top of page

'First Degree Murder' by M.J Weatherall

Book Description


From the author of Silent Is The Crown!


Matty Darcy is a Criminology and Psychology student in the quaint university village of Ambleside. She has survived the normal dramas of student life such as shared living, assignments, heartbreak and friendships. But this year takes the drama to a whole new level when her fellow students start mysteriously dying.


Matty takes it upon herself to catch the killer with the help of local Police Officer, and heartthrob, P.C Nicholas Wilde and her ex-boyfriend Dean. It is a race against the clock to work out who’s killing students, and why.


Matty soon finds out more than she has bargained for… enough to make her the next target!



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'First Degree Murder' by M.J Weatherall.


Read and reviewed for M.J Weatherall, Blossom Spring Publishing and Zooloo's Book Tours.


Publication date 23rd November 2022. .


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its fascinating synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Blossom Spring Publishing. I have yet to read a book published by Blossom Spring Publishing that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This book is based in Ambleside, Lake District, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I actually live in Wales so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise any places mentioned.


This book is written first person perspective and the main protagonists is Matty (Matilda) Darcy(Matilda Darcy). The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.


I was absolutely absorbed throughout this page turner. It is filled with tension, friendship, secrets, romance, alcohol, suspense and omg the twist!!! I absolutely loved the fact that it was written in a diary format which gave us so much insight into how Matty was thinking and feeling throughout. It also brings the reader close to her and pulls her out of the pages so it feels that she is sitting opposite you telling you her story over a cup of tea or glass of wine! The storyline was addictive and I just could not put it down leaving me reading it in one sitting. You lady have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books. The storyline is filled with shocks, suspense, romance, tension and so much more! There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. M.J's writing style and depth had me so engrossed that when I looked up it took me a moment to realise I was even reading!! Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! I was absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!! I thought the murders were quite unique which is important to me in a book and I loved the explosive ending which I did not expect!!! Congratulations M.J Weatherall it is getting harder and harder to surprise me but just when I though t I had worked out who the culprit was everything was spun around again and I found myself completely wrong. I loved the side stories that went along with the main storyline meaning we had a bigger picture of everyone's lives and what they got up to and who they had feelings for. There is also the romances between Matty, her ex boyfriend Dean, her friend Tommy and PC Nick. I also loved the fact that she was a psychology student as I am absolutely fascinated by psychology and have studied it myself.


Clear your schedules before even looking at the first page as you will not be able to put this book down!!!!



I was completely invested in both the storyline and the characters. Each of the characters had their own unique personalities and I felt differently about each of them. Matty is a strong and determined woman who refuses to back down when her friends start getting murdered even when it puts her at risk. She is kind hearted and is much more caring and compassionate about her cheating scum ex boyfriend dean after he cheated on her even agreeing to be friends. I could not stand him and I think that he didn't deserve her at all after what he did to her. As the saying goes he made his bed so he should learn to sleep in it... alone!!! Tommy is another one caught in a romance with Matty as their friendship grows throughout the book. I liked Tommy and would have been happy and think they would have made a nice couple. Matty is lucky to have such a lovely and strong friendship group who provides her with support and shoulders to cry on with Dee being her closest female friend and then Tommy from how I could see them all relate. PC Nick comes into the scene and you can see the electricity fly between himself and Matty throughout the book. I personally think they would make a lovely couple but who does Matty decide on? Are there any surviving by the end? You will just have to pick up your copy today to find out!! Regardless of how I felt about each of the characters, they all worked perfectly to make this is a fun, easy and page turning crime mystery for teens and adults alike. i think anyone who likes crime and is over 13 would love this fantastic book!!


Congratulations M.J on a true page turner! This may be the first book I have read by you but it most definitely will not be my last!! Here's to your next success 🥂


Overall an easy to read, fun, addictive page turner that will keep you guessing throughout.


Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Psychological Fiction, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Murder Fiction, Teen & Young Adult and Murder Thrillers amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl' , 'The Girl on The Train', Point Horror Books, 'The Wife Between Us', Point Mystery Books, Liane Moriarty, Lisa Jewell and anyone lover the age of 13 years old looking for an explosive crime mystery that will keep you hooked from the first page to the last!!

190 pages.


This book is just £2.50 to purchase on kindle and £8.85 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@FirstDegreeMurder @MJWeatherall @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @BlossomSpringPublishing @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R


https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/


https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86 https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86





Author Bio


M. J. Weatherall is one of those people who loves writing but always struggles to write about herself. She always feel like she’s bragging (which in and of itself sounds like a brag according to her).


She is a young author from Sheffield who moved to the Lake District to get her BSc (Hons) degree in Outdoor Adventure and Environment. More recently she has qualified as a primary school teacher and is now fulfilling her calling as an educator.


M. J. loves climbing, kayaking and spending all her spare time in nature. A lifelong bookworm, she takes pride in growing her book knowledge (an asset to any pub quiz team to be sure!). She likes to think that she’s a fun person to be around…at the very least, her cat seems to think so.





Purchase Link


Amazon:









17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page