top of page

'Greece Actually' by Sue Roberts


Book Description:


Take one sea-view villa, add two dates with a Greek God, a few glasses of wine, a dash of accidental nudity, and a heavy dose of sunshine. Recipe for a perfect getaway… or an absolute disaster? Small, shy, safe. That’s how Becky lives ever since her last romantic calamity landed her in hospital. Her comfort zone is as confining as her tiny bank balance, and fiercely guarded by her totally over-the-top mum. But the news that her ex is back sniffing round is the final straw. In a very un-Becky move, she packs her bags for the Greek island of Skiathos. Maybe the setting of her favourite ABBA movie will be just the break from reality Becky needs… Stepping aboard the Mamma Mia! boat tour, Becky leaves her fear in the port as she sings… out loud… in public, and cries Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! to everything the Greek life has to offer. She befriends locals young, old, and absolutely perfect (hello, sizzling hot restaurant-owner Kyros!), dines on freshly baked bread drizzled in golden olive oil on a starlit date, and walks barefoot along silky sandy beaches. When Kyros asks her to stay longer, Becky is stunned. Could she really create a new life for herself here, and trust her heart with this smooth-talking charmer? But just as she’s thinking about putting down roots, her troublesome ex makes a dramatic return, begging for her back. Will she go back to playing it safe, or will she take a chance on Greece and embrace her true dancing queen? An absolutely laugh-out-loud summer rom-com guaranteed to give you THAT holiday feeling! Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Greece Actually' by Sue Roberts.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sue Roberts, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 13th August 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Going Greek' which I also recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover, its intriguing synopsis and title and its extremely talented author. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.' I am a huge fan of Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Sue Roberts and if this is half as good as 'Going Greek' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 35 chapters and an epilogue . The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England, UK 🇬🇧 and Greece 🇬🇷 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited England on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Becky. This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Sam. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


Awww another absolutely fantastically gorgeous book Sue, Well done!!!!


This book is beautifully written and completely absorbs you in the stunning atmosphere of Greece and really sucks you in with the vivid descriptions leaving you feel the warmth of the the sun and smell of the sea. The synopsis and cover suits the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is authentic and realistic as well as easy to read and heartwarming. There was plenty of events going on throughout and it kept me hooked from start to end, I read it in one sitting. The storyline was filled with a range of emotions and was heartwarming, devastating and had love, relationships, family, friendship and history all going on in this beautiful atmosphere. It felt like a lovely break away from a rainy Wales!! I loved how the story ended and I would love to read more about the life in this gorgeous Greek village. I was absolutely devastated when I can to the end of this book as I was truly whisked away to Greece feeling the sand on my feet and looking at the stunning views. I absolutely LOVED all the Mamma Mia references which definitely helped with the visualisation. The storyline was so heartwarming and it was such an easy and relaxing read with moments of laughter, some tension and overall happiness. It ended absolutely perfectly and I would love to see what Becka decides to do in the end. This would make a lovely series. An absolutely gorgeous book!! I cannot wait to go on my next Greek adventure with the very talented Sue Roberts. I absolutely adored being in Greece but I also enjoyed learning and reading about Becka's shop and meeting her Mum and Dad who I absolutely adored how supportive they were of Becka and all she was doing. I thought Becka's shop was adorable and definitely somewhere I would visit if u came across it. I thought the friendship between Becka and Sheila was sweet and how Becka was constantly concerned for Sheila being in the market during the colder months.


The characters were all unique with their own realistic traits, strengths and weaknesses. It was intriguing to watch Becka and Kyros's relationship grow, develop and change throughout the the storyline. It was also intriguing to see how not only Becka and Kyros's relationship change throughout the book but also Becka's friendships and relationship with Paige, Abby and Uncle Henry. I loved meeting them along with Alex. The friendship between the girls was beautiful and it must be amazing to have such friendships where they supported each other so much. Kyros is an absolute sweetheart and such a romantic that I started falling in love with him myself. I loved the adorable hideaway he found for her and how thoughtful he was arranging the girls a night out. Anyway, I best not say anymore as don't want to give anything else away for future readers!! It's just so easy talking about this fantastic book and so much I want to tell you all about but i really need to control myself!!! Needless to say I absolutely adored everyone apart from a certain person. All characters worked perfectly with the storyline and I would love to meet them again and hope to see this made into a series or even a movie!!!


Well done Sue on another absolutely gorgeous book!!! I will definitely be looking for your books any time I need to be swept off to another country!!!


Overall a perfect light hearted unputdownable romance that will sweep you off your feet and land you in Greece.



Genres covered in this novel include Romance Novel , Humorous Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Humour and Holiday Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jenny Colgan, Sophie Kinsella and anyone who needs a holiday!!



278 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SueRoberts @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio:


Sue Roberts lives in Lancashire with her long term partner Derek and has had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11. She always assumed that ‘one day’ she would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten. The inspiration for her first novel came to her on a holiday to a Greek village. Her daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book! https://www.instagram.com/suerobertsauthor/ https://twitter.com/suerobertsautho



Buy Links:







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page