top of page

'He's Cancelled' by Sophie Ranald


Title: He's Cancelled

Author: Sophie Ranald

Publication date: June 23rd

ABOUT THE BOOK

When he proposed, I had to pinch myself. Up until then, his most romantic gesture was buying me a 128-piece tool kit. It’s normal to get cold feet, right? But what about a case of frozen get-me-the-heck-out-of-here feet? When Natalie’s boyfriend gets down on one knee (even if it’s because he trips and drops the ring) it’s meant to be the start of their happy ever after. But planning a wedding to Archie feels like she’s competing in the Hunger Games… She’s up against a mother-in-law who enforces a pre-wedding diet with portions you need a microscope for. She’s cornered by a bridesmaid-zilla sister-in-law who forces her old wedding dress on Nat, featuring satin bows, way too much tulle and a bodice that Nat doesn’t even have the boobs for. She fends off a best man who tries to kiss her by kneeing him in the crotch. And she has to defeat a pushy wedding planner who insists on peacocks, doves and pink flamingos at the ceremony. Nat would wear her battle scars with pride if Archie was by her side. But her fiancé is missing in action, refusing to help her deal with his diva family and going AWOL on the stag do. With just weeks to go, she might have to do the unthinkable… Is it too late to cancel? And if she’s not Archie’s bride-to-be then who on earth is she? A totally addictive romantic comedy for anyone who has a phobia of bridezillas and who makes the happiest memories during Happy Hour. Fans of rom coms by Sophie Kinsella, Shari Low and Mhairi McFarlane, and TV shows like Emily in Paris will be glued to the pages of this feel-good page-turner.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'He's Cancelled' by Sophie Ranald


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sophie Ranald, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 23rd June 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and its hilarious sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of rom coms by Sophie Kinsella, Shari Lowe and Lindsey Kelk, and movies like Bridesmaids will be glued to the pages of this feel-good page-turner.' I am a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella and the movie 'Bridesmaids' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 29 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are partly or fully set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited and gone on holiday in England on many occasions so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Natalie. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


What an absolutely fantastic laugh a minute must read!!! Absolutely loved it fairplay!!! This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline itself was absolutely unputdownable so make sure you clear your schedules before starting to read it!! I absolutely LOVED that each chapter began with a quiz on whether you were ready to get married or not and then that the chapter that followed answered it for Natalie. It was a fantastic touch and really worked well. Fans of the Bridget Jones books and movies will absolutely lap this one up!!! It was a light hearted, easy read which made me laugh out loud so many times I lost count. The ending was completely unexpected so a HUGE well done Sophie as being a romcom it is easy to go down the predictable route but you completely avoided it!!! I also enjoyed the fact that towards the end of the book it becomes the reality that we have all been living in during these days of lockdown which makes the storyline even more realistic than it already was.


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them especially Natalie who I thought was a fantastic female role model!!! Much more realistic than many romances I have previously read. Natalie is no stay at home wife, enjoys her football and has such a likeable personality. I'm so glad that the book ended the way it had for them. It wasn't only Natalie I was invested in nor Archie alone. I also really enjoyed 'meeting' Poppy, Freya, Daisy, Keith, Yvette, Emma, Robin and Max. I absolutely adored Natalie's relationship with both her Mum and Grandad and who can forget the feisty Teresa!!


A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Sophie on a HUGE success!!! I loved every page of your book and I cannot wait to read more past and future. Welcome to my top 3 favourite romcom authors list!!


Overall an unputdownable laugh a minute light hearted romcom that will have you staying up late at night to finish it.



Genres covered in this book include Romance Novel, Humorous Fiction, Contemporary Romance and Domestic Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sophie Kinsella, Bridget Jones, Bridesmaids movie and anyone looking for a good laugh.



288 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SophieRanald @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Sophie Ranald is the youngest of five sisters. She was born in Zimbabwe and lived in South Africa until an acute case of itchy feet brought her to London in her mid-20s. As an editor for a customer publishing agency, Sophie developed her fiction-writing skills describing holidays to places she'd never visited. In 2011, she decided to disregard all the good advice given to aspiring novelists and attempt to write full-time. After one false start, It Would Be Wrong to Steal My Sister's Boyfriend (Wouldn't It?) seemed to write itself, and six more novels have followed. Sophie also writes for magazines and online about food, fashion, finance and fitness. She lives in south-east London with her amazing partner Hopi and their two adorable cats. To find out about Sophie's forthcoming releases and get access to free books and special offers, sign up to her newsletter at sophieranald.com or www.facebook.com/SophieRanald








BUY LINKS



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page