top of page

Dark Angel by DK Hood. Review. Shadow Angel by D.K Hood. Promo



Dark Angel: A gripping and unputdownable FBI agent thriller (Detective Beth Katz Book 1)



Book Description


In the dark pine forest surrounding the quiet town of Rattlesnake Creek, the body of a young girl lies on the ground. Her angelic blonde hair spills over her shoulders and her unblinking eyes stare up toward the sky…


It was Beth Katz’s serial killer father who made her like she is: a successful FBI agent and an unstoppable vigilante dedicated to hunting down murderers who have evaded capture. Beth will push herself to the limits to deliver justice. Even if it means killing those who deserve to die.


When the body of missing schoolgirl Brooklyn Daniels is discovered in a secluded patch of woodland on the outskirts of town, Beth and her partner Dax Styles race to the scene. Brooklyn and her best friend left home to pick wildflowers a week ago and vanished without trace.


Taking in Brooklyn’s body carefully laid on a blanket and the dress neatly folded next to her, Beth suddenly freezes. She’s seen this before: in the files of a cold case. The perpetrator takes two girls—one vanishes, the other is killed and left with her clothes beside her. Now Beth knows she has a twisted serial killer on her hands, she’ll stop at nothing to catch him. Even if it means going against Dax’s orders…


Desperate to find the other missing girl, Beth’s heart pounds as she puts herself up as bait and walks into the secluded forest, knowing evil is lurking nearby. With Dax watching her every move, Beth prays the gamble pays off. Can she outsmart the murderer, or did she just walk into a trap? And when Beth finally comes face to face with the killer, will she hand him over or serve justice of her very own?


From USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author D.K. Hood, this thrilling new series is perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Dark Angel' by DK Hood.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for DK Hood, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 12th September 2023.



This is the ninth book I have read by this author. It is also the first book in the 'Detective Beth Katz' series. I have previously read 'Cross My Heart' (book 12 in the Detective Kane and Alton series), 'Fallen Angel' (book 13 in the Detective Kane and Alton series), 'Don't Look Back (book 13.5 in the series), ' Pray For Mercy '(book 14 in the Detective Kane and Alton series), 'Kiss Her Goodnight' (book 15 in the Detective Kane and Alton series ) 'Her Bleeding Heart' (book 16 in the Detective Kane and Alton series) 'Chase Her Shadow' (book 17 in the Detective Kane and Alton series) and 'Their Wicked Games' (book 19 in the Detective Kane and Alton series) and I would highly recommend them all.



This novel consists of a Introduction, 48 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



OMG!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK and LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS SERIES!!! D.K HOOD you just keep getting better and better!!!



Well, Well, Well!!!! Firstly, I must admit that being a humongous fan of the amazing D.K Hood's Detective Kane and Alton series I was a bit dubious when I realised this was a start of a brand new series. I mean, for starters how on Earth is she going to match the amazingness of Kane, Alton and the rest of the gang? How could she make another series just as good or even better that the Detective Kane and Alton books? Well ladies and gentlemen I haven't got a clue how this queen of crime does it but by God she absolutely smashed it out of the water and I fell in love!!!! Don't get me wrong I did miss some of the amazing characters from the Detective Kane and Alton series but all was not lost!!! The absolutely incredible DK Hood knows her fans so well and knew that we would be having withdrawals from them so she makes sure that this cracking series not only includes Rattlesnake Creek but we also have a crossover of some of the fantabulous characters!!! Who I hear you ask? Well, you'll have to give this series a try to find out won't you?? Needless to say you won't be disappointed and I was absolutely landed myself!!!!!


This is yet another book and series that is fantastically written and had me hooked from the first page until the last. DK Hood way of writing is perfectly evocative and she has such a creative imagination!! Even with nineteen amazing books in the Kane and Alton action packed series she is still coming up with unique and action packed storylines and another whole series that absolutely grip the reader immediately from page one to the very end!!! Hood's fantastic and evocative writing skills ensured the descriptions were so vivid and realistic I felt myself feeling the fear running through me and the hairs on my arms raise. This has got to be one of the best storylines I have ever read!!!! Just when you've read the best book in this series and it can't get any better BANG DK Hood does it again!! I absolutely loved all the crossovers from the Kane and Alton books from cases to characters to locations but one of the best things I loved about this book is our main protagonist Beth who has her own dark secrets that she must keep hidden from the rest of the characters!!!! LOVE IT!!!!!! This book really will have you on the edge of your seat, biting your nails and even covering your eyes at times!!!! Oh and did I mention the bombshell, jaw dropping and explosive twists and turns throughout??? Well I am gobsmacked that.....

Ooops I can't tell you!!! That would just be spoiling it wouldn't it? So if you want to know what the twist is, who the killer is, why they are killing and much, MUCH more you will just have to grab your copy of this epic thriller today!!!! Needless to say I absolutely LOVED the storyline, LOVE this series and LOVE this amazing author!!!. This book is absolutely perfect for any crime lovers as you are literally reading about crime, twists and murder!!! It just does not get better than that!!! Just seriously, I cannot say how brilliant all this book was!!! The storyline is packed with tension, suspense, murder, tension and filled with twists and turns. I was absolutely shocked when everything was revealed and was not expecting it at all!!! I genuinely thought for once I had actually worked out who it was in this amazing series but YET AGAIN DK Hood proves me wrong!! A HUGE congratulations to D.K Hood, it is getting harder and harder to shock me but you did it well!!! LD.K Hood has obviously done her research on police procedurals which has absolutely shines through the Kane and Alton series along with this one which is yet another bonus as I've read many crime novels where the authors make massive mistakes due to not doing enough research.This is an absolutely unputdownable page turner and I cannot wait to read the previous and future books in what is one of the best series I have ever read!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Lauryn Allman who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity and Lauryn did a fantastic job on both male and female characters voices!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by D.K Hood but also to listening to more books narrated by Lauryn! I have previously listened to 'The Niece' by Georgina Cross that Lauryn also narrated and did an amazing job with that book too and I would also recommend reading or listening to it.


Do not start this until you have cleared yours schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


I absolutely LOVED meeting and getting to know all the new characters in this book along with meeting some of the amazing characters from her Kane and Alton series again and they are all realistic and I became completely invested in them. The characters very quickly became like friends to me I feel like I have got to know them so well and so quickly with the new characters and I absolutely LOVE Beth!!!! She is such a dark horse and a dark angel which makes the title for this book perfectly. She reminded me very much of Dexter from the book and TV series. If you are a fan of Dexter then you will love Beth!!! In regards to the previous crossover characters (who I won't name as I don't want to spoil the fun) every time I meet them again I am landed and every time I have to say Goodbye I am gutted I have to wait to greet them again. I cannot wait to meet Beth and Dax again. I really enjoyed seeing how the dynamics of this new team were going to go and the power struggle between Beth and Dax was definitely intriguing to "see" play out. I absolutely adore the fact that Dax has a dog called Bear as that is one of the other things I loved about the Kane and Alton series and that is Duke and Zorro (dogs) played such large parts. I am a massive animal lover and even run my own cat rescue called Golden Oldies Cat Rescue And Hospice so any animals playing main parts in books are always a huge bonus for me!! DK Hoods fantastic evocative writing skills and Lauryn's amazing narrative skills really bring all these characters off the pages and into real life and I just loved getting to meet them all!!! Anyway, before this turns into too long an essay I will wrap it up by saying I cannot wait to meet all these characters and more again in the second book in this amazing new series which is called 'Shadow Angel' which I am actually off to read now!!!



Congratulations D.K Hood on yet ANOTHER HUMONGOUS success!!! Very rarely an authors books get better but you have certainly mastered it!!! I cannot wait to get stuck into more of your books and this is exactly why you are one my favourite crime authors!!! Here's to your next guaranteed success 🥂



This book is definitely in my top 5 and considering I've read 1000's this is a HUGE achievement!!! This series is also in my top 3 ♥



Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the Introduction, Prologue and first 2 chapters of D.K Hood's 'Shadow Angel' which is the second book in this series and promises to be just as addictive as this book!!! I am actually off to read that next so keep your eyes peeled for my review of it coming soon!!



Overall an absolutely addictive, heart racing and unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night. An absolutely explosive start to what is guaranteed to be an epic new series by the amazing D.K Hood




361 pages/ 10 hours 4 minutes.



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited, £20.03 for the Audiobook, £7.99 with Audible and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@DarkAngel @DetectiveBethKatz @DKHood @LaurynAllman @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @BookoutureAudio @Audible @Audiobook
















Purchase Link





Shadow Angel: An absolutely addictive and nail-biting crime thriller (Detective Beth Katz Book 2):


Book Description


In a dark cabin, a young woman sits totally still. Long dark hair hangs over her shoulders and heavy makeup adorns her pale face. Cherry red lips offer a hint of a smile, but she won’t ever smile again. Her body is already cold to the touch…


When black crows are spotted circling over an abandoned cabin in the woods near Rattlesnake Creek, FBI agent Beth Katz and her maverick partner Dax Styles fear something is very wrong. Beth has been hunting serial killers for years, and as she races to the forest she vows to serve her own form of justice, whatever the cost…


Cassie Durham’s friends reported her missing when she didn’t return home from a local bar a few days ago. Now, Cassie sits in darkness, her last breath taken days before. Beth notices the rouged cheeks and bright blue eyeshadow are nothing like the pictures she’s seen of Cassie alive. Did someone add the heavy makeup and pose her like this after death?


When another woman vanishes from a night out, Beth is convinced a twisted killer is in town. A clue on the dark web leads her to a local late-night hangout. Going undercover, she learns that when both girls vanished they were being watched by someone at the back of the crowded room.


Noticing a man following her every move, Beth knows she has one chance to capture him. With a knife in her pocket and hellbent on saving another innocent life, Beth is already sure she’s going to be the killer tonight. Otherwise she will become his next victim…


Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh, this absolutely nail-biting new crime series from USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author, D.K. Hood, is sure to keep you up all night!





Purchase Link







Author Bio


D.K Hood is THE WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, and #1 AMAZON MILLION COPY Bestselling Author.


D.K's spine chilling, fast paced serial killer thrillers revolve around Sheriff Jenna Alton and her ex- special forces Deputy, Dave Kane. As the main characters fight crime, their secret pasts are never far away. Set in and around the fictional backwoods town of Black Rock Falls, Montana, known locally as Serial Killer Central, D.K 's imagery takes the reader into the scenes with her. Given the title "Queen of Suspense" by her reviewers, D.K 's writing style offers her readers a movie style, sizzling fast thrill ride.



Social Media Links



Twitter : @DKHood_Author







2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page