top of page

'Her First Mistake' by Carey Baldwin

Author: Carey Baldwin

Book: HER FIRST MISTAKE

Publication Day: April 30th 2021


Description:

Mia covered her mouth to keep from crying out. She hated the dark, but her mother had made her promise. But what was the point of being a good little girl if she couldn’t help her mother? She’d promised her mother not to scream, but she hadn’t promised not to escape… To the world, Mia Thornton is invisible—a quiet, timid preschool teacher. People would never guess that she found the will to dig her way out of a locked shed when she was just six years old. That she never saw her mother again. Now, all Mia longs for is a normal life and friends to call her own. But when she runs into a group of colleagues one evening, she discovers that, once again, she’s been excluded. Stung at the rejection, she pockets the keys of one of the women in a petty act of revenge. Celeste Cooper is fearless, pretty, popular—everything Mia wishes she could be. The next day, Celeste is reported missing. And Mia realizes that it might have been her fault. Wracked with guilt, she joins the search, determined to make up for her mistake. But as she grows closer to Celeste’s family, Mia can’t help but feel she’s being watched… What if Celeste’s disappearance has more to do with Mia than she realizes? And if she keeps digging, does she risk being dragged back into the dark forever? Prepare to be gripped by the pulse-pounding new psychological thriller from USA Today bestselling author Carey Baldwin. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl will be totally addicted to Her First Mistake.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Her First Mistake' by Carey Baldwin.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Carey Baldwin, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 30th April 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It was previously published with the title 'I Know What You Did', I think the new title works much better with the storyline.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl will be totally addicted to Her First Mistake.' I am a huge fan of 'The Girl On The Train' and 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 43 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in San Diego, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Mia Thornton. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is very well written and the vivid descriptions completely absorb the reader from beginning to end. The cover and synopsis work well with the storyline.


The storyline is absolutely captivating as well as realistic. Throughout the storyline I kept questioning myself on what I thought was going on and was completely blown out of the water when I discovered who was actually behind everything. A huge congratulations is in order to Casey, its getting harder and harder to shock me and just when I thought I had sussed it all out BANG I was completely blind sighted! The storyline was packed full of mystery, suspense, lies and was an excellent psychological thriller. The only thing I will say is that there was an awful lot going on with two characters which I would have like to have read more about, I don't really want to say who I mean as it might go towards spoiling it for readers when finding out what happened but it did seem like more was going to come of their story and then didn't. The storyline was quite unique in what Mia was going through and I would be interested in reading more of Carey's books. It is also quite thought provoking and makes you wonder what you would do in Mia's position and also makes you realise how one small thing can make such a huge difference.


The characters were strong, well defined and realistic. I am still not sure how I felt towards Mia though. There were times I really felt sorry for her especially with how cruel the teachers were bullying her in the book club session, I really felt for her. However, at other times she went from being this strong woman who I praised for her strength and determination and then completely flipping personalities to somebody who was quite weak and needy. Overall though I did feel sorry for what she went through and continued to go through and it can't have been nice for her to have such big gaps in her memory. I also felt sympathy towards another character mentioned right at the end who was judged wrongly by other characters as well as myself. I won't say who again due to spoiling things but once read I'm sure you will know who I mean.


Overall an intriguing psychological thriller that will keep you on your toes.


Genres covered in this book include Psychological Fiction, Thriller, Suspense and Psychological Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Girl On The Train', 'Gone Girl' and anyone looking for an action packed psychological thriller.



315 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@CareyBaldwin @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


By day Carey is a dedicated pediatrician. By night she's a USA Today bestselling and award winning author of edgy suspense. In addition to her MD, Carey also holds a PhD in clinical psychology. She loves reading and writing stories that keep you off balance and on the edge of your seat. In her spare time she enjoys hiking and chasing wildflowers.

For all news and updates:






Buy Link:


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page