top of page

Her Enemy by Emma Tallon. Review


Title:  Her Enemy


Author:     Emma Tallon


Publication day: July 7th 2023

 


HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY EMMA!!!

 


 

Description:

 

Fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers are in for a treat with this absolutely heart-stopping, gripping gangland crime thriller from bestselling author Emma Tallon.


Scarlet Drew has one rule: never back down. But when an anonymous letter turns up at her house telling her they know what really happened the night her cousin Ruby died, Scarlet’s heart races. If they know what happened to Ruby, then they know that Scarlet was there – a secret she has kept guarded from the rest of her notorious family, and for good reason.


Her aunt Lily is the formidable boss of one of London’s biggest crime firms and if she discovers the truth about Ruby’s death, Scarlet knows she’ll be cast out of the family for good. Or worse, if her cousin Cillian finds out, he’ll hunt her down and kill her with his bare hands…


Unaware of Scarlet’s dangerous situation, Lily and Cillian move forward with a plan to execute their most daring heist yet. But with big reward comes unthinkable danger and they need everyone’s full focus on the job, if they’re to pull it off.


So failure is not an option for Scarlet – if she’s to stay alive and on top, she must find out who wrote the note, but time is running out. As she closes in on her nemesis, she’s shocked to discover that it’s someone she’s trusted her whole life. Loyalty means everything to Scarlet, and this is a betrayal like no other. One thing is certain: this is her most dangerous enemy yet, and as time runs out, Scarlet knows it’s either her life or theirs…

 



BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Her Enemy' by Emma Tallon.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Emma Tallon, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 7th July 2024.



This is the sixth book I have read by this author. It is also the sixth book in the 'Drew Family' series but can be read as a standalone. I have also read 'Her Revenge' (book 1),'Her Rival' (book 2), 'Her Betrayal' (book 3), 'Her Payback' (book 4) and 'Her Fight' (book 5) and I absolutely loved each one and would highly recommend this addictive series.


OMG EMMA!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME!!! YET AGAIN, WHAT AN ABSOLUTELY EXPLOSIVE BOOK AND BOMBSHELL CLIFFHANGER ENDING!!! I HOPE YOU'VE WRITTEN YOUR NEXT BOOK BECAUSE I CANNOT WAIT!!!



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions and the perfect atmosphere for the STORYLINE. The descriptions really emerge the reader into the storyline making your heart race and the hair on your arms raise. The synopsis and cover work perfectly with the book cover.



The book is yet another gripping and addictive gangland thriller from the very first page until the last. I was absolutely hooked throughout with the suspense and tension filled plot. I enjoyed delving back into the underworld and getting to know more about the Drew family worked within the family, the underworld and all the other gangs. The storyline was intricately woven with so many sub plots that kept me completely engaged throughout. The way Emma has written it really helps your imagination picture everything going on. It is filled with laughter, love, crime, loss, shocks, twists and one hell of an explosive ending!!! I was absolutely on the edge of my seat, biting my nails with a pounding heart throughout this absolutely gripping and addictive book!!! I have absolutely loved each and every book in this series but I must say this has definitely got to be the best. It is the most heart racing and nail biting and OMG the emotions I was going through!! I screamed, shouted, cried, my nails are bitten down so there's nothing left and I have been on the edge of my seat constantly. The ending just completely left me mind blown and I am ABSOLUTELY dreading and yet excited for and unable to wait for the next book which I just know is going to be another absolute explosive bombshell! This really is one of the best series I have ever read and I love knowing that each and every book gets better and better with more explosions, tension, action and suspense to come. The Drew family are now hiding secrets from each other and the cracks are starting to show. Will this latest bombshell be the one to blow them apart? Teasing you much? What are you waiting for grab your copy today. I'm also intrigued by what another person is up to and how it's all going to play out. I just ABSOLUTELY LOVE this family and this series and I cannot wait to get stuck in to the next book!! Chop, chop Emma I'm waiting!!!


DO NOT EVEN LOOK AT THE FIRST PAGE OF THIS BOOK UNLESS YOU HAVE CLEARED YIUR SCHEDULES AS IT WILL SUCK YOU IN!!! IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GANGLAND CRIME SERIES YOU CAN SINK YOUR TEETH INTO THIS IS 100% THE BEST SERIES TO START!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!


Although this is the sixth book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I absolutely loved meeting the Drew family again as well as the other characters.. I never thought I would ever get THAT into a gangland crime book but OMG Emma you have completely proven me wrong. The Drew's have become like family and friends to me and I feel every emotion that they do. Scarlet is definitely a force to be reckoned with as is Lily and who doesn't love a strong kick @ss female in the crime world!! I was absolutely fascinated by all the businesses that she managed to keep afloat. I also enjoy reading about what Connor and Cillian got up to and having twins myself it's quite interesting to see how these twins worked. I am definitely excited to see how things go with Connor after his latest bombshell!! I loved both of their huge and hilarious yet serious when needed personalities and they slightly remind me of the Weasley twins from Harry Potter with their cheeky sides. The tension in this storyline is absolutely through the roof!! It has been absolutely heart breaking watching this once close family being torn apart and seeing different sides to them with less humour than normal. Every single character was strong and had their own unique personalities and each definitely left an impression on me. Regardless of whether I LOVED them or hated them they all came together to make this book and also this series exactly what it is and it is perfect the way it is!!!


I am looking forward to reading more of Emma's books and it would be intriguing to see them turned into movies. Emma, congratulations on yet another explosive hit and here's to your next success 🍻!!! This is EXACTLY why you are one of my favourite authors, this is one of my favourite series and the Drew's are definitely my favourite fictional family EVER!!!


Overall a must read, non stop, emotionally and action packed, explosive page turning, gripping and addictive adventure from the underworld that is one not to be missed!!!



394 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@HerEnemy @TheDrewFamilySeries @EmmaTallon @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger











Author Bio:


Emma Tallon is a British author of gripping, gritty, organised crime thrillers. With a number of bestsellers published by Bookouture since early 2017, Emma continues to write full time and has many ideas in the pipeline for future novels.



For more information on Emma or to join her mailing list, please go to: www.emmatallon.com




Buy link(s)










1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page