top of page

'Her Husband's Son' by Aviva Gat

Book Description


"A Must Read by Aviva Gat!... just when you think you have it all figured out, she throws another curve ball your way!" ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Could you raise the son he had with his ex?


Lila may not have been the love of her husband’s life, but they’ve built an enviable life together. Lila goes back to school shopping for her daughters and manages her thriving at-home baking business. Her husband Ryan is on partner track at one of Los Angeles’ top law firms.


But then Ryan comes home with some disturbing news: he had a son with his ex, Meredith. Meredith never told him. And now Meredith is dead and Ryan’s son is an orphan. Can the boy come live with them?


Without hesitation, Lila agrees to accept this sulky teenager into her home. After all, how else could she learn about her husband’s old flame?


A totally heartwarming and powerful story about family, secrets, and impossible dilemmas. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain, and Amanda Prowse.


Readers love Her Husband's Son:


"The plot twists were completely unexpected and I enjoyed how the story went back and forth between the past and the present."


"Make sure you have some tissues nearby!"





Blog Review



Review for 'Her Husband's Son' by Aviva Gat. 



Read and reviewed via Bookfunnel for Aviva Gat. 



Publication date 25th January 2023. 



This is the first book I have read by this author. 



I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A totally heartwarming and powerful story about family, secrets, and impossible dilemmas. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain, and Amanda Prowse.' I am a huge fan of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement.



This novel consists of a prologue, 53 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is set in the USA 🇺🇸 . 



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Lila and Ryan. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



'Her Husband's Son' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Aviva discusses/includes cancer. 


An absolutely gripping book Aviva well done!!! This book is beautifully written with such emotion it will have tears streaming down your eyes. The stunning cover and synopsis suit the plot perfectly. The storyline is a rollercoaster of emotions including heartbreak, tension, secrets, lies, friendship, family, love and just so so much more. It is hard to explain in words the emotions this book brings out. It is so heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. I was absolutely captivated and absorbed throughout, a beautiful page turner. It is genuinely one of those books you just can't put down. It is also extremely thought provoking and most definitely unique! I have never come across a storyline like it in a book before!! I was just absolutely addicted to this gorgeous novel. It is an absolutely sensational family drama with twists and turns I just did not see coming so A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Aviva as it is getting harder and harder to shock me. My jaw just dropped so many times and I was just completely mind blown by everything that just kept coming out of the woodwork! Aviva has such evocative way of writing that it really does bring out all the emotions in her readers. This book is heartwarming and heartbreaking, uplifting and just an absolutely stunning addictive page turner. I absolutely LOVED the ending and I had tears streaming down my face by the end which is very rare for me so well done (I think 🤔) Aviva for making me cry lol 😂). The only criticism I have is that I found the changing of time lines quite confusing for a while as there wasn't any indication of what date/time was being written about. I did eventually adjust and worked it out but maybe it is something the author may wish to add to future books if continuing with the multiple time line theme. Although I loved the storyline which would normally give the book a 5/5 I found the time changes confusing so unfortunately as I give honest reviews only I would have to remove half a star for this. I don't think it is worth removing a whole star as I did work it out after a few chapters. Due to the fact you cannot give half star ratings I always rate up so will be giving 5/5 on rating sites. I would absolutely love to see this book created into a movie!!!


Clear your schedules and grab the tissues before even turning the first page of this stunner and get ready for an absolute rollercoaster of emotions!! One of the best books I have ever read!! 


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters were realistic and each had their own unique personalities. This must be the first for a book but my heart went out to each and every one of the characters for different reasons. It absolutely broke for Lila who was going through so much anyway and the pressure, stress, heartbreak and so much more just kept being added and added to her emotional turmoil throughout the book and yet she still kept trying to stay strong for her family. Lila is such a strong woman and I was just expecting her to curl up and crawl into bed at any moment which, although she wanted to several times (and who could blame her?) she managed to keep on going. I am so pleased that she had Pooja who was a true friend and such an amazing support for Lila. She is such a kind and caring person and someone who I would love to have as a friend myself!! Adam is only a child at 12 but has also got so much going on with school, losing his mum, meeting a new family and moving in with them, having accusations thrown at him plus more tragedy to come my heart went out to him. Jada and Willow are such sweet girls who seemed so grown up at times and it was so sweet to see their relationship with Adam change and grow. I wasn't sure what to think of Ryan as it went back and forth in time lines and especially when I found out more about him and that he had been keeping secrets but I can't say anything else about him as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. I also had mixed feelings about Meredith who seemed quite cold and on times I did wonder if she was using Ryan to get what she wanted but I'm not 100% as she did try to contact him. She is another character I don't want to say too much about. Argh!! There's so much more I want to say about the characters but any more and I am worried I will give too much away so I will leave it there. However, I will say that this group of characters will stay with me for a long time and if you want to meet them click the buy link below.


Well done Aviva on creating such realistic characters and bringing their personalities and emotions to life!! 


Congratulations Aviva on an absolutely stunning book and for  bringing out the same emotions as reading a Jodi Picoult and Nicholas Sparks book brings out in me. I am looking forward to reading more of your guaranteed page turner's!! 


Overall a must read, gorgeous, addictive page turner that will take your breathe away and have you absolutely sucked in with tears streaming down your face!! 


Genres covered in this novel include Romance Literary Fiction, Women's Literary Fiction, Romance, Family Drama and Literary Fiction amongst others. 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Nicholas Sparks, Kerry Fisher, Diane Chamberlain, Jodi Picoult’s 'My Sister’s Keeper', Kate Hewitt, Catherine Ryan Hyde and absolutely anyone who loves an absolutely breathe taking, emotionally charged and addictive page turner!!!




Genres covered in this novel include Romance Literary Fiction, Women's Literary Fiction, Romance, Contemporary Fiction, Women's Fiction, Family Drama and Literary Fiction amongst others. 



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Nicholas Sparks, Kerry Fisher, Diane Chamberlain, Jodi Picoult’s 'My Sister’s Keeper', Kate Hewitt, Amanda Prowse, Catherine Ryan Hyde and absolutely anyone who loves an absolutely breathe taking, emotionally charged and addictive page turner!!! 



373 pages.



This book is just £3.37 to purchase on kindle and £10.83 in paperback via Amazon at the time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 



Rated 4.5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 




@HerHusbandsSon @AvivaGat  @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads  @Amazon @AmazonKindle 














Author Bio


Aviva’s lifelong dream was always to be a writer. From a young age, she wrote short stories that she shared with friends and family. When she went to college at Boston University, her love for writing led her to get two bachelor’s degrees in Journalism and Religion. She then moved to New York City and wrote for a financial magazine, where she wrote breaking news and in-depth analytical pieces about corporate bankruptcy.


After getting tired of the hustle and bustle of NYC, she moved to Israel where she spent six months volunteering fulltime with special needs adults. Ready to get back into the corporate world, Aviva then got an MBA at Tel Aviv University and worked for a consulting firm and a high-tech company.


When her daughter was born, Aviva decided it was time to get back to her lifelong dream and be a writer fulltime. She still lives in Israel, happily married with a daughter and a dog. When she is not writing, Aviva loves to run, hike, and be outside. Follow her on Instagram: aviva_writes




Purchase Links



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

コメント

5つ星のうち0と評価されています。
コメントが読み込まれませんでした。
技術的な問題があったようです。お手数ですが、再度接続するか、ページを再読み込みしてださい。
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page