top of page

Christmas At The Saporis by KD Sherrinford. Review.


Book Description


What will the Saporis find under the tree this year—Christmas presents, or family skeletons?

In the spirit of the holiday and a wish for familial harmony, Irene Adler persuades her detective husband to invite his brother Mycroft to Christmas luncheon. Holmes had cut ties with his brother when he discovered the machinations Mycroft employed that drove Sherlock and Adler apart for four years. He isn’t really sure this reunion is a great idea, but he can deny his wife nothing.

Of course, they can’t tell the children what Mycroft is to them, as that would entail learning that their father is the celebrated detective when they know him simply as Lucca Sapori. And just when they think things may be going better than expected, ghosts of the past crop up in unexpected ways and threaten to ruin the holidays for everyone.




BOOK REVIEW




Review for 'Christmas At The Saporis' by KD Sherrinford.




Read and reviewed for KD Sherrinford, Zooloos book tours and Extasy Books.



Publication date 27th December 2022.




This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Sherlock Holmes And Irene Adler Mysteries' series but can be read as a standalone. I have also read book one in this series which is called 'Song For Someone' which I would highly recommend.



This novella consists of an introduction, 10 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS TO KD SHERRINFORD ON ANOTHER ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS READ.



Yet absolutely successful unputdownable historical mystery by the very talented KD Sherrinford. I'm always a bit dubious with books based historically as I worry about not being able to 'deal' with the language used but I absolutely love how KD has written her book. The language used is perfectly suited to the era whilst being easy to read. The atmosphere and descriptions were perfect. The synopsis and cover also suit the storyline.




An absolutely gorgeous novella that will take you back in time to a Christmas with chestnuts roasting on an open fire!!! This book is the second book in this series but it is a completely separate storyline so can be read completely on it's own. This story takes us back to when Sherlock and Irene Holmes are still living with the identities of Irene Adler and Lucca Sapori. It is only a short book at just 82 pages but those pages are absolutely ram packed with festivity, romance, family drama, secrets, shocks and several surprises for the Sapori family. With tension in the air at Sherlock's brother Mycroft arriving for Christmas dinner and Irene and "Lucca's" children Nicco and Charlotte believing him to be a friend of their fathers but knowing him to be the brother of Nicco's hero Sherlock Holmes will there be a Silent Night at the Sapori household this Christmas? A beautiful novella filled that shows the conflicting interests and emotions between Sherlock and Irene, the drama and secrets in Sherlock's family and so much more. I just couldn't stop turning the pages and as soon as I said just this last chapter and then bed something happened that meant I just had to read another one. I ended up devouring it in one sitting in just under two hours but in that short time KD managed to stir up many emotions with the subjects that she expertly weaved into the storyline. Although they are hard topics to write about ($3xu@| @$$@u|t and r@p3) KD does it in a respectable way and didn't go into too much or unnecessary detail. I was extremely pleased with the ending and personally thought it was perfectly fitting but I won't go into further detail as I don't want to spoil it for others.

As with her first book KD has thoroughly researched her subject, history and Arthur Conan Doyle's works and the fact that she has absolutely shines through the storyline in the settings, events and so much more!! I absolutely adored going back in time and celebrating a historical Christmas and seeing the children do the different activities of the time. A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS KD!! It is a pet hate of mine when the author fails to research their chosen topic and it is filled with unnecessary mistakes that could have been easily avoided. KD's fantastic, talented and evocative writing skills draws the reader into the storyline and brings the characters, setting and storyline to life!!! There were so many times I was so absorbed that when I looked up from the book it took me a few moments to realise where I actually was! There were many moments my heart was in my throat wondering what was going to happen next and the ending was absolutely perfect. I don't read an awful lot of historical books but after reading this one I cannot wait to get stuck into more books in what is promising to be an addictive series. I cannot wait to get stuck in to the next book in this series 'Meet Me In Milan' which I'm off to read next so keep your eyes peeled for my review!!!!


Although this is the second book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.



The characters were all larger than life and realistic. KD's writing brings each and every one of them to life. My heart went out to Irene on so many occasions I lost count. I love Irene who isn't afraid to say it as it is and but the strong willed Sherlock in his place but who is also a woman who can see Sherlock's side when important. I absolutely loved seeing all the different sides to Sherlock from Detective to husband to father and in this book we also see him as a brother. They both have fantastic chemistry and their interactions were humorous at times and dramatic at others. I absolutely loved the banter between them as well as getting to meet the other characters from Sherlock's family as well as Martha. They all had a part to play and they all played their parts perfectly. There were characters that angered me, others that made me laugh and many that I loved. I won't say any more about the characters as I don't want to give anything away. However, regardless of of you love them or hate them they all worked perfectly to make this such an explosive start to a promising series I cannot wait to meet some of them again and see what they get up to in the next "episode".



If you are looking for an absolutely gorgeous and festive feeling novella that brings history to life then pick up your copy today.



This is exactly why you are in my favourite historical romance author Club KD Sherrinford. A page turning and unputdownable success! A fantastic addition to an addictive series!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!




Overall an action packed novella that is filled with festivities, drama, romance and secrets!!



82 pages.



This book is just £3.31 to purchase on kindle and £5.80 on paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@ChristmasAtTheSaporis @SherlockHolmesAndIreneAdlerMysteries @KDSherrinford @KDSherrinfordAuthor @KDSherrinfordAuthor.co.uk @ExtasyBooksInc @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @BooksOnTour @BlogTour @BookReview @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger



















Author Bio


KD Sherrinford was born and raised in Preston, Lancashire, and now resides on The Fylde Coast with her husband John.

She was employed by Countywide for over 20 years and became a Fellow of The National Association of Estate Agents.

Retirement finally gave KD the opportunity to follow her dreams and start work on her first novel. “Song for Someone.”

KD recently completed her second book in the Sherlock Holmes and Irene Adler mystery series, “Christmas at The Saporis”,The third Meet Me In Milan will be published this summer.






Social Media Links










Purchase Link









6 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page