top of page

Her Husband's Secret by Emily Shiner. Review


Book Description


A cheating husband. A vengeful wife. And a plan that goes terribly wrong.

 

When Eloise discovers her husband Jared has fathered a son with another woman, Tina, there’s no way she’s forgiving him. But divorce will leave her with nothing, thanks to a prenup.

Instead, she takes her time plotting a murderous revenge with the help of her loyal cousin Ricky. Her plan is simple – she’ll kill Jared and set Tina up to take the fall.

 

That way she'll stay free to inherit what she really loves: Jared's money. And with Ricky's help, it all seems possible.

 

What Eloise hasn't counted on is Ricky's unpredictable state of mind. Driven by a dangerous obsession with Tina, he’s slowly disconnecting from reality. Instead of following Eloise's plan, he thinks up one of his own. One that leaves Eloise in a place she never thought possible, even in her worst nightmares.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Her Husband’s Secret' by Emily Shiner.


Read and reviewed for Zooloo's Book Tours, NetGalley, Emily Shiner and Inkubator Books.


Publication date 16th May 2023.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Caretaker', 'You Can't Hide' and 'I'm Following You' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching gorgeous cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated 'Her Husband’s Secret – the stunning psychological thriller perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll, Freida McFadden, Daniel Hurst.'

I am a MASSIVE fan of Freida McFadden and Daniel Hurst so am looking forward to seeing if it lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Emily and of this is half as good as her 'The Caretaker', 'You Can't Hide' and 'I'm Following You' it is guaranteed to be a page turner!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Inkubator Books. I have yet to read a book published by Inkubator Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 56 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the USA 🇺🇸



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Tina, Eloise and Ricky. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


Emily does it yet again!! I genuinely done think she can make a book that I don't love!! Love, love, loved this book!!!! Absolutely gripping edge of your seat page turner!!!



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.


The storyline was captivating and addictive from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of lies, secrets, tension, twists, suspense and everything you could ask for in a page turning psychological thriller. I just could not put this book down from the first page to the last. I lost count of the amount of times I promised myself one more chapter but that one finished in a way I just HAD to know what would happen next so I said just more and this went on and on until I ended up finishing it in one sitting!!! Eloise discovers that her husband Jared has been having an affair with a former bartender called Tina and even fathered her son Luke. However Jared had given Tina false details including a false name and hadn't given any contact details so Tina couldn't tell him about Luke. Eloise leaves Jared and gets in touch with her cousin Ricky and together they come up with a plan to get revenge to get Tina and Jared together, kill Jared and frame Tina for it leaving her able to get Jared's money. What she doesn't take into account is how Ricky may start getting feelings for Tina which become obsessive. Ricky breaks off from Eloise's plan and comes up with his own. What will Ricky do now? Has Eloise put herself in danger? It was absolutely ram packed with mystery, revenge, secrets, deceipt, obsession, consequences, tension, suspense, betrayal, and absolutely everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I absolutely love Emily's books and am guaranteed to be shocked every time I pick one up which is not an easy feat considering how many books I read a year so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS Emily!!! One of the things I love about her books is that they can also be quite thought provoking and always end with MASSIVE BOMBSHELLS that I absolutely love and never do see coming. Emily's evocative writing drags you deep into the storyline from the first sentence to the very last and will keep you up until the very last word! THAT ladies and gentleman is a true sign of an absolute must read. I absolutely loved the ending which was definitely an unexpected twist which is just one of the reasons I love Emily's books, she manages to get me every single time!! I've said it before about Emily's books and I shall say it again!! I would absolutely LOVE to see this turned into a movie and would wait up all night to get tickets to watch it!!


I hope your busy writing your next book Emily as I just cannot wait to see what bombshell twist and explosive storyline you have up your sleeve for us next!!!!


Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!


The characters were all realistic and strong and I was completely invested in them throughout. I love the fact that we got to see what was happening from the points of view from all of the three main characters Eloise, Tina and Ricky and to know why they were doing what they were and how they were feeling throughout. Emily weaves their chapters together with perfect timing until it all comes together with an explosive BANG!! It also explains absolutely everything which leaves no question unanswered at the end which is a pet hate of mine!! This also really helps the reader understand them more making them more realistic to the reader. My heart went out to Ricky who definitely needed help after suffering with a psychotic breakdown and I hated the way Eloise was using him. I definitely wasn't a fan of hers and one of my favourite words Karma is the best way to explain what happens. However, I also felt sorry for Tina for what both Eloise and Ricky was putting her through when Jared was the one on the wrong!! All of the characters were multi layered with complex personalities which definitely made them all the more interesting to read about!!! Unfortunately, I really can not say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. You will just have to pick up your copy to find out who is right, who was wrong and what happens to them all and trust me you will not regret it!!! Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly to make this page turning psychological thriller!!!




Congratulations Emily on yet ANOTHER huge success. This is why you are in my favourite 5 authors list!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!


Overall an absolutely unputdownable, action packed, intriguing psychological thriller that will keep you up at night on the edge of your seat with a pounding heart!!


Genres covered in this book include Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Domestic Suspense, Women's Psychological Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Domestic Thriller, Mystery, Domestic Thriller, Thriller, Domestic Drama and Psychological Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Mark Edwards, Cathryn Grant, Teresa Driscoll, Freida McFadden, Daniel Hurst, K. L. Slater, Mark Edwards and anyone looking for an explosive psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout!!


346 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.75 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@HerHusbandsSecrets @EmilyShiner @inkubatorbooks @Inkubator @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @Netgalley @KindleUnlimited











Author Bio


Emily Shiner always dreamed of becoming an author but first served her time as a banker and a teacher. After a lifetime of devouring stacks of thrillers, she decided to try her hand at writing them herself. Now she gets to live out her dream of writing novels and sharing her stories with people around the world. She lives in the Appalachian Mountains and loves hiking with her husband, daughter, and their two dogs.







Social Media Links



 

Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/143502446-her-husband-s-secret





Purchase Link








8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page