top of page

Christmas At The Inn On Bluebell Lane by Kate Hewitt

Updated: Oct 10, 2023


Book Description:


As the snow begins to fall and the lights twinkle, Ellie realizes Christmas has finally come to the Inn on Bluebell Lane. But as she watches the guests arrive, she hopes this won’t be her family’s last winter in this magical place…


It’s been two years since Ellie and her family left their lives in America behind and moved to a small Welsh village to run her husband’s family inn. Having fought to save it from disrepair, Ellie is shocked when her sister-in-law, Sarah, breaks the news that the inn is facing financial trouble and might have to close after Christmas, a thought that breaks all their hearts.


Turning to her mother-in-law, Ellie sees tears sparkling in Gwen’s eyes. But then Ellie has an idea: a celebratory Christmas week for guests and locals with all the festive trimmings — an unforgettable experience, and her family’s last chance to save the inn.


With Christmas drawing closer, the family are busier than ever. Gwen bakes enough mince pies to feed the whole country, while Ellie adds mistletoe to every room, and her husband Matthew turns the garden into a winter wonderland.


But there are troubles ahead no one could expect. And as Bluebell Lane twinkles against the frost, Ellie marvels that the inn has never looked prettier. But will it be enough to save this beautiful place her family has grown to love?


This totally unputdownable seasonal read is perfect for anyone who believes in the magic of Christmas. Packed with heart-warming festive cheer, and bursting with merrymaking, this novel is perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Robyn Carr and Elin Hildebrand.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Christmas At The Inn On Bluebell Lane' by Kate Hewitt.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kate Hewitt, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 6th October 2023.



This is the seventh book I have read by this author. I have also read 'My Daughter's Mistake', 'When We Were Innocent', 'The Child I Never Had', 'That Night At The Beach', 'The Wife's Promise' and 'The Inn On Bluebell Lane' (which is this first book in this series) and I would highly recommend them all. This book is also the second book in 'The Inn On Bluebell Lane' series but can be read as a standalone.



This novel consists of 21 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


🎶 It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas ⛄🎁 🌲 ❄️ 🎶



WOW!!!! What can I say?!?! One thing I have got to say before getting into my review is clear your schedules and grab the tissues as you will need them!!!



This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions setting the picture perfectly in the readers mind. The title, description and cover works perfectly with the storyline.



I absolutely loved returning the the stunning Inn On Bluebell Lane but this time with the festive season upon the characters. However, four years after the opening of the Inn and it has started struggling financially and the family have just 6 months left until they would have to declare bankruptcy. Will they get their Christmas miracle? However, it isn't just financial problems at the Inn but Ellie's husband Matthew keeping something hidden along with Sarah's husband Nathan acting strangely will the family even be together to celebrate let alone to save the Inn??? While the adults are struggling the children also have their own dramas with 16 year old Mairi distancing from her beloved horse and stressing about her GCSE's, 15 year old Jess constantly having friendship and boy dramas (oh, to be a teen again!!!) , Oliver and Ben are going down the wrong path, neglecting their school work and getting into trouble , 10 year old Josh is worried about starting a new school (having a 10 year old myself starting comp next September I completely related to this worry and anxiety) and poor 6 year old Ava struggling with her health. Another book in this stunning series that is devastatingly heartbreaking and beautiful. It is an absolute rollercoaster ride of emotions filled with heartbreak, anger, family, drama, festivities, stress, love, loss, secrets, friendship and so much more. I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVED the fact that it is based in Wales but not just Wales, South Wales which is where I live. I loved recognising the place names and trying to work out where Llandrigg is based on, I came up with a few ideas but would love to know if I was right!!! Kate portrayed Wales perfectly and as my sister in law is from America so I adored all the similarities I was reading. The storyline was just absolutely stunning, not that I ever expect any less from the fantastic Kate Hewitt who, whenever I pick up a copy of her book I just know I am going to fall in love with it and the characters!!! Kate's fantastic and evocative writing skills brings everything and everyone to life leaving the readers smelling the fresh Welsh (although also cold) air, hearing the (many) sheep in the field and visualising the beautiful Bluebell Inn. I went from feeling the snowflakes in my hair to tasting the mince pies on my tongue. This is definitely a book that will get you in the festive spirit!!! I loved that we get to see and feel how each of the main characters are feeling and what they are doing and I really felt I was right next to them all throughout. Reading this book really does make you feel that you are standing with them and going through their pain, love, and suffering. While you are reading this you are going through a journey of love and loss, heartbreak, secrets, love, and anger and so, so much more. It really is a rollercoaster ride of emotions. I was utterly glued to the pages and I could not bring myself to put it down. I was carrying my phone to read it in kindle every chance that I got. I adored the gorgeous ending and cannot wait to get stuck into the next book in this gorgeous series. This book really is an absolutely gorgeous and fantastic addition to this stunning series. You need to clear your schedules and get the tissues at the ready because you will not be able to put this book down. There are some tough topics are explored with realism and sensitivity, that all culminated in a very gripping and powerful page turner. This is one of those books that will stay with me for a long time and although it could be a difficult read at times with emotions running high I would seriously recommend it to anyone and everyone!!



Although this is the second book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


The characters are strong, realistic and I became completely invested in each and every one of them. They all had their own problems, secrets, feelings and all had unique personalities and I just absolutely loved getting to know them all. I felt each of their pain, heartbreak, happiness, anger, sorrow and so much more. My heart broke for each of them who went through so much change and more (but I can't say more as I don't want to spoil the storyline for anyone). I enjoyed getting an inside look into their family lives and relationships with their husbands, children, as well as sibling interactions, that added another layer to the story. Kate does an absolutely amazing job of bringing the story to life and the characters leap out of the pages as your turning them. It is so hard to say what I feel about the characters without giving anything away so I won't say anymore about them as I don't want to go into too much detail at the risk of spoiling it for other readers but yet again Kate has done another amazing job at bringing each of the characters to life. Well done Kate!!!



Congratulations Kate on yet another absolutely gorgeous, heartbreaking beautiful book!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books, especially the next book in this stunning series. I would absolutely love to see these books turned into movies!!! This is why you are on my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first three chapters of Kate's 'The Secrets We Keep' which promises to be just as addictive as this book. It is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!



Overall an absolutely unputdownable, thought provoking, addictive and compelling devastatingly beautiful heartbreaking book!!!



355 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews






@ChristmasAtTheInnOnBluebellLane @TheInnOnBluebellLane @KateHewitt @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited

























Author Bio:


Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives.



Social Media Links





Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Kate Hewitt here: https://www.bookouture.com/kate-hewitt






Purchase Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page