top of page

'Her Sister's Child' by Alison James

Title: Her Sister's Child

Publication Day: 26/11/20

Author: Alison James


Description:


She rolls over and reaches for her instinctively: her baby. Her hand hits air and flaps redundantly. She stumbles out of bed and switches on the light. But this only confirms it. The baby is gone. Someone has taken her.


Sixteen years ago, Lizzie Armitage woke to find her newborn baby gone. Just days later, Lizzie was dead.


Her sister Paula swore she would do everything she could to find the child. If she hadn’t promised to keep Lizzie's pregnancy secret, maybe the baby wouldn’t have disappeared. And maybe Lizzie would still be alive. But, in nearly a decade, Paula’s never found any trace. Until now…


When Paula bumps into an old friend from the past, she realises she wasn’t the only one who knew about her sister’s child. Someone knows what happened that day. Someone knows where Lizzie’s baby went.


But can Paula find out the truth before another family is ripped apart?


A twisty, unputdownable psychological thriller that will keep you hooked until the last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Friend Request and The Girl on the Train will love Her Sister’s Child.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'My Sister's Child' by Alison James.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 26th November 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover its intriguing synopsis. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 52 chapters, an epilogue and is split into 3 parts. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Paula, Charlie and Marian. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is extremely well written and the cover and synopsis work well with the storyline. The descriptions were vivid and made me really feel in the storyline. I was confused at first moving from part one to part two with the change in timeline but once I realised, very quickly, what was going on it was fine. Part One is "Now", Part Two is the past and Part Three is a mix until it all comes together.


The storyline itself was gripping and addictive. It had me flipping from page to page as I was sucked into the plot wanting to know what was going on. It is filled with suspense, tension, shocks and a mix of emotions. In a couple of parts I had tears welling up. One thing i was not expecting, well three technically were the explosive twists in the middle and at the end, especially the second one. I am not easily shocked anymore after reading so many thrillers and crime books so to shock me twice is a HUGE feat. A MASSIVE congratulations to Alison James on your huge success!! I loved how the book ended and that all loose ends were tied up, nothing worse than reading a book and things are left unexplained.


THE characters were all realistic and strong and all had their own personalities which worked perfectly with the storyline. I really did feel for Paula who is definitely a very strong and determined female also making her a favourite!!! In a way I do have sympathy towards Marian, especially for what Tom put her through.


I am definitely looking forward to reading more books by this very talented author and it would actually be interesting to see this turned into a movie.


Overall a gripping and addictive page turning thriller with an explosive twist you won't see coming.


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Psychological Fiction and Psychological Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone looking for an addictive page turner.


351 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AlisonJames @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Born in the Cotswolds, Alison spent most of her formative years abroad. She studied languages at Oxford, then became a journalist and author, returning to university after her two children to take a law degree. After a three-year stint as a criminal paralegal, Alison worked as a commercial copywriter and then a TV storyliner, before coming full circle to write fiction again.


Author Social Media Links:


Website: n/a


Facebook:









Buy Link:









13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Commenti

Valutazione 0 stelle su 5.
Non ci sono ancora valutazioni

Aggiungi una valutazione
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page