top of page

'Girls Don't Cry' by Peter Kesterton

Book Description


A decade after his young daughter’s murder, a grief-stricken father’s need for justice puts his own life in danger as events spiral out of control . . .


Ever since Caitlin Grady was released from prison, Darren has been tormented by rage and injustice. He finds himself venting online, where a stranger befriends him—and encourages him to seek revenge.


But Caitlin no longer goes by that name. She has been given a new identity and is living quietly, dreading exposure as the tabloids—with help from her publicity-hungry mother—try to hunt her down. And having committed the crime at age eleven, Caitlin struggles as an adult on her own, out in the world beyond prison walls.


Will Darren manage to track Caitlin down, and if he does, will he be able to carry out his plans?






BLOG TOUR REVIEW 



Review for 'Girls Don't Cry' by Peter Kesterton. 



Read and reviewed for Peter Kesterton, Heather Fitt and Bloodhound Publishers. 



Publication date 22nd February 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author. It most certainly won't be my last!!! 



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bloodhound Books. I have yet to read a book published by Bloodhound Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).




This novel consists of 50 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Bristol, Swindon, Westcliffe Chippenham, Gloucestershire, The Cotswolds, London, Yeovil and Devon, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays in several of these location on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Peter has based the book on.



This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists is are Darren Burgess and Caitlyn Grady. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Girls Don't Cry' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this Peter discusses kidnap and murder of a child. 



OMG!!! SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!!! WHAT HAVE I JUST READ!?!?!? Peter Kesterton you are a writing legend!!! This may be the first book I have read by you but it most certainly won't be the last!! 




Wow!!! Well fair play the first thing I must say is congratulations to Peter Kesterton on a HUGE success!! Absolutely blooming fantastic!! I have never had my perceptions changed so much by a book and left thinking for so long afterwards. This book will stay on my mind for a very long time!! Anyway on with my review.... 



This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all feeling the sea breeze in your hair, the heat of the flames and tasting the ocean salt.


WOW!!! OMG!!! WTF?!? THIS HAS TO WIN THE BEST BOOK OF 2023 AWARD FOR ME SO FAR!!! 



An absolutely huge success by Peter!! Thir book has left my mind whirling and still just mind blown!!! This is one of THOSE books that I think will stay with me for a long time, if not life!! It is absolutely unique and surprisingly thought provoking!!! It is an absolute must read!!! This book has got to be one of the most heart racing books I've read in a long time!!! It had me hook, line and sinker from the first page and I could not put it down!!! Every time I said one more chapter it ended on a cliff-hanger and I just had to know what was going on!!! I just could not put it down finishing at 2am this morning!! If you are going to read this then clear your day because it is truly unputdownable. I read it in one sitting and although I'm knackered today it was 1000000% worth it!!!  It is filled with family, revenge, loss, murder, lies, regrets, secrets, twists, turns and everything you could want from a psychological thriller along with some MASSIVE BOMBSHELLS which will leave you absolutely shocked!!! I for one was NOT expecting any of that at all!!! A true page turner, this book is absolutely compelling with an addictive storyline that kept me guessing throughout. I was continuously questioning who was in the wrong and what I would do in that situation!! I am a mum of 3 boys myself and this would be my absolute worse nightmare and I was shivering just thinking about it and shaking in rage for Darren. It was filled with suspense, drama, secrets, explosive twists, family, regret, revenge and so, so much more. I loved the ending and thought it fitted perfectly. The storyline is realistic and believable making it easy to picture what is going on. Great descriptions throughout the book really put the readers in the story and gives them a good feeling of what is going on. Many times I felt the ocean breeze in my hair and smell the salty sea. I loved exploring all the different areas on the hunt for Cailyn with Darren and Jedd. It is an absolute rollercoaster ride of emotions and several times I felt tears running down my face so get the tissues ready!!! I have never done such a 360 on my feelings in a book, ever, but Peter managed it hook, line and sinker!! Filled with suspense, explosive bombshells and tension this book is one must read psychological thriller!! This book would make an absolutely amazing movie!!!! 

.

THE MUST READ BOOK OF 2023!! CLEAR YOUR SCHEDULES BEFORE READING THE FIRST PAGE AS THIS IS UNPUTDOWNABLE!! 


The characters were very realistic and well rounded and again their personalities reflected the storyline and how they would act, etc perfectly. The descriptions gave a really good in depth view of how Darren was feeling and what he was thinking. My heart truly went out to him for everything he went through in the past and was going through throughout the storyline. He had had to live his life with the guilt that he felt about losing his child. While he is suffering through this his anger builds and he wants an eye for an eye when he find out Caitlin has been released early. It is so hard to say too much without giving away anything that happens!!! I enjoyed watching all the character development and relationship changes throughout and along with Darren and Caitlin other memorable characters are Jedd, George, Kerry, Tracey and Bert. All of these characters are extremely memorable and Peter's writing skills ensure they jump out of the pages and come to life. I was shocked by several of their actions and attitudes. That is all I will say as I don't want to run the risk of dropping any hints or spoilers. However, whether you love or hate these characters, they all have their own strong unique personalities and they all bring the story to life playing their roles perfectly. 



Wow!! What an absolutely explosive and addictive start to what promises to be an action packed series!! Welcome to my top 3  favourite male author list Peter and here's to your next success 🥂!! 



Overall a page turning, gripping and thought provoking addictive psychological thriller that will have your heart racing and will blow your mind with the explosive twists. 



Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Noir Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, British Thriller, Domestic Drama, Psychological Suspense, Mystery, Women's Psychological Thriller, Crime Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Kidnapping Thriller, Women's Psychological Fiction, Hard-boiled, and Psychological Fiction amongst others. 



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl', Shari Lapena, Sheryl Browne, Sam Hepburn, Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards, K.L. Slater and absolutely anyone who loves a mind-blowing twist that you will never see coming!!! 



376 pages.



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 






@GirlsDontCry  @PeterKesterton  @BloodHoundBooks @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited 






  













Author Bio


I was born in Manchester and as an only child found company in books and stories. I moved to Bristol to go to university, and loved the city so much I stayed on after graduating. I landed a job as a technician at the BBC and worked on radio dramas. Not content with simply doing the sound effects, I decided to write my own radio play. Many years and drawers full of rejections later, I had my radio drama Heads You Win, Tales I Lose, broadcast on BBC Radio 4.


I went on to write stage plays, notably Air Guitar for the Bristol Old Vic Theatre and Playing with Snails which won the Croydon Warehouse International Playwriting competition 2011.


In 2019, I went to Bath Spa University as a mature student, undertaking an MA in creative writing. I graduated with distinction. Girls Don’t Cry was partially written on the course.


For more informtion visit: www.peterkesterton.com




Purchase Link
















28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page