top of page

'Her Sister's Promise' by Catherine Miller

Book Description


Her Sister's Promise: A totally heartbreaking and unputdownable page-turner by Catherine Miller


I laugh as I watch my sister cross the road, her blonde curls bouncing. Her happiness is so contagious that I fail to spot the black cab racing towards her…

In a split second, my world shatters. My heart pounds inside my chest as I helplessly look on. Harper’s life – my precious twin sister – hangs in the balance. And I know that nothing will ever be the same.

After the accident, I’m told Harper will live, but that she’ll never walk again. I make a promise to never leave her side, but she says it’s too painful to watch me continue to train as a dancer. And when she starts to distance herself from me, I’m in pieces. I have never done anything without her by my side, and suddenly she’s slipping away from me.

Facing life without my best friend is harder than I thought, and I can’t bear the pain of knowing that Harper is suffering. And as my world begins to crumble, will my sister remember the promise she made to me when we were children? That we would always find our way back to one another, and live our lives together, no matter what…

A heartbreaking and gripping emotional read, perfect for fans of unputdownable family dramas, and for those who love reading Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'Her Sister's Promise' by Catherine Miller 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Catherine Miller, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 9th January 2023. HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY CATHERINE!!  


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have previously read Catherine's 'The Missing Piece', 'The Crash' and 'The Girl Who Couldn't Leave' which I highly recommend. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its gorgeous eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A heartbreaking and gripping emotional read, perfect for fans of unputdownable family dramas, and for those who love reading Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.' I am a huge fan of all three of those authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Catherine and if this is half as good as 'The Missing Piece','The Crash' and' The Girl Who Couldn't Leave' it is sure to be an epic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 49 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays in England on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Catherine has based the book on.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Jodie Quinlan and Harper Quinlan. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Her Sister's Promise' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Catherine discusses drugs, a car accidentand overdosing. 


Congratulations Catherine on yet another fantastic page turner!!! An absolute must read with vivid descriptions that set the scene for you. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly. Grab the tissues and clear your schedules as you will not be able to put this down!!! 


I think one of the things I enjoyed most about this storyline is that although it was both heart warming and heart breaking it actually carries an extremely important message on how a single moment and/or decision can change someone's life butalso how we need to look at accessibility more and make the world a more wheelchair/accessible friendly place. I am disabled myself although not in a wheelchair and notice the lack of ramps and spaces more and more lately which is quite shocking in todays day and age. Congratulations Catherine, I don't belive I've ever actually read another book that highlights the problems disabled face daily before especially weaved into  such an enjoyable storyline.  


The storyline is realistic and filled with love, loss, heartbreak, sisterhood, tears, important messages, fun, tragedies, romance, family and more. I was completely absorbed from the first page until late at night when I could only put it down because I'd finished it. A light hearted full of love and hope page turner with serious messages weaved perfectly into it. It is a gorgeous book and can be read in the sun or curled up next to the fire. I was completely invested in the storyline throughout and on several occasions my heart was in my throat with what was happening. Make sure you read to the end where you will discover Catherine's personal story that was extremely touching. I was also attracted to this book because it is based on the bond twins have and having twins myself I would absolutely love if they grow up as close to each other and as supportive as Harper and Jodie were once they realised the seoeration was a bad idea!! The fact that Catherine is a former physiotherapist absolutely shines through this book when it comes to the physiotherapy sessions. There's not much worse that a book filled with errors that can be easily resolved by research and/or experience. Catherine, you have such an amazing talent of conveying such vital messages and lessons via such amazing storytelling skills that your books leave me thinking about them months after reading them which makes for truly amazing talent. Congratulations Catherine. This would make an absolutely stunning movie that I would love to watch!! 


I was completely invested in the characters and I loved Jodie, Harper and Maceo's characters. They were all larger than life, realistic, strong and very likeable. I really enjoyed watching their friendship and relationship between not only Jodie and Harper change and develop but also Harper's friendship with Maceo. Macro was an amazing friend to Harper throughout and I was gunning for Harper to say yes throughout. Harper and Jodie are very lucky to have such amazing sisters in each other who stand by and support each other every step of the way. I would love to have had a sister half as amazing as they were to each other. It was heartbreaking to see them limit themselves to 3 words and my heart was in my throat on so many occasions. I was extremely surprised by how their lives were turning out as I would have expected Harper to go down a similar path to what happened with Jodie considering what happened to her. My heart absolutely went out to Jodie who went on a downhill spiral after what happened with Harper. It's hard to say too much as I don't want to give anything away to future readers but I'd you want to find out what I mean just click the link below to get your copy today!! Although I loved Harper, Maceo and Jodie. I felt the complete opposite about Jasper, Denna and Antoine and could not stand the using, lying, manipulative twonks!! I must admit there were several moments were both Harper and Jodie needed a stern talking to and their heads banging together with some of the things they both did, said or didn't say or didn't do. It just goes to show what can happen when you lose the person you love most in this world or when you hide the truth from the person you care about. Speaking about caring, their parents are an absolute joke and I was extremely disgusted by them and their lack of support to their children, especially Jodie!! They are two of the most selfish people I have ever met!! A great eclectic mix of characters who worked perfectly for this storyline. 


I ABSOLUTELY loved this book Catherine and here's to hoping you've started on your next page turner. Watch out JoJo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks and Diane Chamberlain you have some serious competition here!! 


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and the first three chapters of Catherine's 'The Day That Changed Everything' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and I cannot wait to get stuck into it!!! 


Overall an unputdownable addictive emotional rollercoaster drama with a sprinkle of love, heartbreak, friendship and some serious messages. 


Genres covered in this novel include Literary Fiction, British & Irish Contemporary Literature, Psychological Fiction, Women's Literary Fiction, Fiction, Romance and Contemporary Fiction amongst others. 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of JoJo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks, Liane Moriarty, Diane Chamberlain and anyone who loves a good read. 


292 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more

reviews 



@HerSistersPromise @CatherineMiller @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram









About the author


When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016.


Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Since then she’s had four novels published.




Author social media





Author newsletter sign up link: https://www.bookouture.com/catherine-miller




Purchase Link






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page