top of page

Christmas At The Cat Café by Jessica Redland. Review.

Updated: Sep 26, 2023


Book Description


It's the most wonderful time of the year on Castle Street, and there's a paw-some new business

opening....


It had always been Tabby's dream to work with cats and an inheritance from her beloved nanna

has finally made that a reality. Idyllic Castle Street in Whitsborough Bay couldn’t be a better place for

pastry chef Tabby to open a cat café with her boyfriend, Leon.


But when Leon leaves her in the lurch, the pressure mounts for Tabby. With Christmas fast

approaching, she has to open the café on her own – a daunting prospect, especially when she's been

hiding her health issues from the ones she loves.


Faced with local resistance to the café – and somebody seemingly determined that she won’t

succeed – Tabby will need her friends, family and cats more than ever to recover her broken

Christmas spirit and pull together for a Christmas miracle.


Will the cat café bring the festive joy to Castle Street as Tabby had hoped or will it be a cat-

astrophe? And can the magic of Christmas on Castle Street mend Tabby's broken heart as well as her

business?


Escape with million-copy bestseller Jessica Redland this Christmas for the purr-fect festive treat!





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Christmas At The Cat Café' by Jessica Redland.


Read and reviewed for Jessica Redland, Redland's Readers, Boldwood Books, Book & Tonic, NetGalley and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 15th September 2023.


This is the first book I have read by this author although I could have sworn I'd read her books before. However I most definitely will be reading more!!


This novel consists of 54 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


'Christmas At The Cat Cafe' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Jessica chronic pain and cruelty and the death of an animal.


This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


Where the heck have you been hiding all my life Jessica!!! Love, LOVE, LOVED this absolutely gorgeous page turner!! An absolute must read!!!



OMG!!! I absolutely LOVED this gorgeous pageturner and I would absolutely love to see this book turned into a series to see what happens in both Tabby and Shelley's lives!! Any books that revolve around animals is a HUGE bonus for me!!! I am a MASSIVE animal lover and all my pets have been rescues to then volunteering in rescues, working in rescues and now running my own little cat rescue (Golden Oldies Cat Rescue And Hospice which you can look up on Facebook if you are interested) so this book was a huge must read for me immediately!!! I really did absolutely love this unique, stunning page turner from the first page to the very last and cannot wait to get my hands on more books by this amazing author! Jessica's excellent writing skills and evocative descriptions drops the reader straight into the middle of Tammy's life and her cat café leaving them smelling the gorgeous cakes, feeding the cat gang and so much more!! However it isn't all love and happiness and there are a few heartbreaking moments, one especially that left me in tears and I'm a hard nosed woman so definitely have the tissues at the ready!!! The fact that Jessica has done an immense amount of research into both fibromyalgia along with running a cat cafe absolutely shines through the book. A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Jessica!!! It is a huge bear bug for me when authors don't do any research into their topics just for their books to the be littered with mistakes that could have been easily avoided with just a little research. I absolutely loved the community feeling at Castle Street as well as the beautiful Christmas vibes. It really is the perfect book to start getting you in the festive mood as well as warming your heart and soul!!!! I was absolutely hooked throughout and could not put this down. I told myself time and time again I would just finish the chapter and then go to bed but something happened each and every time meaning I just had to read just one more, and then another until before I knew it I had completely devoured the book in one sitting. I genuinely felt like I had gone on holiday with Tabby and was devastated to come to the end of my holiday, returning back to reality and having to 'unpack my suitcase'!! I have never read a book filled with so many beautiful cats and kittens before which made it unique and just LUSH!!!!! It really is just amazing and I absolutely love it and I really cannot compliment this book enough!!! This book is just what the doctor ordered for my own stress and each page I read I could feel myself relaxing more and more!!!

This is one of those books that are very easy to read and perfect for any reading situations whether you are laying on a beach or curled up in front of a fire. It is an absolutely ideal read for anyone who is looking for a gorgeous and relaxing read that will have you hooked from beginning to end. I absolutely LOVED the realism of this storyline which made it so easy to picture everything that was going on which had been helped by Jessica's fantastic evocative writing skills. I cannot wait to get hooked into more of Jessica's books so I hope she is busy writing her next one while I get stuck into the previous books in this stunning series!! This is definitely one of those books that will turn a frown upside down and make life seem a lot brighter. It is packed with fun, laughter, animals, romance, friendships, a huge breathe of fresh air and everything you could ask for in a fantastic feel good book. Before I forget I also wanted to add that I absolutely adored the list of cat characters at the front and found it unique and helpful! If you ever need any more cat names Jessica, with over 20 rescues and having rehomed over 200 when I fostered I'm more than happy to help there!!! Grab your copy today and fall in love with Castle Street yourself!!


Well done Jessica on an absolutely stunning book that I fell in love with!!!


This may be the first book I have read by Jessica but I cannot wait to get hold of more books by this extremely talented author!!!



The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all. It also makes them more realistic, believable and made me feel even more for them than I normally would. I absolutely LOVED Tabby who really resonated with me, especially with her love of animals and wanting to help them all as well as the fact that she suffers with chronic pain!!! She was like a fictional version of myself apart from she ran a cat café and I run Golden Oldies Cat Rescue And Hospice!!! It was amazing watching her look after the animals at her café as well as getting to see her personal life including her struggles with her fibromyalgia, her bond with her family, her friendships with Tom, Alison, the Castle Street community along with the amazing way she worked with her staff and some of her lovely (and not so lovely) customers as well as the many other characters and so much more!!! I loved seeing how she interacted with the cats who all had their own cheeky little personalities. Some of the other characters I loved getting to know and would love to meet again include Macey, Sarah, Harley, Cathy, Eileen, Tara and Shelley just to name a few!! I also loved meeting Babushka, Boo, Marmalade, Winnie, Sybil, Viking , Smudge, Marmite, Pebbles, Ruby, Rubix, Binky, Heathcliff, Jupiter, Freyja, Effie and Cloud among some of the other cats and kittens and would absolutely love to see most of the humans and all of the animals again and hopefully very soon!!!! There were a couple of characters that I absolutely loathed but it wouldn't be the same if you loved all the characters in a book and regardless of you loved or hated them they all worked perfectly together to make this a stunning storyline. Each of the characters and animals are memorable and unique in their own ways and they are a group that I wont be forgetting any time soon! I'm hoping to see what happens next with Tabby and Tom. Hint hint Jessica 😉.



Pick up this book and get lost in this absolutely gorgeous page turner!



Congratulations Jessica on an absolutely stunning read that I just could not put down!!! I am absolutely mind blown that I have never read any of your absolutely gorgeous books yet!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books. I would absolutely love to see this book turned into a movie!!! Welcome to my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Jessica's 'The Start of Something Wonderful' which promises to be just as gorgeous as this book. It is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!



Overall an unputdownable, gorgeous, STUNNING page turning book filled with cats, kittens, heartbreak, cake, loss, romance, fun, laughter, friendship and so much more!! A perfectly relaxing and stunning unique read!!!!



386 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £10.99 in paperback at time of review via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.






@ChristmasAtTheCatCafe @JessicaRedland @RedlandsReaders @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @BoldwoodBooks @theboldbookclub @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnimited @Netgalley































Author Bio


Jessica Redland writes emotional but uplifting stories of love, friendship, family and community. Her

Whitsborough Bay books transport readers to the stunning North Yorkshire Coast where she lives

with her husband, daughter and sprocker spaniel. Her Hedgehog Hollow series, set in a hedgehog

rescue centre, takes readers into the beautiful rolling countryside of the Yorkshire Wolds.







Social Media Links







Purchase Link










25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page