top of page

'First Girl Gone' by L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain

Book Description:


Down the beach, she can just make out the rusting hulk of the Ferris wheel through the dawn mist. The hairs prickle on her neck as she drags her focus back to the chestnut hair fanned out in the shallow water at her feet, to the grains of sand decorating the beautiful girl’s white cheeks like freckles.


Detective Charlie Winters never thought she’d find herself back on Salem Island, but she’s forced home re-open the wound that never healed: her sister was abducted from the small town when they were teenagers. But now a family friend needs her help to find her missing daughter, Kara.


Searching Kara’s messy, poster-covered bedroom, Charlie finds more questions than answers. Did Kara run away, or was she snatched? She’s clearly been keeping secrets from her family—but don’t all teenagers?


A little black matchbook hidden in a jewellery box is Charlie’s only lead, but the seedy nightclub it comes from proves to be nothing but a dangerous dead end. Until Charlie is approached by a second distraught mother whose daughter has also vanished.


Forced at every turn to relive the trauma she ran away from, Charlie’s blood runs cold when a girl’s body is discovered in the exact spot on the water’s edge where the last trace of her sister was found. It’s clear someone is taunting Charlie, but with other innocent girls’ lives at risk, she has no choice but to take the bait…


An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller that will leave you gasping for breath. Fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Lisa Regan will need to sleep with the lights on!





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'First Girl Gone' by L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 18th September 2020


This is the first book that I have read by either of these authors. It is also the first book in the 'Detective Charlotte Winters' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and interesting sounding blurb. The write up also stated that fans of Angela Marsons (along with others) will need to sleep with the light on. I'm a huge fan of Angela Marsons so I wanted to see if it lived up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 94 chapters and an epilogue which are short to medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Detective Charlie Winters. I enjoy books written in third person as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


This book is based in the US.


I must admit I was quite dubious to begin as I didn't really like the way it was written with several one word sentences but it wasn't long before I became hooked and found the writing improved. It was only the prologue written like that and as it was from a victims perspective I think it was done like this on purpose, it just wasn't my cup of tea. The rest of the book was written differently and I couldn't put it down.


The storyline was very fast paced and action packed as well as being full of suspense and mystery. It was very descriptive and I found myself completely absorbed in it. I must say I wasn't completely shocked when I found out who the perp was but it wasn't necessarily obvious, I just had a feeling.


I thought the characters were very strong and I look forward to reading more about Charlotte along with the others. I was disappointed with what happened with Will, can't say I blame her though after what he did. I loved the fact the main character was a strong female and seem to connect more when this is the case.


Overall an action packed, suspense filled crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages.


Genres covered include Crime Thriller, Mystery and Murder,


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, C.L TAYLOR and Carol Wyer.


429 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LTVargus @TimMcBain @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R





Author Bio:


L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain are the authors of the Violet Darger series and The Scattered and the Dead series among others, which have collectively tallied over a million downloads. Their book, Dead End Girl, peaked at #3 in the US Kindle charts and has remained in the top 10 in multiple sub-categories since it was published in 2017.


https://ltvargus.com/

https://www.facebook.com/ltvargusbooks/

https://twitter.com/ltvargus







Buy Links:


Amazon: https://bit.ly/3m81ebE

Apple: https://apple.co/2NQmRh3

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2BNOBzU

Google Play: https://bit.ly/2YEEhmW




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page