top of page

'Everybody Lies' by Emily Cavanagh

Title: Everybody Lies

Publication Day – Oct 15th 2020

Author: Emily Cavanagh

Description:


It sometimes feels impossible to keep anything hidden in a place like Great Rock. But now they have found that poor girl down on the beach, I realize just how many secrets we’ve been keeping all along.


Evvy has lived on the island of Great Rock all her life. Every year, after the holidaymakers have departed, storms begin to roll in off the Atlantic and the island returns to the small group of locals who, like her, have decided to make it their home.


When a body is found on the snow-covered beach it sends shockwaves through this tight-knit community and rattles Evvy to her core.


The dead woman worked on the island the previous summer and it seems strange she would have been visiting so out of season. What drew her back and who was she meeting? When Evvy learns that her partner,Ian, was the last person to see her alive, the shadow of the murder falls far too close to home.


As the icy weather closes in, the island is cut off from the mainland, and Ian is taken into custody. Rumours about what is really going on in Great Rock reach fever pitch, as Evvy works to prove Ian’s innocence before it’s too late.


But there are things about the people she loves that Evvy doesn’t know or has chosen not to see. The truth might not save the life she has worked so hard to build for herself. Instead, it might tear it apart…


A tense and atmospheric emotional drama that will keep you guessing. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Diane Chamberlain and Sally Hepworth.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Everybody Lies' by Emily Cavanagh.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 15th October 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful and colourful cover and interesting sounding blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 41 chapters The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in the USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written from first person perspectives and the main protagonist are Caroline, Daisy and Evvy. I always enjoy reading books written from first person perspective as it feels like I get to know the character better and get a bigger picture of what is going on. It also creates more of a bond between yourself and the protagonist. I love that there are 3 protagonists in this book as it means you get to know each of them much more and get the larger picture of how they are feeling, what they are thinking and what's going on.


This book was well written and I enjoyed the multiple POV's. However, I did get confused by who was who up until about 25%. After I had worked all the relationships out it was a much smoother read. I enjoyed the descriptions and the setting was ideal for the storyline.


The storyline itself was a slow burner but filled with suspense, drama, mystery, lies, secrets and crime. Along with the murder there was the problem of drugs so multiple storylines going on. I never worked out who the killer was which is always a bonus as there's nothing worse than figuring it out less than half way through a book. I was very surprised when I found out who it was and even more surprised when the whole story was revealed of what some of the characters were up to.


The characters were all very realistic and a huge mix of different personalities. I think of all of the characters I felt for Daisy the most as she seemed to be caught up in the worst of it all. I enjoyed watching the different relationships bond and how they changed throughout the storyline.


Overall a slow burning psychological fiction that will keep you guessing throughout.


Genres covered include Psychological Fiction.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above.


284 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is a bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@EmilyCavanagh @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


A teacher as well as a writer, Emily Cavanagh lives with her husband, two daughters, and an Australian Shepherd on Martha's Vineyard Island. Her work has been published in Red Rock Review, Grain Magazine, Transfer, and Martha's Vineyard Arts and Ideas. Read more about Emily's work and life at www.emilycavanaghauthor.com.



Author Social Media Links:


Facebook:







BUY LINKS









5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page