top of page

Her Dying Kiss by Jennifer Chase. Review


Book Description:


She wakes to the dawn light streaming through the window and rolls over to whisper good morning to her fiancé. But panic floods her veins. His side of the bed is empty and cold. Blood trails towards the open door. All trace of him is gone…


It’s been one month since Detective Katie Scott’s fiancé, Chad, went missing without a trace. Devastated Katie is still working tirelessly day and night to track down the love of her life, barely sleeping and chasing every new lead. But now the case has gone cold.


When the body of beautiful Gina Hartfield is discovered among the pine needles in a clearing on Lookout Ridge, Katie swallows her own pain and knows she must focus on finding Gina’s killer. The young woman was found with a pink velvet blindfold shading the hollows where her eyes had been removed. Katie is certain she is chasing a sadistic individual who will soon take another life…


But the autopsy reveals Gina’s body was washed before being abandoned, leaving no trace of evidence behind. And with no witnesses to Gina’s disappearance, the women of Pine Valley are terrified to go out alone.


Desperately combing the crime scene, when Katie sees a newspaper article about her previous cases pinned to a nearby tree, she is certain Gina’s murder is personal. Then tire tracks found in the forest are matched to a truck seen following Chad in the days leading up to his disappearance. Katie’s blood runs cold.


Is there a link between Chad’s disappearance and Gina’s brutal murder, or is the killer playing a twisted game with Katie? Can she find out the truth before they take another life?


A totally gripping serial killer thriller for fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh. Prepare to stay up all night with this nail-biting rollercoaster ride from USA Today and Amazon bestseller Jennifer Chase!





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Her Dying Kiss' by Jennifer Chase.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jennifer Chase, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 17th July 2023.


This is the sixth book I have read by this author. It is also the tenth book in her 'Detective Katie Scott' series. I have previously read 'Last Girls Alive' which is the fourth book in this series, 'The Fragile Ones' which is the fifth book in this series, 'Pretty Broken Dolls' which is the sixth book in the series, 'Silent Little Angels' which is the seventh book in the series and 'The Rose Girls' which is the ninth book in the series which I also recommend. All books can be read as standalones.


Wow!!! What can I say about this page turning, nail biting crime thriller!! It was absolutely fantastically written and had me completely hooked from the first page until the last. Fantastic descriptions that really painted the picture throughout and put me in the book.


The storyline itself was unique, fast paced and filled with nail biting suspension. It was packed with action and very importantly the storyline was believable. One of the things that I love best about this amazing book series is that it doesn't matter how long since you read the previous book Jennifer manages to sick you straight back into Katie's life as if you had only just closed the last page of the previous books. This book, jist like every book in this fantastic series, gripped me from the very first page until the last, had me on the edge of my seat throughout and I read it in one sitting as I just could not put it down and ended up carrying it everywhere with me!! I had no idea who the killer was so a HUGE WELL DONE Jennifer. It is getting harder and harder to shock me but you definitely did it this time. There were many red herrings throughout which did make me doubt myself at time. This book is filled with suspense, tension, mystery, lies, secrets, murder, gore and everything you could ask for in a psychological fiction. It kept me hooked throughout and I cannot wait to read more in this series, not only the ones after but the ones I have yet to read. The fact that Jennifer has done her research absolutely shines through so congratulations Jennifer. It is a pet hate of mine when authors don't do research into certain subjects as it spoils the storyline for me.


Clear your schedules before you start this page turner as you won't be able to put it down!!!


Although this is the tenth book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I really enjoyed meeting all the characters again especially Katie and Gav but also getting to meet several other characters. The characters were well defined and realistic. I loved the fact that there was a strong female role model, being female myself. Katie is definitely a very likeable character who is suffering ptsd and is a force to be reckoned with. I loved her relationship with her partner Gav who is also another great character. It is lovely to see partners (work partners) who work so perfectly together and have such a fantastic bond.I must admit that my favourite character has got to be Cisco by far. I loved how much we got to "see" him in this book and as a huge animal lover myself having animals included in books is always a bonus for me!!! However much I'm invested in Katie, Gav and Chad I'm hundred times more invested in the amazing K9 that is Cisco. This team work perfectly together to make me want to pick up book after book and turn page after page in this addictive series.


Congratulations Jennifer on yet another fantastic book. I cannot wait until your next one arrives!!! Keep up the amazing writing!!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and this is one of my favourite series, here's to your next success 🥂


Overall a nail biting, addictive, page turning suspense packed action crammed psychological thriller that keeps you on edge.



370 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £7.99 via Amazon, at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews







@HerDyingKiss @DetectiveKatieScott @JenniferChase @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @BookoutureBookClub @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited




















Author Bio:


Jennifer Chase is a multi award-winning and best-selling crime fiction author, as well as a consulting criminologist. Jennifer holds a bachelor degree in police forensics and a master’s degree in criminology & criminal justice. These academic pursuits developed out of her curiosity about the criminal mind as well as from her own experience with a violent psychopath, providing Jennifer with deep personal investment in every story she tells.


In addition, she holds certifications in serial crime and criminal profiling. She is an affiliate member of the International Association of Forensic Criminologists, and member of the International Thriller Writers.




Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Jennifer Chase here: https://geni.us/B097H5XLDVsocial







Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page