Annie and Dom lead perfect lives in a lovely cottage in a quiet village by the sea, with flowers at the front gate and an apple tree in the garden. Everyone knows them: generous, loving Dom, creative, joyful Annie. But their neighbours don’t see Annie as she sits waiting for Dom well into the night. They don’t see her smiling through her tears. They don’t know what the perfect couple are hiding. They just hear the sirens that break the silence of the night and see the flames that rise against the dark sky. And the morning after, what everyone wants to know is – which one was to blame? A brilliantly twisty tale of family secrets and the darkness that can lie behind closed doors, Her Sister's Secret will keep you turning the pages till the final devastating revelation. Fans of Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn and Louise Candlish will love it.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Her Sister's Secret' by S.E Lynes. Previously titles 'The One To Blame'


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for S.E Lynes, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 13th July 2021.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Housewarming' and 'Can You See Her? ' which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn and Louise Candlish will love it.' I am a huge fan of Lisa so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of S.E Lynes and if this is as good as 'Can You See Her?' or 'The Housewarming' it is sure to be an epic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 52 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London and Dorset 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited Dorset on many occasions including going there on holiday last and this year so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the main protagonists are Isla and Annie. The benefits of having both first and third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out on anything.


'Her Sister's Secret' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book S.E Lynes discusses/includes Domestic abuse.


Another fantastic psychological thriller. Well done S.E Lynes!!!


This book is extremely well written with descriptions that leave you hearing the seagulls on the beach and feelong the sand on your feet. The storyline is filled with suspense, secrets, loss, lies and a shocking ending!!! I was completely gripped throughout this page turning thriller. I enjoyed seeing what was going on through both Isla and Annie's eyes and I love at the end how everything is wrapped up nearly, I hate loose ends. I absolutely loved the explosive ending which I was not at all expecting!!! It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture. This book was previously titled 'The One To Blame' but I definitely think 'Her Sister's Secret' suits the storyline better!!! I was completely invested throughout the storyline and addicted throughout. I absolutely love this bit "To think of Swanage is to think of Annie, Cal and me sitting on the old harbour wall eating fish and chips, our legs dangling, seagulls screeching and dive-bombing overhead." I have done exactly that, in fact less than a year ago which definitely brought the story more to life for me.


The characters were all realistic and sadly what went on between Annie and Dom was also realistic. I ccoouls not stand the man and I'm glad that Annie actually hit back at him. I had zero sympathy for him as he was a dispicable person and I genuinely think he got what he deserved. I loved watching the relationships between Annie, Isla, Cal, Daisy and Jan grow, develop and change throughout the book and each character was unique and strong.


Overall an absolutely gripping thriller with an explosive ending


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological thriller, Suspense, Mystery and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Jewell and anyone who loves a book with an unexpected twist.


299 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SELynes @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio


Former BBC Producer, S.E. Lynes is the Amazon #1 best selling author of 'intelligent and haunting', 'beautifully written' psychological thrillers, VALENTINA, MOTHER, THE PACT, THE PROPOSAL, THE WOMEN, THE LIES WE HIDE, CAN YOU SEE HER? and THE HOUSEWARMING. Her latest novel, HER SISTER'S SECRET is available for pre-order NOW. After completing her MA, Lynes taught creative writing at Richmond Adult Community College for over ten years. She now combines writing, mentoring and lecturing. She has also published three children's books in Italy: IL LEOPARDO LAMPO, LA COCCODRILLA INGAMBA, and the bilingual LA SCIMMIA SPIRITOSA/THE FUNNY MONKEY, all available at Amazon.it


Social Media









Buy Links


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page