top of page

'Dead Man's Heart' by Axl Malton



Book Description


Bruce Campbell is a heart surgeon. His only son, Tim, was born with a degenerative heart condition. They knew that one day he would need a new heart, what they didn’t know, was when.

Bruce’s world is about to come crashing down on him; despite being one of the leading cardiologists in the country, will Bruce be able to save his son?


And to what lengths will he go to do it?


Whilst Bruce is battling to save his son, a psychopathic killer is on the loose, hell-bent on gaining revenge on those that hurt and tortured him as a child, casting him into a life of darkness.

With nothing left to lose, Aiden will stop at nothing to kill those that hurt him.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Dead Man's Heart' by Axl Malton.


Read and reviewed for Axl Malton, red Dragon Publishing and Zooloo's Book Tours.


Publication date 12th December 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its fantastic eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title .I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Red Dragon Publishing. I have yet to read a book published by Red Dragon publishing that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 92 chapters and an epilogue set over 4 parts. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Bruce Campbell and Aiden The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Dead Man's Heart' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Axl discusses/includes violence and animal abuse. WOW!!! Absolutely LOVED this explosive and addictive page turner that just kept on giving and giving!!! This was one of those fantastic books that starts off great and just keeps getting and better!! It sucked me straight in from the very first page until the very end!! I was literally walking around with my kindle everywhere I went as I just could not put it down and ended up reading it in one sitting! I loved the fact that it has multiple storylines which Axl managed to weave together perfectly with so much going on to keep the reader addicted but not too much to confuse them! It is ram packed with tension, suspense, sadness, violence, twists, anger, shock, and everything you could ask for in an action packed page turner!! Axl's evocative writing skills ensures the reader's are completely absorbed into the storyline and can see it physically coming to life around them making their heart pound in terror and suspense! I was absolutely gripped to the edge of my seat and biting my nails whilst flying through the pages. This may be the first book I have read by Axl but it most definitely not be my last and I cannot wait to read his previous and future books! Axl included just the right amount of gore for me which I always love in a book. However, I did struggle with the animal abuse. I know, strange but I'm just that type of person, the gorier the better as long as it doesn't involve animals! Can you tell I'm not really a people person lol? The chapters were the perfect length with just a few pages in each one which is great if you don't have time to get stuck in and devour it at once but can easily read a few chapters in your break or on the bus or in a car. The fact that we get to see what is going on from multiple protagonists ensures we get to see a larger picture and Axl drip feeds the reader just the right amount of information for them to try to work everything out themselves without it being too obvious. If you are a dark horror lover like myself then this book is most definitely for you and I'm looking forward to seeing what Axl has up his sleeves next for us! However, if you are faint hearted sadly I would stay away from this book and if you don't then don't say I didn't warn you! I will also say that as a parent myself this is one of my worst nightmares and it was absolutely heart-breaking but I really cannot say anymore than that as I don't want to spoil anything for future readers. The characters are all strong and realistic and just when you think you know what is going on and who you can trust then your mind is spun into a different direction yet again leaving you guessing all th way through. This is one of the things I loved best about this book is that it kept proving me wrong which is not something I like admitting to but Axl managed to completely blow my mind apart so a HUGE congratulations Axl!! The way that Axl introduced the characters with such intensity automatically made me feel sorry for them at first but if I continued to do so is something I will let you decide when you pick up your own copy. Axl's fantastic writing skills really makes you feel how the characters are feeling which is a fantastic talent for an author to have. I normally like to say more about characters but I am on edge about gibing anything away so I think I will have to round this review up with saying that regardless of whether you love or hate the characters, and you will love some and hate others, they all come together perfectly to create an absolute cracker of a book!

Congratulations Axl on one of the most heart pounding, gory, gritty and unputdownable horror filled books that I have EVER read!!! Welcome to my top 3 male author club and I cannot wait for your next success!!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, gothic, thought provoking, suspense and tension filled addictive and explosive page turner.



Genres covered in this novel include British Horror Fiction, Urban Fiction, Paranormal Fiction, Horror Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, Horror Fiction, Urban Fiction, Low Fantasy, Horror and Paranormal & Urban Fantasy amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as to anyone looking for an unputdownable page turner that is guaranteed to have you glued to the pages!!


413 pages.


This book is just £1.99 on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £15.99 in hardcover (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@DeadMansHeart @AxlMalton @RedDragonPublishing @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R


https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/


https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86


https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86




Author Bio


Axl Malton is a horror/thriller writer from Harrogate, North Yorkshire. His favourite authors and biggest inspirations are Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Joe Hill.


Axl is an extremely proud father to four children, as well as a husband to his wonderful wife, who is his constant supporter, proofreader, and pillar of strength.


His favourite music genre is classic Rock n’ Roll, which often provides the backdrop to his writing sessions. That and a never-ending spin cycle on the washing machine.


He loves to play the guitar, go to concerts, and watch horror films, but his most treasured pastime is spending time with his family.



Social Media Links









Buy Links


Amazon: https://geni.us/f6Z1








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page