top of page

'Her Revenge' by Emma Tallon

Title: Her Revenge

Author: Emma Tallon

PUBLICATION DAY: March 22nd 2021

Description:

Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers and Jacqui Rose will love this gripping new book from bestselling crime author Emma Tallon.

There’s a new girl in town and she has a score to settle.

Scarlet Drew isn’t to be messed with. As the daughter of a notorious London gangster, she’s got enough street smarts to take on the world. When someone close to Scarlet is murdered in cold blood on the East End streets where she grew up, her family’s honour is at stake and she can only think of one thing – revenge.

Joining her aunt Lily at the head of the family business, Scarlet soon realises that the murder is just one part of a plot by a rival firm to take down the entire Drew empire, and she fears that her aunt could be their next target.

As everything they built begins to crumble, the Drew family find their livelihood and their reputations under pressure. Then, Scarlet’s estranged cousin Ruby suddenly comes back into the family, with a revelation that could tear the Drews apart. But can she be trusted? As Scarlet makes some tough decisions, one thing is for sure: family means everything to her and she will stop at nothing to protect it, even if it means putting her own life at risk.

Strong women, family dramas and nail-biting tension make Her Revenge a book not to be missed!




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Her Revenge' by Emma Tallon.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 22nd March 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the first book in the 'Drew Family' series


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and colouful cover and its intriguing synopsis. The synopsis stated that fans of Martina Cole will love it. I am a fan of Martina's books so am interested to see if it will live up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 65 chapters. The chapters are short to medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Scarlet Drew and Lily Drew. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions and the perfect atmosphere for the storyline. The synopsis and cover work perfectly with the book cover. I am always wary about trying a new author out but was definitely not disappointed.


The book is gripping and addictive from the very first page until the last. I was absolutely hooked throughout with the suspense and tension filled plot. I enjoyed delving into the underworld and reading about how the Drew family worked within the family, the factory and all the other gangs. I would never have guessed who killed Ronan which is definitely a huge bonus as I've been struggling to find a book that has surprised me lately having read so many crime thrillers. The storyline was intricately woven with so many sub plots iy kept me completely engaged throughout. The way Emma has written it really helps your imagination picture everything going on.


I really enjoyed meeting the Drew family as well as the other characters. I have also learned Emma's previous books were based on the Tyler family who we also met in this series so I am looking forward to going back to read that series as well as any further books in the Drew family serious. Scarlet is definitely a force to be reckoned with as is Lily and who doesn't love a strong kockk @ss female in the crime world!! I was absolutely fascinated by all the businesses that she managed to keep afloat. I also enjoyed reading about what Connor and Cillian got up to and having twins myself it's quite interesting to see how these twins worked. I also had a bit of a soft spot for Ray and really like him. Harry and Jasper are just absolute rats and I am glad about how the book ended. I'm hoping Ruby will pull her finger out and get clean and am looking forward to reading what comes off her. Every single character was strong and had their own unique personalities and each definitely left an impression on me.


I am looking forward to reading more of Emma's books and it would be intriguing to see them turned into movies. Emma, congratulations, you have hit my top author list!!!


Overall a fast paced, page turning, gripping and addictive adventure from the underworld.


Genres covered in this novel include

Thriller, Mystery and Crime Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans Marina Cole and anyone who enjoys reading about crime from the dark side..


364 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@EmmaTallon @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:

Emma Tallon is a British author of gripping, gritty, organised crime thrillers and mother of two. Having started her writing career as a freelance ghostwriter, Emma finished her first novel, Runaway Girl, in 2016, and became an author full time. Since then she has written several other novels for her publisher and has carved out a successful career for herself from her home in Milton Keynes, where she can usually be found typing away in her office surrounded by large stacks of books and Post-it Notes full of ideas for future stories.


Author Social Media Links:




Purchase links:


Amazon Universal Link: https://geni.us/B08V5H7BGYSocial




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Commentaires

Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page