top of page

Escape To The Swiss Chalet by Carrie Walker. Review.


Book Description


A SWEET and FUNNY romantic comedy for readers of Sandy Barker and Mandy Baggot.


When your life goes off-piste how do you climb back up the mountain?


Holly Roberts is well-known among family and friends for despising the cold, so no one is more

surprised than her when she agrees to pack her bags and move to the Swiss Alps. But after getting

her heart broken, spending the winter season working as a sous-chef for wealthy twins Genevieve

and gorgeous Luca, is exactly what the doctor ordered.


Verbier is home to millionaires and Holly has never felt more out of place in the snow-capped

wooden chalet. Thankfully new friends, chalet girl Liv and chef Xavier are there to be her guide in this

new world of après-ski and fondue, and to teach her how to get off chair lifts! And then there is

Luca... rich, handsome, kind but what is the catch?


She just wanted to escape her problems but could she get her HE after all?




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Escape To The Swiss Valley' by Carrie Walker.



Read and reviewed for Carrie Walker, Aria Publishing, Head Of Zeus, Bloomsbury Publishing and Rachel's Random Book Tours .



Publication date 9th November 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author.



The storyline is unique and filled with heartbreak, friendship, stunning food, hunky men, winter sports, romance, laughter and so much more!! It is an absolutely charming, sweet read that will leave you with a warm feeling inside. It has the perfect amount of romance and humour as well as many other emotions and there is plenty going on to keep you turning the pages. I absolutely loved the gorgeous atmosphere and the escapism!!! Carrie's beautiful, descriptive and evocative writing skills swept me off my feet and had me landing in a stunning lodge in the Swiss Alps and had my heart racing doing winter sports, my mouth watering smelling the stunning foods and my eyes watering from laughing so much!!! I was gutted to have to pack my suitcase back up when I came to the end and leave the chilly Alps and return to the stormy downpour in Wales!! This is the perfect read with Christmas around the corner so curl up on the sofa, light the fire, grab a hot chocolate and lose yourself in this room com that will leave you wanting more. Considering this is Carrie's debut novel I am definitely looking forward to her next book which is called 'Escape To The Tuscan Vineyard' which after feeling the snow in this book I'm looking forward to feeling the sun on my face in Tuscany which, although I have never visited, I have come to love through reading many books set in this beautiful destination. This would make a beautiful film which I would definitely be the first in the queue to watch!!




I wasn't only invested in the storyline but also the characters. They were all strong and we'll developed. Carrie builds each of the characters up enough to bring them all to life as you fly through the pages. Although there were times where I was shouting at my kindle at Holly, as well as several other characters, I still just had to know what was going to happen and the more I read on the more she slowly started to grow on me and by the end I really liked her and was pleased to see how her character developed from the beginning to the end. I absolutely adored Xavier and Liv from the start and just loved watching the friendships and relationships develop between all the characters. I would definitely like to most of them again!!! I say most of them as with most books you can't love all of the characters and there were some that I didn't like at all, especially a certain someone but I will let you make your own decision on them. Watching Holly's journey of self realisation was emotional at times so make sure you have the tissues at the ready. There are also plenty of laughs to be had with the characters interactions and storyline!!! Regardless of how you feel about the characters they all come to life to create this enjoyable, funny and charming book that will leave you wanting more.



Overall a gorgeous, sweet and charming escapism read!!



328 pages



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.19 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is a good price for this book. .




Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.





Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@EscapeToTheSwissChalet @CarrieWalker @Aria @AriaPublishing @HeadOfZeus @BloomsburyPublishing @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @NetGalley



























Author Bio


Carrie Walker is a Brummie born rom-com lover with a lifelong passion for travel. She has lived in a

ski resort, by a beach, in the country and the city, and travelled solo through Asia, South America and

Europe. Her own love life was more com than rom until she met her husband a few years ago and

settled down with him and her dog Ziggy in a small pub-filled village in Essex. Writing has long been

Carrie’s side hustle, penning columns and features for newspapers and magazines, while working in

many other jobs. She has been the CEO of a not-for-profit, a director of a brand agency, the editor of

a newspaper in Spain, a radio presenter, a football mascot, dressed up as a carrot for the BBC and

now she is writing books. Escape to the Swiss Chalet is her debut novel




Social Media Links



Publisher social media handles:





TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com /@headofzeus



Purchase Link





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page