top of page

Death At Paradise Park by Ross Greenwood. Review


Book Description


When Alfie Hook settles down to eat his fish and chips by the Hunstanton seaside he hasn’t

anticipated it is going to be his last meal. DS Ashley Knight and her Major Investigation Team are

called to investigate and when they discover who Alfie is married to, they realise this case is not

going to be straightforward.


A second body is found in gruesome circumstances at the nearby Paradise Caravan Park, but the

team struggle to connect the two victims. Even after hours of interviews with the residents, and

many questionable stories, to the police's frustration, all their alibis check out. What are they

concealing?


As the bodies mount up and the leads get ever more complicated, Ashley and her rookie partner

Hector Fade finally join the dots. But then it’s a race against time to stop the killer striking again…


Bestselling Ross Greenwood is back with an unputdownable seaside thriller, perfect for fans of Mark

Billingham, Ian Rankin and Peter James.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Death At Paradise Park' by Ross Greenwood.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Ross Greenwood, Boldwood Books, Book And Tonic and Rachel's Random resources Tours.


Publication date 6th November 2023.


This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'DS Ashley Knight' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read book one in this series 'Death On Cromer Beach' and would highly recommend it!


This novel consists of 101 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Well, well, well Wow!!! Yet another absolute cracker of a book from this amazing author!!! This book sucked me straight in from beginning to the explosive ending. It was very well written with excellent evocative descriptions which put me straight into the storyline. The blog and the cover suited the book perfectly.


This is an absolutely fantastic page turning addition to this addictive series by the extremely talented Ross. Ross's fantastic evocative writing skills really bring the story to life. I loved the seaside atmosphere of Hunstanton , Norfolk, where Paradise Park is located, where you can hear the waves crashing and feel the wind in your hair while turning the pages. When I seen this book was written by Ross I didn't even bother looking at the synopsis until after I read it as after the first book in this amazing series I already knew I just had to read this book when it came out!!! I absolutely LOVED the first book and I must admit I am always wary when I love a book so much and have my doubts that the second and further books could be just as good but I am pleased (for once) that I was proven completely wrong (don't tell my partner!) by Ross and he had managed to make an ever more amazing read although I have no idea how that was possible!! In this book Alfie Hook is having his supper of fish and chips when it turns out to be his last meal! DS Ashley Knight and her team are called in to investigate. When they discover who Ashley is married to and then another killing happens at the same camp site things to downhill even more and the race is on to find the killer before they end up with another victim. The storyline is complex, intriguing and addictive and will keep you guessing throughout!!

The storyline is addictive and filled with suspense, tension, mystery and everything you could ask for in a fantastic page turner!! I loved all the twists and turns and throughout it kept me guessing what was going on and who was doing what. I would NEVER have guessed at the ending so a MASSIVE WELL DONE to Ross. I have read many thrillers and it's getting harder and harder for me to be surprised so great job there. I loved the storyline and just loved everything about it. It was all done perfectly!! An absolutely addictive page turner that kept my heart in my throat on the edge of the seat and absolutely absorbed me. The fact there were so many different red herrings, twists, shocks and possibilities that all would have worked perfectly I could not put this book down!!! I was so invested in the storyline that I was up until 2am!! I would LOVE to see this turned into a movie!!! I cannot wait to get stuck in to the next book in this absolutely addictive series!!


WARNING âš  DO NOT START THIS UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS THIS BOOK IS ADDICTIVE!!!!



Although this is the second book in the series I would have had absolutely no problems reading it without reading the first book. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


THE characters were fantastic, solid and completely believable and I loved meeting Ashley and her team again. They have very quickly become fast favourites of mine and like friends that I look forward to meet in each new book and miss in between. The main protagonist is Ashley who I really connected with from the start of book one 'Death On Cromer Beach'. My heart went out to her with everything she was going and had gone through. Ashley has had some traumatic experiences in her past, keeps her feelings locked up, is lonely and has had her own personal struggles to deal with. However, this does not stop her and I absolutely love her sarcastic, kick butt attitude and found her to be an absolutely amazing strong female lead which is always a bonus for me being female myself. I absolutely loved getting to know her more in this book as well as her team and seeing how each of her team members worked individually and together. Ashley is a great person to lead a team and I loved watching her work with DC Hector Fade and some of their interactions had me laughing out loud, along with many interactions between Ashley and other team members and other characters between each other. I find it is important in any police procedural or murder to have some laughter between to lighten up the atmosphere and Ross did an ABSOLUTELY fantastic job doing this especially with Forensic pathologist Michelle Ma Yun's gallows humour!!

Ashley is an intriguing and complex character and I have enjoyed meeting her again and getting to know more about her and cannot wait to meet her again!!! There was a great eclectic mix of characters from good to bad which always helps to liven the storyline up. They all had such different and strong personalities and all suited the storyline perfectly.. There were such a mix of personalities and its hard really to say too much about any of them without giving too much away!!! Regardless of whether you liked, loved or disliked any of the characters they all work perfectly together to bring this story to life. I cannot wait to meet Ashley and more characters in the next book in this series!!


CONGRATULATIONS ROSS ON YET ANOTHER ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVE PAGE TURNER!!!! A FANTASTIC ADDITION TO THIS AMAZING SERIES!! THIS IS THE EXACT REASON YOU ARE IN MY TOP 5 MALE AUTHORS LIST!!! HERE'S TO YOUR NEXT SUCCESS AND THE NEXT AMAZING BOOK IN THIS EPIC SERIES 🥂


Overall a compelling, addictive, gritty and fantastic page turning addition in an explosive series!!



469 pages


This book is just a £2.09 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £10.82 in paperback via Amazon (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@DeathAtParadisePark @DSAshleyKnight @RossGreenwood @greenwoodross @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @theboldbookclub @BookAndTonic@Netgalley @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited
















Author Bio


Ross Greenwood is the author of crime thrillers. Before becoming a full-time writer he was most recently a prison officer and so worked everyday with murderers, rapists and thieves for four years. He lives in Peterborough.


Social Media Links







 



Purchase Link



 







1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page