top of page

'Gone Before' by Sam Hepburn

Title: Gone Before

Author: Sam Hepburn

PUBLICATION DAY: Oct 12th 2020


Description:


‘My name is Phoebe Locklear. I think I’m your daughter.’


I rehearse the words as I walk up the path, clutching a faded old photograph of a little girl with thick dark hair.


When I knock, the door opens, and there she is: the woman I believe is my mother. The woman whose five-year-old daughter disappeared fifteen years ago.


Had I known what would happen next, would I have knocked on that door? Would I take back the lives I’ve destroyed?


But now that I’ve started, there’s no going back. I can’t stop until I find out who I really am.


Even if the truth could kill me.


Twisty, addictive and utterly unputdownable, Gone Before asks what happens when your whole life turns out to be a lie. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Gone Girl and The Silent Patient.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Gone Before' by Sam Hepburn.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 12th October 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. I am definitely looking forward to reading more!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing colourful cover and interesting sounding blurb. The fact that it states on Amazon that the book is perfect for fans of Mark Edwards also drew me in as I'm a big fan of his books. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a 35 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonist being Phoebe/Maya. I enjoy books written in first person perspective as as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


This book is based in Provence, France 🇫🇷 and London 🇬🇧.I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times.


Wow!!! Well, Well, Well where to even start on this one???


An extremely well written book which reads very smoothly and has fantastic descriptions which really grip your imagination. I loved the newspaper headlines included to show the 'worlds' opinion on what was going on and thought they were placed perfectly and helped to see the bigger picture. I also enjoyed the flashbacks throughout that were well placed and again helped with the bigger picture.


The storyline itself was quite unique and was absolutely gripping!! It kept me up until I could barely keep my eyes open and even then only had to call it a night knowing my kids would wake up in a few hours!!! Very fast paced and action packed it is rammed full with twists, turns, deceit, red herrings, love, loss, mystery and I could go on, everything you want in a psychological crime thriller. A true page turner that kept me guessing until the unexpected twist at the end!!


The characters were all perfect for the storyline and I loved Phoebe/Maya's personality and strength, can't beat a strong female lead in a book!! They all seemed to have a mystery about them that made you continuously question myself while drawing me in. This book would make an absolutely gripping movie and I would love to read more about what happens next!! I am looking forward to reading more of this very talented authors books!!


Overall an absolutely gripping psychological thriller which will keep you up late at night turning the pages and biting your nails!!!


Genres covered include Suspense, Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Crime Fiction and Psychological Fiction.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as ANYONE looking for a good read with a fantastic twist you won't see coming.


312 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SamHepburn @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Sam Hepburn read modern languages at Cambridge University and, after a brief spell in advertising, joined the BBC as a General Trainee. She worked as a documentary maker for twenty years and was one of the commissioners for the launch of BBC Four. Since then, she has written several books, including psychological thrillers Gone Before and Her Perfect Life, and novels for young adults and children. She won the 2017 CWA Margery Allingham Short Story award and has been nominated for several other prestigious prizes, including the CILIP Carnegie Medal for her YA thrillers.


Sam has worked and travelled widely in Africa and the Middle East, and is a trustee of the Kenyan’s children’s charity, I Afrika. She now lives in London with her husband and children.


Author Social Media Links:




FACEBOOK:





BUY LINKS:




Apple: http://ow.ly/vZFe50AxCta



Kobo: http://ow.ly/HCyG50AxCru




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page