top of page

'Close To The Bone' by Susan Wilkins


Title: CLOSE TO THE BONE


Publication Day: 08/09/2020


Author: Susan Wilkins


Description:

‘Detective Thomas, there’s no easy way to say this. We’ve brought Debbie in for questioning.’

‘You mean my sister Debbie? What are you talking about? You’ve arrested my sister?’

‘Megan, she’s our prime suspect.’


Detective Megan Thomas hoped that moving to Devon would mean a quiet life. Her years undercover in London left her broken and alone, unsure if she would ever recover. Slowly, she’s learning to work with a team and trust other people. But when her sister Debbie finds the body of local businessman Greg Porter, that peace is shattered.


Porter’s wife and children don’t seem entirely grief-stricken, and his business dealings are not all they appear to be. So why are the police so determined to focus on Debbie? And why is she acting so suspiciously? When Megan learns what happened between Porter and Debbie, it threatens to tear the family apart, and forces her to ask if her beloved sister could really have done something so terrible.


Her boss won’t allow her anywhere near the case, leaving Megan on the sidelines. Caught between the job she loves, and what she feels she must do, Megan finds herself faced with an impossible decision. She’s desperate to save her sister, but what if Debbie is lying? When a second body and a surprise confession takes the case into even muddier waters, Megan must decide where her loyalty lies – with her family, or the truth.


And whatever choice she makes, will she be able to live with herself?


Fans of Ann Cleeves, Angela Marsons and Mari Hannah will be hooked by this incredibly gripping mystery thriller.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Close To The Bone' by Susan Wilkins


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 8th September 2020


This is the second book that I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Detective Megan Thomas' series. I read the first book in this series 'Buried Deep' and loved it so am looking forward to continuing the series. Although this is the second book in the series it can be read as a standalone with any references to previous cases being explained to the reader in as much detail needed.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful colourful cover, intriguing blurb and by the fact that I have already read one book by Susan Wilkins (the first one in this series) which I loved and said then that I wanted to read more of her books. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 65 chapters and an epilogue which are short in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Megan. The way it is written made me feel like I was floating above them watching everything that was going on. I enjoy books written in third person and from different perspectives as you can see more of what is going on and get the bigger picture.


This book is based in Devon. I always seem to connect with books based in the UK more because I live in Wales and sometimes I have visited places mentioned meaning I can picture them much better. The fact that I have visited Devon is even better!!


Well, another success by Susan Wilkins!! I really enjoyed the storyline and there was plenty going on to keep me busy to say the least!! It was very well written which kept me submerged and turning the pages over and over!! Lots of red herrings to keep the reader guessing throughout. I can't say I was completely shocked by who did one of the things but then I've read loads of crime and it is getting harder to keep me guessing. However it also wasn't obvious, hopefully that makes sense!


I absolutely loved meeting all the characters as well discovering some new ones. I really felt sorry for Megan on several occasions and really hope she finds the happiness she deserves. I really liked how (most of) the team really gelled together and watching how their relationships have grown throughout the first book until the end of this one. I am really looking forward to reading about them all again. The only downfall was that sometimes I got confused when one character was being referred to by first names in some scenes and surnames in others. However, I did manage to work it out pretty quickly.


Excellent descriptions throughout making me really see what was going on and putting me right in the storyline alongside the characters.


Overall an action packed crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages.


Genres covered include Mystery, Suspense, Detective fiction, Adventure fiction and Police procedural.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of other books by Susan Wilkins.


343 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SusanWilkins @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks






Author Bio:


Susan Wilkins also writes as S.J. Wilkins


Susan worked for years in television drama, wrote for shows including Casualty, Heartbeat, Coronation Street and Eastenders and created the London-based detective drama South of the Border.


Her gritty, Essex-based gangster trilogy - THE INFORMANT, THE MOURNER and THE KILLER - has been compared to Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers and described as "blazingly brilliant" (Sunday Mirror).


IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ME, her fourth book, is a twisty psychological thriller, featuring police detective Jo Boden, an ambitious cop still grieving for a murdered sister.


For 2020 a completely gripping new series from Susan introduces the tough and determined Detective Megan Thomas. For fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross and Mari Hannah, this will keep you hooked from the first page to the last.


Writing as S.J. Wilkins, A KILLER'S HEART - a tense and timely political thriller, is now available on Kindle.



Author Social Media Links:


Website: https://susanwilkins.co.uk


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/susanwilkinsauthor/






Buy Link:


Amazon: https://geni.us/B089M9GJBZSocial


Apple: http://ow.ly/xhyL50zYrRA


Kobo: http://ow.ly/GJ0I50zYrPC


Googleplay: http://ow.ly/We1I50zYrTH



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page