top of page

Daisy Daydream Bus Rhymes and Jokes by Sue Wickstead. Review.



Book Description


Some well known nursery rhymes, rewritten, with a bus twist.


Come and sing along and share a bus joke too.

A special collection for Daisy Daydream.


(Who has her own story book)





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Daisy Daydream Bus Rhymes And Jokes' by Sue Wickstead.



Read and reviewed for Sue Wickstead, JayJay Books and Rachel's Random Resources.



Publication date 2nd July 2019 (paperback) and 3rd August 2019 (kindle).



This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read 'Bus Rhymes And Playtime' which my family and myself also enjoyed!!!



This book is such a charming, fun and funny book for babies and children. Amazon has placed the reading age from 2 years to 8 years old but I am 36 years old and I have 5 year old twin boys and a 10 year old son and we all loved reading/listening to the fun rhymes in this book. We all also enjoyed creating and doing the actions to the rhymes as well. Not only is this a great book to get your children into reading but also a brilliant way to get up, dance and have some fun with your family as you do the actions to the rhymes!!! One of my favourite rhymes just has to be 'It's The Playbus' which reminded me so much of a children's programme that I used to watch and love as a child!! It isn't just full of fun rhymes though but is also filled with jokes, some of which I enjoyed but sadly I did find some fell completely flat. . This would make a fantastic book to include on bookshelves in nurseries, playschool, libraries, doctors along with many other places that will keep the kids busy reading and having fun!!! At the back of the book there is information on 'The Real Daisy Daydream' which I found quite interesting. This book is filled with bright and eye catching illustrations and my children loved looking and naming all the different items in the background. Some of the rhymes were made extra fun with all the rhyming words and my children loved guessing what word came next and laughing at some of the silly suggestions we came up with. One of the things I love about rhymes are that it helps children when it comes to rhyming words and with their English in general. We had lots of fun naming all the different things that the children could see in the photos and naming all the colours. It is a fantastic book and I would say it is suitable for any child from new-born up. This book is lovely and can be a quick read or be made into a fun long read reading a few rhymes and jokes a day, whichever the reader wishes. The font is a nice style and size making it easy for adults and children to see and read too which is definitely a bonus as I have struggled with some fonts that authors have used in children's books in the past. It would be a great book for children to be read to by their teachers in school. I am looking forward to reading more books by Sue to my children and hope that she is busy writing and illustrating the next one already! This book includes 18 rhymes along with jokes dotted throughout. My favourite rhymes were 'Elly's Cat' and 'It's The Playbus'. My partner's favourite rhyme was 'Jay Jay At The Airport' and his favourite joke was 'Does This Bus Stop At This River?...'. My 5 year old son Hunter's favourites was 'Humpty Dumpty' and 'Bus Colours' and his twin brother Ryder's was 'The Wheels On The Bus'. They didn't have a favourite joke. Malaki has written his thoughts below.



My 10 year old son Malaki had this to say about this book:



I had lots of fun reading this book. We all had lots of fun taking turns reading the jokes to each other and trying to guess the answers. I think the drawings were great and I really enjoyed reading it to my brothers who are 5 year old and loved showing them the pictures which they liked too. My favourite rhyme was Elly's Cat (like Mummy's) and my favourite joke was 'Will this bus take me to London?......



Amazon rates this book suitable for children 2-8 years old. I would rate from baby to 8 years old.




Congratulations Sue a great book filled with fantastic illustrations and fun rhymes and jokes!




Overall a lovely illustrated and fun book filled with rhymes and jokes all about buses!!!


29 pages.



This book is just £2.87 to purchase for kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £6.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is a good price for this book!!!



Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.






@DaisyDaydreamBusRhymesAndJokes @SueWickstead @JayJayBooks @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited



























Author Bio


Sue Wickstead lives in West Sussex, UK and writes children’s picture story books.


Her stories relate to both her experiences as a teacher as well as her play-work adventures with a bus.


The Playbus was a real double-decker bus full of toys, arts and crafts, as well as a lot of fun to play on. Sue wrote a photographic social history book about the project which led to her story telling and her writing. All of Sue’s books do have a bus included in them somewhere. Daisy Daydream was the bus that Sue painted and the start of her Playbus and writing journey.


When not writing Sue builds models with Lego (especially for her grandson), she loves spending quality time with her young grandson and enjoys creating models to share with him on his visits.


Her grandson features in the book ‘Barty Barton; the bear that was loved too much’ which was published in 2020. He also helps his Nanny Sue to sing along with a few of the rhymes sue has written.


Many of Sue’s books have been entered and shortlisted in ‘The Wishing Shelf Book Awards’, the book ‘A Spooky Tale’ was a silver medal winner in 2019. The story was written with her class in school.





Social Media Links







Purchase Links














5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page