top of page

'Dead Woman Crossing' by J. R. Adler

Book Description:


She threw open the door, running to the crib. When she looked inside, she gasped. The world around her went silent. Inside, there was nothing but a small stuffed elephant. Where was her baby?


When young, single mother Hannah is found murdered by the banks of a twisting Oklahoma creek, her one-year-old daughter sleeping in a stroller near her body, the small town of Dead Woman Crossing reels in horror.


Detective Kimberley King, recently relocated from New York to Oklahoma, with her young daughter Jessica, can’t ignore the similarity of Hannah’s death to the case of Katie James, the woman that the town of Dead Woman Crossing is named after. Katie was murdered in front of her small daughter in 1905, on the banks of the same creek, and it seems that someone is drawing inspiration from the crime. Could this killer be a copycat?


But as she interviews suspects, Kimberley is met with blank faces and closed lips. In a small town, people won’t talk and when she pursues a promising lead, her own family turn their back on her. Kimberley isn’t afraid to ask questions, but when she receives a threatening note, she realises that, as a single mother to a young daughter, she might be putting herself dangerously in the killer’s sights …


A gripping, atmospheric crime thriller inspired by true events, about a town on the edge of collapse and a murder that shakes the community. Dead Woman Crossing is perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Jane Harper.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Dead Woman Crossing' by J. R. Adler.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 23rd September 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. This is also the first book in the 'Detective Kimberley King' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and title and interesting sounding blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 36 chapters which are medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Detective Kimberley King. I enjoy books written in third person as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


This book is based in Oklahoma, US.


Well, what an explosive start to what promises to be a riveting new series!! I was sucked straight into the storyline from the very first page. The book is very well written with fantastic descriptions. Throughout the book it gives flashes of Kimberley's past to help piece her history together. The flashbacks were put in at just the right times in the story and linked well. The only niggle I found was that I wasn't sure of how much research went into police policies or if the US would have different policies to the UK in regards to personal involvement with cases, won't say more due to not wanting to spoil the storyline for future readers.


The storyline was action packed and filled with suspense, drama and tension. I became completely hooked and couldn't stop turning the pages until I finished early hours in the morning. I can't say I was shocked when I found out who the killer was. It wasn't obvious to be fair but after reading quite alot of crime novels the person was in my top 2 suspects. I didn't find it spoiled the book which was a nice surprise. I think this was because there was still lots going on to keep me interested.


The characters were all very well developed and there was a good mix. I had mixed feelings with Kimberley, sometimes she annoyed me with her attitude and others I enjoyed her strong character. I enjoyed watching the relationships develop between herself and her team and I'm definitely looking forward to reading more about her in the next novel of the series.


Overall a very well written, suspense filled crime thriller which will keep you up late at night.


Genres covered include Crime Thriller, Mystery, Murder and Police Procedural, Domestic Drama


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone looking for a new crime series with a strong female lead.


347 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I wouldn't normally rate a book 5/5 if I wasn't surprised by the perp but for me 5/5 is I loved it which I did!! ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JRAdler @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks






Author Bio:


Originally from Wisconsin, J.R. Adler currently lives in Ithaca, New York with her husband, Drew, and her English Bulldog, Winston. When not writing, you can find her reading, playing board games, travelling, and binge watching The Office for the umpteenth time.


https://www.instagram.com/jradlerauthor/





Buy Links:


Amazon: https://bit.ly/3bZOFdP

Apple: https://apple.co/2ZFBUjH

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2NprQ7Z

Google: https://bit.ly/2Yuajly

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page