top of page

Her Perfect Revenge by Lesley Sanderson. Review


Book Description


On the surface we were the perfect couple, but no one knows what we’ve been hiding…


Just six hours ago, Alex and I were married. It was a beautiful wedding by the sea, on the beach we’ve always loved. Our guests crowded outside our beach hut to raise a toast before our first midnight swim together as man and wife. And then, suddenly, he was gone, drowning in the water that meant so much to us.


But instead of being able to mourn in peace, to get to grips with my awful new reality, the police are here. It seems they don’t think Alex’s death was an accident. And I’m the main suspect.


I know I’m innocent, but I also know we both had secrets. And to my horror, it seems Alex’s were worth killing for. But who in our wedding party could have wanted him dead?


I thought I knew the man I married but I couldn’t have been more wrong. But then again, he didn’t know the real me either. I’ve been hiding from the truth for so long. And then I realise: what if it wasn’t Alex’s past that was coming back to find him. What if it’s mine? How far will someone go to expose my darkest secret?


A gripping, jaw-dropping page-turner with twists to die for. If you love Lisa Jewell, Daniel Hurst and Frieda McFadden, you’ll love Her Perfect Revenge.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Her Perfect Revenge' by Lesley Sanderson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Lesley Sanderson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 18th October 2023.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Every Little Lie' and 'The Widow's Husband' and I would highly recommend them both!!



This novel consists of a prologue and 51 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


'Her Perfect Revenge' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Lesley discusses/includes drowning.


Well done Lesley on yet another fantastic page turner!!! What an absolutely gripping heart racing story!!!


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions leaving your heart racing and hands sweating throughout !! The cover, synopsis and title suit the book perfectly.


Lesley does it yet again!!!!! The storyline is absolutely captivating, action packed and evocative!! It is filled with lies, love, secrets, family, tension, jealousy and suspense from the first page until the last. Once I started this I just could not put it down and couldn't go to sleep until I had finished it!! I love how Lesley has written this book so we don't just see what is going on from the past and the present but there are also chapters from an anonymous protagonist which adds even more mystery and tension to the storyline. There are just twists after twists, shocks after shocks and every time I thought I had worked anything out Lesley blows my mind again and again!!! With the amount of crime and psychological books I devour any books that shock me this much are rare to come by so a MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Lesley as I lost count of how many times you managed it!!! Lesley's fantastic evocative writing skills sucked me straight into the book with the characters and events coming to life in front of my eyes to the point where on the odd occasion I managed to peel my eyes from the pages I had no idea where I was and that ladies and gentlemen is talent right there!! I won't say too much as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. It is truly captivating and page turning so if you are about to start this book make sure you clear your schedule as once you've start you won't be able to stop. Every chapter makes you want to start the next one and then the next as each ends on the perfect spot to make you want to carry on. This book would make an absolutely amazing movie and I will be the first in line to watch it!!!



It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters are all vivid, strong and realistic and I became invested in each of them as each move every one made left you on edge. Lesley really does bring them all to life to the point where it feels like your travelling back and forth in time standing right next to them all!!! I found the majority of them likeable although there were a couple that I didn't trust. Was I right to trust or distrust the ones I chose to like or not like? Well that would just be giving it away wouldn't it? I won't say anything about them as I don't want to give too much away so you'll just have to pick up a copy and let me know your thoughts. Regardless of whether you love or hate the characters they all come together perfectly to make this storyline as addictive as it is.


Congratulations Lesley on yet another absolutely amazing book which I can guarantee will be a HUGE success. This is why your in my favourite author list. I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and have added them all onto my wish list!!! Here's to more future successes 🥂!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue of Lesley's 'The Orchid Girls' which promises to be just as gripping as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!!


Overall a very fast pace, gripping, unputdownable psychological thriller that will leave you on the edge of your seat with a pounding heart!!!




291 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@HerPerfectRevenge @LesleySanderson @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger















Author Bio


Lesley Sanderson spends her days writing in coffee shops in Kings Cross where she lives and also works as a librarian in a multicultural school. She has lived and worked in Paris and speaks four languages.




She attended the Curtis Brown Creative novel writing course in 2015/6, and in 2017 was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish fiction prize.




Lesley discovered Patricia Highsmith as a teenager and has since been hooked on psychological thrillers. She is particularly interested in the psychology of female relationships.




Purchase Link





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page