top of page

'Christmas At Fox Farm' by Helen Pollard



Book Description:


At Fox Farm, the village has gathered to decorate the ten-foot tree and carol the night away. Robins dart across frosty hedgerows and holly bushes are covered with ruby-red berries. But this year they will need an extra pinch of festive magic to keep Christmas alive… Living at Fox Farm, with its cosy café, beautiful pottery studio and charming gift shop, is a dream come true for thirty-one-year-old Daisy. The kindly owner, Jean, and the close-knit village feel like the home and family Daisy has never had. She’s been looking forward to her first magical Christmas in the countryside. When Jean suddenly falls ill, Daisy is the first to lend a hand. She ropes in Alex – Jean’s handsome but stubborn nephew – to help her. When the pair discover the farm is almost bankrupt, it seems like the annual Christmas celebrations will be cancelled. Alex and Daisy need a plan, and quickly, if they are to pull off Christmas against the odds and save Fox Farm. From the get-go Daisy and Alex cannot agree on anything, from the mince pie recipe to the colour scheme for the tree. Soon, however, in true Christmas spirit, they find themselves coming together in the face of decorating disasters, tripping over each other at the holiday barn dance and tracking down a missing Santa Claus. But when Daisy discovers the secret Alex is keeping about the future of Jean’s farm, will she run from the only place that has ever felt like home? Or will she find a way to save Christmas and the farm, and open her heart to a new beginning for her and Alex? Grab a mug of hot chocolate and a mince pie (or two!) and lose yourself in this utterly charming and romantic holiday tale that proves home is where the heart is. Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin, this is the book that will make your Christmas!




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Christmas At Fox Farm' by Helen Pollard.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Helen Pollard, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 29th September 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It most certainly won't be my last!!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of RaeAnne Thayne, Sarah Morgan and Heidi Swain, this is the book that will make your Christmas!' I am a huge fan of Heidi Swain so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 29 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Yorkshire, 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Daisy Claybourne and Alex Hirst. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


🎶 It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas!!! 🎶 What an absolutely gorgeous book to get you in the mood for the festive season. An absolutely gorgeous page turner!!!


This book is beautifully written with stunning vibd descriptions it will leave you shivering in the snow and feeling cosy in Daisy's studio. The cover, synopsis and title suits the book perfectly.


The storyline is filled with festivities from Halloween to Christmas and will give you a warm fuzzy feeling inside. This is the first of several Christmas themed books I am due to read this month and it set me in the mood perfectly. With Halloween just around the corner it was the perfect time to read it. It was filled with love, family, romance and festive cheer. The atmosphere was stunning and I feel like I've jist come home from an absolutely gorgeous 3 month holiday in Yorkshire and I feel devastates having to leave. I absolutely loved being a part of Fox Farm, watching all the drama unfold, feeling the love and romance in the air and listening to the fire crackling, watching the snow floating and smelling the mulled wine. This book will definitely bring out the cheer in any scrooge!!! I felt completely immersed in the storyline and could not put this book down. If you are planning to read this I would definitely recommend clearing your schedules. It is perfect to read curled up on the sofa in front of the fire with a nice hot chocolate or cup of tea. I was completely absorbed in the realistic storyline and although it was filled with love, romance and happiness there was definitely some suspense, tension but also loads of laughter in the air!! This would make an absolutely stunning movie which I would love to see come to the big screen!!!


The characters are strong, realistic and well defined. I became completely invested in Daisy and Alex and loved watching their characters and relationship change and develop throughout. They make such a perfect couple and I am glad the book ended as it did. However I would absolutely love to see more of them at Fox Farm and this would make a beautiful start to a gorgeous new series (hint hint Helen 😉). Daisy is a strong woman who loves her art and has no materialistic desires being happy to live off beans and toast. She is so down to earth and a lovely woman who I really enjoyed getting to meet. Alex is a hunky gardener who is close to his family and owns his own business. Alex is another character who has no materialistic desires and just wants what is best for his Aunt Jean. I adored Jean and thought she was a fun and loving character and someone who loves with all her heart. She made me laugh on several occasions and I am so glad that she finally seen the light when it came to a certain money digger!!! Speaking of money digger I could not abide Sebastian!!! What an absolute snake!!! I know several people like him who couldn't care less about what really matters as long as he gets something in return. Other characters that I enjoyed meeting included Alex's mum Nicky who did her best for her son but lost out herself, Jules who was a close friend to Alex and his manager and the Fix Farm gang namely Angela and the dedicated Jamie who I would also love to meet again. Unfortunately I can't say the same for Lisa who didn't seem to do anything but complain and get everyone down. All in all a great mix of characters who all worked perfectly in the storyline.


Congratulations Helen on absolutely beautiful festive book which I absolutely loved getting lost in!!! I cannot wait to read more of your previous and future books and I would like to welcome you to my favourite romance author club!!! Here's to your next success 🥂



Overall an absolutely stunning unputdownable festive story that will definitely get you in the mood for Christmas!!!


Genres covered in this book include Contemporary Romance, Romance Novel and Holiday Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone wanting to get lost in a stunning novel filled with festive cheer!!!



306 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@HelenPollard @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


As a child, Helen had a vivid imagination fuelled by her love of reading (long past her bedtime!) so she started to create her own stories in a notebook. Now a bestselling author of contemporary romance, she believes that good characterisation is the key to a successful book and loves infusing her writing with humour and heart. Helen lives in Yorkshire with her husband, two grown-up (in theory) kids and a Jekyll and Hyde cat. https://www.facebook.com/HelenPollardWrites/ https://twitter.com/helenpollard147/






Purchase Links





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page