top of page

Deadly Fate by Angela Marsons. Review


Book Description


The woman’s bright blonde hair floats in the breeze. She almost looks like she could be resting on the soft green grass. But her brown eyes stare unblinking up at the sky, and the final cut across her mouth is dark with blood. Her words silenced forever…


Late one evening, as the final church bell rings out, Sandra Deakin’s cold and lifeless body is found in the overgrown graveyard with multiple stab wounds. When Detective Kim Stone rushes to the scene, the violence of the attack convinces her that this murder was deeply personal. What could have caused such hate?


As the team dig into Sandra’s life, they discover she believed she could communicate with the dead. Was that why she was targeted? The last people to see her alive were a group of women who had a session with her the night before she was killed, and as Kim and her team pay them a visit, they soon learn each of the women is lying about why they wanted Sandra’s help…


Kim realises she must dig deep and open her mind to every avenue if she’s going to stand a chance at solving this case. And when she learns that Sandra was banned from the church grounds and had been receiving death threats too, she’s ever more certain that Sandra’s gifts are at the heart of everything.


But just when she thinks she’s found a lead, the broken body of a nineteen-year-old boy is found outside a call centre – a single slash across his mouth just like Sandra’s. Kim knows they are now racing against time to understand what triggered these attacks, and to stop a twisted killer.


But they might be too late. Just as Kim sits down at a local psychic show she discovers something that makes her blood run cold. Both Sandra and the call centre were named in an article about frauds. And this show stars the next name on the list. She looks around the audience with a feeling of utter dread, certain the killer is among them…


Totally addictive with a final twist that will leave you shouting out loud, you’ll want to inhale Deadly Fate in one sitting. Fans of Karin Slaughter, Val McDermid and Robert Dugoni will love the new crime thriller from the number one multi-million-copy bestselling author Angela Marsons.








BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Deadly Fate' by Angela Marsons.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Angela Marsons, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 25th May 2023.



This is the twelfth book I have read by this author and it is the eighteenth book in the 'Detective Kim Stone' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the first 7 books in the 'Detective Kim Stone' plus the fourteenth to seventeenth book which I loved and would recommend. Sadly I haven't had time to read from the 8th book until the fourteenth but will definitely be making time to as I LOVE KIM STONE!!!



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is a 'Totally addictive with a final twist that will leave you shouting out loud, you’ll want to inhale Deadly Fate in one sitting. Fans of Karin Slaughter, Val McDermid and Robert Dugoni will love the new crime thriller from the number one multi-million-copy bestselling author Angela Marsons'. I am a fan of all three of these authors especially Karin Slaughter so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this statement. I am also a MASSIVE fan of Angela Marsons and the Kim Stone series and if this is half as good as the rest it is sure to be a great read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of a prologue and 82 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in West Midlands, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited the West Midlands on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere.



This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective with the main protagonists being Detective Kim Stone, Detective Penn, Detective Stacey Wood and an unknown narrator. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.


OMG!!! SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO US ANGELA!!!! JUST WOW!!!! Seriously love, love LOVED this book!!!! Although, shouldn't be so shocked, it is Angela Marsons and Kim Stone after all!!!! Anyway, on with the review shall I....



Angela's style of writing is absolutely fantastic. She has a way in which she completely absorbs the reader into the book with vivid and graphic descriptions that have you completely lost in the plot. It is the type of book that when you finish you look around and wonder where you are and how is nobody else reacting to the bombshell that has just been dropped!!! The cover IS Kim Stone for me and the name and synopsis suited the plot perfectly.



Most heart racing, nail biting, actually stopped breathing book I've EVER read!!!! I mean how on earth do you do it Angela??? Every single book is more heart racing than the next and this has absolutely smashed it!!! This epic series is the best I have ever read. I mean nobody can beat Kim and the team!!



Angela kicks it out of the ballpark each and every single time!!! How can someone write so many epic, addictive and gritty books yet come up with unique storylines that shock the reader constantly!!! Angela is the absolute queen of crime and if you have never read any of her books then what on earth are you waiting for!!! You are seriously missing out!! The storyline is an absolute rollercoaster ride through a multi layered adventure park set in the world of horror, supernatural, medium and crime!!! There's never just one case with Angela but so much going on, not too much to get you confused but just the perfect amount to keep the pace continuous. The majority of chapters end on cliffhanger so keeps reader addicted and turning pages. Although this book is the 18th book in the epic Kim Stone series it can easily be read as a standalone. I haven't had time to read from books 7 until 14 and I cannot wait to get back to her previous books I never had any point felt I'd missed out something to do with the book. Anything that had been mentioned from previous cases were explained with just the right amount of information, not too much to bore those who have read every book and just enough so new readers know what's happened. The murders and crimes are unique and morbidly intriguing. I was on the edge of my seat, biting my nails whilst feeling my heart pounding into the silly hours of the morning as this is one book that cannot be put down so clear your diaries before picking it up. It fills you with all emotions from fear to laughter, tension to shock. I was not expecting that ending at all on both cases. I was absolutely speechless and actually shouted OMG to which my partner looked at me stupid!!! I absolutely loved the fact that Angela explores psychics and mediums on this book as I have always been utterly intrigued by the art of mediumship and always enjoy going on nights out to see clairvoyants and mediums so it really was fantastic to see it brought up in a book. My heart was in my throat the whole way through from the epilogue to the very last sentence. I just could not believe what I was reading. As always the last chapter had me absolutely gobsmacked and I absolutely LOVED IT!!! Well done Angela, I'm getting harder and harder to shock but you had me hook, line and sinker!!!! I seriously NEED to see these amazing books on the big screen!!



Although this is the eighteenth book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.



These characters have become like very close friends to me and each time I meet them it feels like I haven't been far from them for long. Kim and her fierce attitude, DCI Woodward and his stress ball, the hatred for Tracy Frost and so much more. . It isn't all crime and sadness in Angela's books though and it had me giggling on several occasions which is brilliant considering it's a crime novel. I love it when authors put some comedy in these novels as it lightens it up at times and Kim's attitude really does make me smile and laugh out loud. Angela creates fantastic team dynamics with memorable characters who work together brilliantly and perfectly. Each character is unique and has strong personalities and they just are completely unforgettable. Randomly, its always important for me to like the pathologist in any police procedurals and to click with them as much as the main police team. Their relationship with the main protagonist is also important to me as reader. In this case the pathologist is Keats and how I love the sarcasm between him and the team and his attitude. Stacey and Penn are also strong team members and I love how they work so well together and yet wind each other up constantly. Angela has brought these characters to life over this series and I have yet to meet a team and group of people I like so much. I genuinely miss them between books.




A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS ANGELA MARSONS!!! As always you have done the research and you have created what I can guarantee will be one of the best read books ever!! When are you going to bring Kim to the big screen??? I hope your busy writing cause I cannot wait to get my hands on your next success!!! Seriously what are you waiting for guys??? Stop reading this and get your copy now!!!! This is exactly why you and this series are my favourite author and series!!! You are absolutely amazing and I hope you are busy on your next success because I'm missing the gang already!!!



Overall an absolutely amazing psychological thriller of epic proportions that will keep your heart pounding all night. This is one of the best books I have ever read!!!! An absolute MUST READ!!!



Genres covered in this novel include Crime, Serial Killers, Women's Psychological Fiction, Women Sleuths, Female Detectives, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Women's Popular Fiction, Literary Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Murder Thriller, Mystery ,Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Police Procedural and Serial Killer Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Jewell, Rachel Abbott, K.L Slater, Karin Slaughter, Val McDermid, Carol Wyer, PJ Tracy, Robert Dugoni, T.M Logan, Patricia Gibney, MJ Lee, Kathy Reich's, anyone after an addictive psychological thriller and YOU, YES YOU READING THIS AND YOUR FAMILY, FRIENDS AND EVEN YOUR GOLDFISH!!!




362 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVE, LOVE, LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@DeadlyFate @DetectiveKimStone @AngelaMarsons @AngieMarsons @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger
















Author Bio



Angela Marsons is the Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author of the DI Kim Stone series and her books have sold more than 5 million in 7 years.


She lives in Worcestershire with her partner and their 2 cheeky Golden Retrievers.


She first discovered her love of writing at Junior School when actual lessons came second to watching other people and quietly making up her own stories about them. Her report card invariably read "Angela would do well if she minded her own business as well as she minds other people's".


After years of writing relationship based stories (The Forgotten Woman and Dear Mother) Angela turned to Crime, fictionally speaking of course, and developed a character that refused to go away.


She is signed to Bookouture.com for a total of 28 books in the Kim Stone series and her books have been translated into 30 languages.


Many of her books, including Blood Lines, Dead Souls, Broken Bones, Fatal Promise and Dead Memories reached the #1 spot on Amazon on pre-orders alone and the translation of Dead Souls, La Verita Sepolte, recently won the prestigious Primo Bancarella award.




Sign up to Angela’s mailing list to get ONE HOUR - an exclusive Detective Kim Stone short story: https://bookouture.com/angela-marsons




Purchase Links










11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page