top of page

'First Date' by Sue Watson

Book Description:


She’s been waiting her whole life to meet a man like Alex. But he’s been waiting too. And once he has her, he’ll never let her go…


Hannah has done everything to make sure her life is safe and secure. A long way from her unstable childhood growing up in foster care, she’s content with her sweet, little, messy apartment and her satisfying job as a social worker. She quietly worries that, aged 36, she might never fall in love. But otherwise her life is where she wants it to be.


Until, encouraged by her best friend to join a dating app, she meets Alex. He’s irresistibly handsome. He loves the same music as her. The same food as well. They both dream of travelling the world but agree they’d be equally happy escaping to a cottage by the beach in Devon. Both of them would love to own a Labrador one day. It’s like he’s made for her. It’s like he’s too good to be true.


Hannah’s friends aren’t so sure about him. But Hannah thinks he’s perfect.


Which is good. Because Alex knows she’s perfect for him too. In fact, she’s exactly the girl he’s been looking for…


And nothing Hannah’s done to make her life safe will ever be enough.


A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller about dark obsession and internet dating. Fans of The Wife Between Us, Friend Request and Gone Girl will adore this unputdownable twisted love story.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'First Date' by Sue Watson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 16th October 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It most definitely will not be my last!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful and colourful cover and intriguing sounding blurb. The write up also stated that 'fans of Gone Girl will adore this unputdownable twisted love story' . I am a big fan of 'Gone Girl' so I am interested to see if this book lives up to it's standard. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 40 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in the Midlands, UK 🇬🇧. I always seem to get on with books that are set in the UK better as I am from Wales and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book. I have in fact visited the Midlands several times so hopefully it will make it easier to picture the settings.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Hannah. I enjoy books written in first person as it gives you more of a feel for the character and it feels like you are bonding over a cup of tea.


Well, well, well Wow!!! What an absolute cracker of a book!!! This book sucked me straight in from beginning to the explosive ending. It was very well written with excellent descriptions which put me straight into the storyline. The blog and the cover suited the book perfectly.


The storyline was fast paced and filled with drama and suspense. A very believable storyline which kept me on edge throughout. I loved all the twists and turns and throughout it kept me guessing what was going on and who was doing what. I would NEVER have guessed at the ending so a MASSIVE WELL DONE to Sue Watson. I have read many thrillers and it's getting harder and harder for me to be surprised so great job there. I loved the storyline and just loved everything about it. It was all done perfectly!!


THE characters were fantastic, solid and completely believable, or are they?? You just have no idea who to trust and wow was I blindsighted!! Even reading the revealing chapter I still wasn't sure who it was that was speaking. They all had such different and strong personalities and all suited the storyline perfectly.


Welcome to my favourite author list Sue!!!


Overall a compelling, page turning, mind blowing psychological thriller that will keep you up late at night.


Genres covered include Mystery and Psychological Thriller


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of good books and also fans of Carol Wyer and CL Taylor. Just ANYONE looking for a FANTASTIC read!!


336 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews

@SueWatson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.


Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written sixteen novels, and many have been translated into several languages. Sue is now exploring the darker side of life with her latest thrillers OUR LITTLE LIES, THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR, THE EMPTY NEST, THE SISTER-IN-LAW and FIRST DATE out on October 16th.


Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her family in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing - okay, procrastinating, eating too much confectionery, and watching 'My 600lb Life,' on the sofa.


more info visit Sue's website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/


Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks


Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter


Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3iFPlXs

Apple: https://apple.co/30CT0zP

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2F0FUny

Google: https://bit.ly/3klF2Kw

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

תגובות

דירוג של 0 מתוך 5 כוכבים
אין עדיין דירוגים

הוספת דירוג
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page