top of page

Fatal Lies by Anita Waller. Review


Book Description


For Matt Forrester, The Forrester Detective Agency is going from strength to strength: they’ve

expanded their office space and even hired a new office manager – a qualified and astute woman

named Carol.


What starts as a simple burglary case soon turns into something darker. The victim of said burglary

soon turns up dead, after engaging in threats with the local yobs she believed to have been

responsible.


But it soon becomes clear that there’s more at play here, and Matt – alongside sister Hermia, partner

Steve, and life partner Karen – will have to put all their skills to the test, even if it puts them in

danger…




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Fatal Lies' by Anita Waller.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Anita Waller, Boldwood, Book & Tonic and Rachel's Random Book Tours .



Publication date 17th October 2023


This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in her 'The Forrester Detective Agency Mysteries' series but can be read as a standalone. I have also previously read 'The Couple Across The Street' which I would also highly recommend!!



This novel consists of a 37 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


'Fatal Lies' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Anita discusses/includes violence to a child.


I absolutely LOVED this fast paced, gritty and unputdownable psychological thriller filled with non stop action and secrets!!!


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all making your heart pound and you constantly second guessing.



A huge success by Anita!!! This book had me hook, line and sinker from the first page and I could not put it down!!! Every time I said one more chapter it ended on a cliffhanger and I just had to know what was going on!!! This kept on happening over and over until before I knew it I had devoured the whole book in one sitting!! If you are going to read this then clear your day because it is truly unputdownable. I started this this morning and finished it at approx 2pm, reading it in one sitting. This is one of those fascinating books that will have you questioning the characters and yourself throughout!!! You have no idea who to believe and if any other of them can be trusted!!! There is plenty going on to keep the reader glued to the pages and I loved how Anita brought the multiple storylines together, weaving them together without giving too much away. I cannot wait to get stuck into the first book in this series along with future books. There was just constantly something going on and Anita's fantastic evocative descriptions brought absolutely everything to life in front of my eyes. The book starts with a break in at a family home but the storyline continues into murder, a runaway child, old cases, relationship problems, a break-in and a mysterious stalker plus so much more!!!! It is ram packed with twists, turns, murder, secrets, deceipt and surprises you'll never see coming. I definitely didn't and I have read hundreds of crime and psychological books so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS Anita!! It is getting harder and harder to surprise me but you managed it in this successful, chilling and page turning psychological thriller!!! Grab your copy and jump on the rollercoaster ride of secrets, family, suspense, chills, twists, thrills, mystery and everything you could ask for in an epic page turner!!!


Although this is the second book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I absolutely LOVED the majority of the characters and became completely invested in them immediately. Although this is only the first time I have met them they already feel like friends and I cannot wait to get stuck into the first book in this series which is called Fatal Secrets to get to know them from the beginning as well as looking forward to reading all the next books in this series. They are all very well developed and realistic and Anita's evocative descriptions ensure each of them come to life in front of your eyes. The main characters which lead the Forrester Detective Agency are Matt Forrester who is an EX DI, Steve Rowlands who is also a landscaper and Carol Flynn who is Matt and Steve's new PA And creator of Watson (which I absolutely LOVE the idea of!!!). I'm not going to go into too much detail about the characters as I don't want to give anything but these three are the main characters and each of them all have their own unique personalities and quirks. I love the bond and teamwork between them all and I cannot wait to continue getting to know them. Other important characters in this amazing series include Hermia (Steve's partner and Matt's Sister), DS Karen Nelson (Matt's partner), Becky (Matt's ex wife and Harry's mum), Harry (Matt and Harry's son) and Superintendent D!ckh3@d Brian Davis (Becky's new husband and lives up to his name!!!). Again, all of these characters are well developed and realistic and I loved the majority of them (no prizes for guessing the one I especially hated!!). Apart from a certain person I really cannot wait to meet them again. Congratulations Anita on creating an amazing group of memorable characters!!!




Congratulations Anita on another absolutely amazing page turner!!! I cannot wait to get stuck in to the first book in this series as well as more of your amazing books!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and here's to your next success 🥂!!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Anita's 'The Couple Across The Street' which I have actually read myself and if you enjoyed this book you will love that one!! I would definitely recommend it!!


Overall an addictive and gripping psychological thriller rammed with secrets and twists!!




282 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.32 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@FatalLies @TheForresterDetectiveAgencyMysteries @AnitaWaller @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic @theboldbookclub @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @NetGalley @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited












Author Bio


Anita Waller is the author of many bestselling psychological thrillers and the Kat and Mouse crime

series. She lives in Sheffield, which continues to be the setting of many of her thrillers.



Social Media Links





Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/AnitaWallerNews







Purchase Link







9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page