top of page

'Containment' by Nick Thacker

Title: CONTAINMENT

Author: Nick Thacker

PUBLICATION DAY: Sept 10th 2020


Description:


When there’s nothing left to lose, there’s no limit to what you’ll risk.


Jake Parker’s world collapsed with the violent death of his wife during a police-led raid. In the awful aftermath, he hung up his detective’s badge for good. Now ex-military, ex-police, he has embraced a simple civilian life. But when a deadly new disease begins to threaten American lives, Jake is dragged out of his self-imposed retirement.


When a young family at a remote detention center die from a mysterious illness, Jake is contacted by a government official to launch a covert investigation. An unknown disease has entered the system, causing agonizing death and visible signs of blood pooling beneath the skin, and it seems to be spreading. If Jake can’t get on the ground quickly to eliminate the threat before it becomes an epidemic, countless more innocent lives could be at risk.


With the help of medical professor Eliza Mendoza, Jake heads to the border, but what they uncover there is evidence that this devastating disease is man-made, and part of a calculated plot aimed right at the heart of government. With powerful forces ranged against him, Jake must use all his ingenuity to bring down the ruthless organization behind the attack. Failure is not an option.


A pulse-pounding action thriller from a USA Today bestselling author. Fans of David Baldacci, I Am Pilgrim and Jack Ryan will be gripped.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Containment' by Nick Thacker


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 10th September 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It is also the first book in the 'Jake Parker' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its interesting and intriguing blurb. I also wanted to take a break from my typical genre of crime thrillers and this book seemed to fit fit the bill. It also seem quite apt to read this during the coronavirus pandemic. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 65 chapters which are short to medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and one of the main protagonists is Jake. I enjoy books written in third person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


This book is based in the US.


I'll be honest and say this wasn't quite what I expected from the blurb. However, that isn't to say I didn't enjoy it. It was definitely different to what I normally read and I think it's expanded my interest for more of this type books.


The storyline was quite unique as well as completely action packed, gripping and non stop. The storyline gripped my attention from beginning to end. It was very wel written making it quite a smooth read.


The characters were all well defined and from very different backgrounds which made them more intriguing. Unfortunately, I can't say I was surprised when one of the people involved was revealed. However, I was quite surprised by the rest of it.


I must congratulation Nick on the fact that it is quite obvious that alot of research went into this which is always a bonus. I'm always put off by books when it is blatant the author has done no research at all.


I enjoyed the fact that some chapters ended on somewhat of a cliffhanger although this did become a problem when it was late at night and I just had to see what happened next!!


Overall a very fast paced and action packed thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat in suspense!


Genres covered include Thriller, Action and Adventure.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of pandemic novels.


315 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is a good price for this book!!!


Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@NickThacker @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks






Author Bio:


Nick Thacker is the USA Today Bestselling Author of action-adventure thrillers and mysteries, including the Harvey Bennett Thrillers series. Often mentioned as a cross between Clive Cussler and James Rollins, his stories are written in a fast-paced, punchy style.


He lives on a volcano in Hawaii with his wife, two kids, and two dogs.


Author Social Media Links:


TWITTER: https://twitter.com/NickThacker


FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorNickThacker/





BUY LINK:


Amazon: https://geni.us/B08B6BWNGMCover


Apple: http://ow.ly/mQHD50A9Ycw


Kobo: http://ow.ly/MxRk50A9Yaq


Google: http://ow.ly/Z9fc50A9Yew




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Commentaires

Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page