top of page

'Drown Her Sorrows' by Melinda Leigh

BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Drown Her Sorrows' by Melinda Leigh.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Montlake publishers and Melinda Leigh.


Publication date 16th March 2021.


This is the third book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in the 'Bree Taggert' series. I have read the first book in this series 'Cross Her Heart' and the third book in the 'Widow's Island' series 'Whisper Of Bones' and highly recommend both series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and beautiful cover and its intriguing synopsis. I have also previously read 'Cross her heart' and 'Whisper Of Bones' by Melinda which I loved so am hoping this will be just as good. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Montlake. I have yet to read a book published by Montlake that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 43 chapters. The chapters are short to medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in New York, USA🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Sheriff Bree Taggert and Matt. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. With there being several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


Well, well, well Melinda does it again!!! Another page turning success, well done!! Extremely well written as with all her previous books I have read with vivid descriptions putting you straight in the heart of the action. The synopsis and cover work perfectly with the storyline.


The storyline is absolutely action packed throughout and filled with suspense, tension and red herrings. I would never in a million years have expected thay HUMONGOUS twist at the end, LOVE it!!! It is getting harder and harder to surprise me with every crime book I read but this one caught me a cracker. The pace of the storyline was perfect and I was absolutely hooked from the start to the finish. Everything was explained at the end so no loose ends leaving you wondering what happened and why, nothing worse than that in my opinion. The storyline was also realistic which helps make it easier to picture everything that is going on.


I loved meeting Bree and Matt again, and of course Brody!!! They are such strong, well deigned and realistic characters who work perfectly together. I really hope that their relationship continues to grow. However, it wasn't only the main characters that I enjoyed meeting again but the "side" characters also have such strong and unique personalities that they also feel like "part of the family" now, Dana, Todd, the rescue gang and Cady plus more. Bree is such a kick a** warrior and even with her injuries she just keeps on going, she really is a force to be reckoned with. Matt is just absolutely scummy and a perfect gent. As for Brody, well who doesn't love a hero dog!!! I cannot wait to meet the fan in the next installment of this immense series!!!


If you haven't read any of this amazing and extremely successful authors books yet you really are missing out. Each of her books that I have read so far are packed with intricate twists, heart stopping storylines and whoop butt women and I would love to see each one made into a movie. She is one of my favourite authors and I wait with baited breathe for the next adventure.


Although this book is part of a series it can easily be read as a standalone although if you want more detailed information on each of the characters and where their relationships started I would read in order. In fact, I've read the first and this one and need to go back to read the second ASAP.


Overall a true page turning, gripping and addictive series with a mind blowing ending that must be read!!!


Genres covered in this novel include

Mystery, Suspense and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone, especially thise interested in crime, murder, mystery and fans of Melinda Leigh and of books with strong female roles.


312 pages.


This book is just £3.49 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@MelindaLeigh @Montlake @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









About the Author

Number one Amazon Charts and number one Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh is a fully recovered banker. Melinda’s debut novel, She Can Run, was nominated for Best First Novel by the International Thriller Writers. She’s garnered numerous writing awards, including two RITA nominations. Her other novels include She Can Tell, She Can Scream, She Can Hide, and She Can Kill in the She Can Series; Midnight Exposure, Midnight Sacrifice, Midnight Betrayal, and Midnight Obsession in the Midnight Novels; Hour of Need, Minutes to Kill, and Seconds to Live in the Scarlet Falls series; Say You’re Sorry, Her Last Goodbye, Bones Don’t Lie, What I’ve Done, Secrets Never Die, and Save Your Breath in the Morgan Dane series; and the Bree Taggert novels, Cross Her Heart and See Her Die. She holds a second-degree black belt in Kenpo karate, has taught women’s self-defense, and lives in a messy house with her family and a small herd of rescue pets. For more information, visit www.melindaleigh.com.






1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page