top of page

'Come Here Often' by Ellie Center


Come Here Often?: A totally perfect, funny and feel-good page-turner


Book Description


My name is Kat and I have a confession. For the last week, I’ve been secretly living in the gym. Let me set the scene for you… It was my first day working out. Ever. My idea of cardio is lifting Dunkin’ Donuts, but as if exercising wasn’t bad enough, listen to what happened next. In the space of minutes, my boyfriend dumped me over the phone and my boss fired me. Cue a Code Red panic attack. Now, no matter how hard I try, my anxiety stops me from physically walking out of the door, back into the hot mess of my life. So now I’m stuck in this health club, spending night after night sleeping on massage tables, escaping security guards and hiding from my ex. Flirting with personal trainer Marcus, who’s carved like a Greek god and has a smile that makes my stomach flip-flop, is the silver lining to this craziness. But what happens if I get caught? Can I finally sort my life out? And how personal is too personal when it comes to personal trainers? This fresh and funny page-turner is for anyone who has ever lost their spark, struggled with anxiety, or prefers pie and lattes to pilates. Perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary, Emily Henry and Jo Watson.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Make Me Disappear' by Jessica Payne.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jessica Payne, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 23rd May 2022.


This is Emily Center's debut novel.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching unique cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary and Emily Henry.' I am a huge fan of Emily Henry so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 25 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Nashville, Tennessee , USA 🇺🇸


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Katherine Noad. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


'Come Here Often?' ' discusses some topics that may trigger or upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Ellie discusses/includes mental illness, anxiety, panic attacks, death of a pet, death of a child, domestic violence and attempted kidnapping.


This book is very well written with vivid descriptions will that have your heart pounding on the treadmill and sweating in the sauna. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.


This storyline is very easy to read and I flew through it in one sitting. It is a unique storyline, one of only a handful that I have read that is set in one location throughout. I always worry when it comes to books set in one location that I will get bored of "seeing" the same places but as 'Great Fitness' is such a large building with so many different amenities there are plenty of places to explore with Katherine. Although it is based in a gym this book is filled with so much more than fitness, from romance to rivalry, family and friends and even some crime. It is filled with love, sadness, tension, hope, loss and everything you could ask for in a romantic comedy. There were parts that made me laugh, brought me close to tears and others that made me sit up and hold my breathe. I loved all the song, music, movie and celebrity references. I read this on my kindle but I also had the audio book which I listened to in the car and on school runs. The narrator was fantastic and the voice was perfect for Katherine, she had me hooked on the audio book along with me already being hooked on the book itself. The narrator portrayed Katherine's anxiety perfectly. Although this book is mainly sold as a romantic comedy there are some serious topics discussed such as depression and anxiety so if you are looking for a laugh a minute romcom this may not be the book for you. However, personally, I enjoyed the mix in emotions and I thought Ellie intertwined funny situations with darker ones perfectly and also helps to bring anxiety awareness to readers.


The characters are all well described and strong. There is also a wide range of personalities which I enjoyed getting to know. I became completely invested in Kath and her story and hope she does get the help she needs. I was very happy in how the book ended for her. My heart went out to her on several occasions as she had gone through so much as a child and continued to struggle into adulthood with her mental health along with everything happening in her personal life. I really liked Jack who seemed like a really sweet guy and in a way I would have liked to see more of him and see how things worked out if Marcus wasn't in the picture. I won't say any more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. However, I did like Marcus and thought he was really sweet. I did not get on with Sam and thought that he didn't seem affected at all considering how long he had been with Katherine. I absolutely adored sweet little Rosie and hope that things improve for herself and Raline. I wasn't a fan of Katherine's parents and thought that they should have been a lot more supportive and considerative of her feelings and mental health. Lura was definitely a strange one who I didn't like at all when I first met her but I believe she was misunderstood and was redeemed by the end. Regardless whether you loved them or hated them these characters work perfectly well to make this a very enjoyable read.


Well done Ellie on a great debut novel, I'm looking forward to seeing what you come up with next 🥂.


Overall a unique and intriguing storyline that will keep you turning the pages.



Genres covered in this book include Women's Fiction, Romance, Humour, Romantic Comedy, General Humourous Fiction and Comedy amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Beth O’Leary, 'Bridget Jones Diary' and Emily Henry.


323 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@EllieCenter @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @EllieCenter







https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/




About the author

Ellie Center was born in Savannah, Georgia and raised by a psychiatrist and a psychoanalyst. She studied philosophy in college but eventually went on to become an audiologist. After traveling to Israel and living in a Kibbutz, she moved to Nashville, where she started her own business and also started writing novels, falling in love with the process of putting her imagination down on paper. She writes songs in her spare time and lives with Hannah, her cat and a Lab named Joey.

Author social media:


Twitter @EllieCenter






Buy link:



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page