top of page

Death At The Caravan Park by Susan Willis. Review


Book Description


Clive Thompson heads for Whitley Bay caravan park to finish writing his novel. He’s never had a

caravan holiday before and is warmly greeted by the manager, Liz Mathews, who lives on the park.

She is single and cares for her ninety year old mother who has Alzheimer’s Disease. Clive meets the

people in neighbouring caravans and has an amazing view from his veranda over the sea to St.

Mary’s Lighthouse. However, Audrey goes missing during the night and Liz is beside herself with

worry. The police are out looking for her, but disillusioned by their efforts, Clive begins his own

investigations.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Death At The Caravan Park' by Susan Willis.


Read and reviewed for Susan Willis and Rachel's Random Tours.


Publication date 20th June 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'A Clive Thompson Investigates' series but can be read as a standalone.



This novel consists of a prologue and 41 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



I really enjoyed this cosy mystery especially the absolutely amazing setting of Whitley Bay. Susan's absolutely fantastic and evocative writing skills made me feel that I had been picked up from my chair in rainy Wales and dropped straight into Clive's caravan. I was absolutely devastated when I came to the end and realised I had to unpack my suitcase and get back to reality as it genuinely felt like I had been away on holidays!!! Although this is the first book I have read by this very talented author I cannot wait to get stuck into the first book in the series and my fingers are crossed that she is busy writing the third book as I am already missing Clive and Whitley so it would be amazing to return maybe later in the series!!! I could smell the sea air, see the lighthouse and hear Rusty barking away. The storyline had me hooked immediately and I love the way that Clive goes about his detective work. There was so much going on that it kept me entertained thoroughly throughout with mystery after mystery and clue after clue. It was filled with mystery, laughter, murder, clues, intriguing holiday neighbours, the beach, suspense and so much more!! It is absolutely perfect to read either curled in front of the fire or lying on a beach which not many books can achieve. I never did work out who the killer was and was completely shocked when they were discovered. A great achievement as I am a huge crime fan and tend to work out who did what quite early on. I would definitely say that the author has done their research which is always a bonus as there's nothing worse than a book littered with errors which could have been avoided by doing research on the topics. It really made me want to visit Whitley myself and as soon as I have finished this book I am off to have a look at the ParkDean resort she stayed at while researching this book, I may even see if I can get into number 24!!! Susie's writing skills made me feel like I had been swept away to Whitley and was walking along trying to solve the crime and mystery along with Clive. I gave up counting how many times I told myself one more chapter just to HAVE to know what happened next as this happened over and over until I ended up devouring the whole book in one sitting!!!



Although this is the second book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.



It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.



There was a fantastic selection of characters that I met in this book along with our main protagonist Clive. I was fascinated watching the character development from the start to the end of this book and I'm looking forward to how Clive started right at the beginning and to continuing to read this series to watch his character continue to grow. I have to admit though that one of my favourite character just had to be Rusty!! As a huge animal lover myself any books that include animals gets bonus points for me!! I also enjoyed meeting all the different characters that we meet on the caravan site. They were all well rounded, strong, realistic with their own quirks and personalities. There was the perfect amount of characters to keep you guessing who the killer is and I enjoyed trying to work out who was hiding what even though I kept getting it wrong!! I'm looking forward to meeting Clive again in previous and future books in this series!


A fantastic book in what promises to be an addictive series. Well done Susan on a fantastic page turner and here's to your next success 🥂!!



Overall a fun and easy to read page turning cosy murder mystery with the perfect amount of crime, mystery and humour that will keep you turning the pages.




229 pages.




This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle and £9.63 on paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews






@DeathAtTheCaravanPark @ACliveThompsonInvestigatesNovel @SusanWillis @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger

























Author Bio


Susan is a published author of eight novels and six novellas with short stories published in Women’s

Weekly magazines. She is now retired from Food Technology and scribbles away in County Durham.

Writing psychological suspense and cosy-crime novels with strong, lovable North East characters, is

her passion. Last year, she brought us, Clive’s Christmas Crusades, set in York. Following the

Harrogate Crime Writing Festival, Susan wrote six Curious Casefiles which is now published by

Northodox Press. She has incorporated up-to-date issues: poor mental health in a kidnap scene, the

perils of social media, and an intruder on Skype.




Social Media Links






Purchase Links








4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page