top of page

'Her Final Prayer' by Kathryn Casey

Book Description:


Her pulse pounded in her ears as she scanned the house. Her eyes traveled over the porch where three empty chairs lazily rocked in the breeze, surrounded by scattered children’s toys. In the yard, there were mounds of earth. Graves. Only big enough for children…


When Detective Clara Jefferies is called to a family ranch just outside of Alber, Utah, she’s horrified to find two innocent young children murdered alongside their mothers. But she arrives at the scene quickly enough to rush their father, Jacob Johansson, to hospital where he begins fighting for his life, and to save his two-month-old son Jeremy, left untouched in his crib.


As Clara begins to investigate, nothing she finds out makes sense. Though she uncovers photos of one of Jacob’s wives in his best friend’s trailer, her flower necklace underneath his bed, there are rumors that she was in love with a different man altogether. And as the close-knit community comes together to support Jacob, Clara’s own family shut her out of the investigation…


But Clara won’t give up. With the killer still at large, baby Jeremy is at risk, and every moment her family are helping Jacob they are also in danger. To earn her family’s trust, Clara finally has to face the past, but can she do it before it’s too late?


Impossible to put down, Her Final Prayer is perfect for readers of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot. You’ll race through the pages until the final heart-pounding twist.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Her Final Prayer' by Kathryn Casey.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 3rd October 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It is the second book in the 'Detective Clara Jefferies' series. Although this book is second in a series it can be read as a standalone, as I did quite easily.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing and beautiful cover and interesting sounding blurb. I was also drawn to the fact that the blurb stated it was perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot. I am a big fan of both so it will be very interesting to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 40 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is mainly written in first person perspective with the protagonist being Detective Clara Jefferies. I enjoy books written in first person perspective as as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. There are also chapters written from Max's perspective in third person narrative. I really enjoyed that the books was mixed first and third party narrative as it gave the best of both worlds, feeling as though your being spoken directly to whole having the overview from another characters perspective. It helps paint a bigger picture.


This book is based in Utah, US 🇺🇸.


This book is very well written and sucked me straight into the storyline. It had great descriptions which helped me picture everything easily. I enjoyed that the perspective of Clara was written from first person perspective and Max as third person. I haven't seen this done in anither book yet and I think it was done extremely well with no mix ups and giving the reader a much larger insight of what was going on from different perspectives. I thought it was very helpful that some of the descriptions of medical terms were explained in layman terms as it helps readers understand what they mean if they don't understand.


I really enjoyed the characters and lied their strong personalities. I loved that Clara speaks about victims as people using their names and visualises alot which helps to set the scenes. I also love the fact that there is a strong female lead, being female myself this is always a bonus!! I also liked Max and how he supported Clara and I look forward to seeing more of how their relationship develops.


The storyline was action packed and filled with mysteries and twists and turns. It kept me up until late turning the pages. Just when I thought I could put it down for the night BOOM another surprise was just around the corner!! I didn't guess who the killer was so definitely bonus points there!! I read alot of crime books so I'm finding it harder to be surprised but I did not expect that one coming.i also found that the storyline about Elijah's people was quite interesting and I was glad it explains some of their "rules" per say.


I would love to see this turned into a movie and am looking forward to reading the next book in this explosive series.


Overall a fast paced psychological crime thriller that will keep you up late at night guessing and turning the pages.


Genres covered include Romance, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Police Procedural and Crime Fiction.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Melinda Leigh, C. L Taylor and Kendra Elliot.


336 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KathrynCasey @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


A novelist and award-winning journalist, Kathryn Casey is the author of eleven highly acclaimed true crime books and the creator of the Sarah Armstrong mystery series. Library Journal picked THE KILLING STORM as one of the best mysteries of 2010. Her latest true crime, IN PLAIN SIGHT, investigates the Kaufman County prosecutor murders, a case that made worldwide headlines. Casey has appeared on Oprah, 20/20, the Today Show, Good Morning America, the Biography Channel, Reelz, The Travel Network, Investigation Discovery, and many other venues. Ann Rule called Casey “one of the best in the true crime genre.”



Twitter: @KathrynCasey





Buy Links:






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

留言

評等為 0(最高為 5 顆星)。
暫無評等

新增評等
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page