top of page

'Comatose' by Jane Badrock


Book Description


COMATOSE...and her nightmare is just beginning. Two car crashes, one location, one survivor. Newly promoted DS Karen Thorpe is determined to prove these are no accidents. But the only witness is in a coma. Now there's a rapist on the loose. Karen's in the fight of her life...and her boss isn't on her side.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW 



Review for 'Comatose' by Jane Badrock. 


Read and reviewed for Jane Badrock and Question Mark Press. 


Publication date 22nd April 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the first book in the 'Karen Thorpe' series. I have also read the third book in this series 'The Woman Who Knew Faces' and would highly recommend it.



I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Jane and if this book is half as good as 'The Woman Who Knew Faces' it will be an epic page turner. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Question Mark Press. I have yet to read a book published by Question Mark Press that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 80 chapters. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Hertfordshire, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and holidayed in England on many occasions so am intrigued to see if I recognise anywhere I have visited or stayed at. 



This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are DS Karen Thorpe, Stella Cary , Rob Car and, John Steele. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



'Comatose' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Jane discusses/includes rape. 



Wow!!! What an absolutely unique storyline that I just could not put down!!! Clear your schedules before you pick this up!! 



The descriptions are extremely vivid which completely set the scene for me and really made me feel like I was in the storyline. The cover, title and synopsis suit the plot perfectly. 



After I read and absolutely loved the third book in this series 'The Woman Who Knew Faces' I just had to read the first two books and also any more that come after. Although all three books can be read as standalones I would advise you read them in order so you can see the character development. The storyline is most definitely unique and one I have never read before which was a HUGE bonus as there is so many times you can read very similar crime books before you get fed up. There was plenty going on to keep the reader on their toes!! The storyline is very fast paced and will keep you flipping the pages until you've finished. It is filled with tension, horror, secrets, deceipts suspense and a few absolute shockers which I did not suspect at all!!! It is getting harder and harder to surprise me with the amount of books I have read but you definitely managed it so well done Jane. There were several mysteries that Karen was trying to solve so plenty to keep the reader guessing and I didn't work any of them out which is always a good thing. I was kept on the edge of my seat, and then later my bed, while reading this and I just could not put it down!!! I think this would make an absolutely fantastic movie and I'm looking forward to reading Jane's next book 'Three Little Girls' and future books!! 



I loved meeting Karen again and seeing her from the very start of her storyline. There is definitely a huge difference in her personality from this book to 'The Girl Who Knew Faces' and I'm looking forward to see how she is developing still in 'Three Little Girls' . Karen is the main protagonist and being another strong female she definitely gets my vote. I love seeing more and more strong females coming into crime novels and Karen is definitely in the lead with some of the best. I absolutely adore her kick butt attitude and felt she was a fantastic role model and lead for her team. Although she is extremely good at her job she still seems to underestimate herself. It was intriguing seeing her and Macy's relationship from the start and how they butted heads a few timesz in fact Karen butted heads with quite a few people!! I know I will be behind her and so will the rest of her team. I love Karen's sense of humour and sarcasm and it was interesting to see how she met John who is just as sarcastic, fun, loving and has a heart of gold. It is always intriguing when you know characters from later books in the series and then go back and see how it all starts. DCI Winter made a fantastic boss and you can see that his team respect him as he is the perfect mix of friend and boss. Macy is an essential parts of the team. I enjoyed getting to know her even more in the next book and look forward to meeting her again. I recognised a certain character immediately fro 'The Woman Who Knew Faces' and although he isn't mentioned as much in this book, knowing what happens with him in the third book definitely how I feel about him. Overall an absolutely fantastic team who were each strong individuals with very different personalities but they all worked perfectly together. I'm going to miss them all and can't wait to meet them all again!!! My heart definitely went out to Stella who didn't deserve what happened to her and it was extremely interesting getting her point of view while everything was going on around her. While she didn't deserve everything that happened with her another person most certainly did and I'm glad I didn't have to put up with them for too long as they made me sick. I won't say any more as not to spoil it for future readers but I'm sure if you have read it you know who I mean. I was confused with Stella's parents calling each other Mum/Dad but after I chat with Jane I discovered that it is perfectly normal in the North, learn something new every day so thanks. For that bit of information Jane it will probably come in handy when reading books in the future!!




A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS TO JANE ON AN ABSOLUTELY PAGE TURNING AND EXPLOSIVE START IN AN EXTREMELY PROMISING SERIES!! AFTER READING BOOK 1 AND 3 THIS IS ONE NOT TO MISS!!!! THIS IS WHY YOU ARE IN MY FAVOURITE AUTHOR LIST!!! 



I cannot wait to dig into future books in this series and get to know Karen her and the teams future. Here's to your next success 🥂 



Overall an absolutely EXPLOSIVE page turning book filled with surprises and twists in an extremely successful series!! 




Genres covered in this book include Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Police Procedural, Suspense, Crime Fiction and Psychological Fiction amongst others. 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, Noelle Holten, Mark Edwards and anyone looking for an explosive crime series!!! 


318 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited (at time of purchase) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@JaneBadrock @QuestionMarkPress @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 













About The Author


Jane writes novels, short stories and poems, usually with a good dose of humour in them. She's probably owes it all to her late grandmother who, she's just found out, also wrote short stories and poems. She tends to get an idea and then run with it whether it be a 100 word short story or an 80 thousand word novel. It all depends on the voices in her head at the time…


Social Media Links


Twitter @janebadrock


Facebook Jane Badrock Author





Purchase Link







13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page