top of page

Finding Family At The Cornish Cove by Kim Nash. Review.


Book Description


Family is everything…


In the years since her death, Gemma has been running her late mother’s café with devotion, and

when an opportunity comes to buy out her next-door neighbour and expand, she jumps at the

chance.


She knows she will do her mother proud – keep her legacy going strong – but deep down she knows

there’s still something missing. With her mum in her mind more than ever, and the knowledge that

she may never start a family of her own, she can’t stop thinking about what life has in store for her.


But sometimes family are those you choose, or those who choose you! And with a growing

community of supporters cheering Gemma on – including some new faces at her blossoming bistro –

and maybe one in particular, will she really spend the rest of her life alone?





BLOG TOUR REVIEW




Review for 'Finding Family At The Cornish Cove' by Kim Nash.



Read and reviewed for Kim Nash, Boldwood Books, Book And Tomic and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.



Publication date 3rd October 2023.



This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Cornish Cove' series but can be read as a standalone. I have also read Hopeful Hearts At The Cornish Cove which is the first book in this gorgeous series and I would highly recommend reading it.



This novel consists of 41 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



'Finding Family At The Cornish Cove' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Kim discusses infertility.


What an absolute stunner from the extremely talented Kim!! Well done Kim on an absolutely beautiful and perfect read!! This is the ideal beach read where you could sit there and turn around and just imagine the town coming to life around you.



This book is extremely well written with beautiful descriptions that completely drew me in. The synopsis and the cover match the storyline perfectly!!


I was absolutely landed to get stuck into this book after falling in love with Driftwood Bay in the first book in this beautiful series. I just knew this one was going to be just as stunning and I was not let down!!! The storyline itself completely swept me away. I absolutely adored the storyline and getting to know the lives of so many different people, seeing their relationships and friendships change and see how they react to secrets, heartache, changes, romance and everything else that goes on in this absolutely fantastic read!! I've not long got home from Cornwall and missed it before I read this book but OMG Kim has made me want to jump in the car and go straight back now!!! Kim's evocative writing skills ensures the readers are absolutely sucked into the stunning storyline with the atmosphere and characters coming to life all around them.. I absolutely fell in love venturing back into Cornwall and Kim portrays life in a small town absolutely perfectly I became so invested in this book that it actually felt like going on a holiday and I absolutely dreaded coming to the end where I had to unpack my suitcase and get back to reality. It was an absolutely compelling and addictive heart lifting read that kept me turning the pages until late at night. I loved discovering the pasts and histories of the characters and the town and I was absolutely swept away in the story line. The town came to life around me and I cannot wait to return in the next book in this absolutely stunning series. This book really was an emotional rollercoaster ride that left me cheering on for Gemma, Jude and Occy, wanting to throttle Lucas, laughing out loud at many of the things the characters came out with and I ended up spitting out my tea on so many occasions I gave up attempting to drink while reading it at all!!! I have had an absolute week from hell and this book is exactly what the doctor ordered and it's made me feel so much happier and lighter so thank you so much Kim!!! This book is escapism at its best and is a perfect way to disappear into an amazing world for a while. It is one of those books that I just could not put down and drive everyone mad by walking around reading it every chance I got and ended up devouring it in one sitting!! This book would make an absolutely gorgeous movie which I would absolutely love to see!!


An absolutely gorgeous, page turning and addictive addition to a stunning series!! Don't even peek into this book until you've cleared your schedules as you won't be able to put it down!!


Although this is the second book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I was completely invested in the characters, along with the storyline, who were all, well almost all, absolutely fantastic with their own individual personalities and quirks. Every one of the characters had a part to play and they were all completely unforgettable. I absolutely loved meeting some of the characters from the first book in this series Hopeful Hearts At The Cornish Cove along with some amazing new characters!!!

The characters I had previously met had already become like friends to me and it was lovely to add some more!!! I felt like I was leaving amazing people and friends and feel quite sad about that but am happy in the knowledge that this book is just the second book in this stunning series and I just can't wait to get stuck into more of these gorgeous books. I loved watching how so many characters and personalities from Driftwood develop and go from strength to strength from the first page to the last. I loved watching relationships change and develop and seeing how close knit many of them are. My heart completely went out to Gemma who had been left broken hearted by her scummy ex after he cheated on her after she discovered she couldn't have children. This is heartbreaking for any woman but Kim has managed to include this topic in this book sensitivity while highlighting the difficulties someone who can't have children may feel. I absolutely adored seeing her to from strength to strength and found her to be such an amazing,strong and independent woman who I rooted for throughout. I'd previously met both Gemma and Lucy in the first book but it was amazing to discover more about them in this book. I also fell in love with Jude who was struggling with his teenage daughter Occy who was also struggling with her own problems. There are so many wonderful characters that I could go on and on but this review is long enough!!! I'll quickly mention some of the characters who also made an impact on me. These included Gemma's amazing sister Lucy (an absolutely amazing and supportive sibling friendship!!), Meredith (who I loved meeting again and was an amazing friend to Gemma), Lydia (Meredith's mum who I also loved meeting again) and Clem (another fantastic character I met again) and Violet (another amazing character I loved meeting again). They all made me laugh, swoon, angry, cry, joyous and much more!!! Regardless of whether you love them or hate them all of these characters work perfectly together to make this a stunning page turner and I cannot wait to return to Driftwood to meet them again!!



Congratulations Kim on yet absolutely gorgeous success!!! I'm definitely looking forward to my next holiday to Cornwall and cannot wait for the next book in this series!!! This is the exact reason you are in my favourite author club and here is to your next success 🥂 !!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Kim's 'Hopeful Hearts At The Cornish Cove' which is the first book in this series and one I have already read and if you enjoyed this book then I can guarantee you will love that one too. I would highly recommend reading it!!!


Overall this is a perfect, stunning, page turning beach or fireplace read with an amazing gang of characters that will sweep you away to the gorgeous town of Driftwood from the very first page to the end!




270 pages.


This book is just £1.39 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £12.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@FindingFamilyAtTheCornishCove @CornishCove @KimNash @BoldwoodBooks @Boldwood @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited












Author Bio


Kim Nash is an author of uplifting, romantic, feel-good fiction, having wanted to write books since

she was a little girl. She works as both Digital Publicity Director for publisher Bookouture and a book

blogger at www.kimthebookworm.co.uk. She lives in Staffordshire with her son Ollie and English

Setter rescue dog Roni. When she's not working or writing, Kim can be found walking her dog and

reading, as well as running a book club in Staffordshire and organising local and national

reader/author events





Social Media Links





Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/KimNashNews





Purchase Link






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page